Become a Radiologic Technologist in Louisiana

This is a great time to pursue your career in the state of Louisiana. Radiologic technology is one of the fastest-growing fields in the country, with an expected growth rate of 13 percent by 2026.

(Leer esta información en español)

In addition, Louisiana is experiencing a relatively rapid rate of job growth compared to the rest of the United States, currently ranking first in the nation. Above-average salaries and the low cost of living in most parts of the state help to make this state and career appealing to young professionals.

Tell us about yourself so we can find programs near you.




Radiologic Technology Schools in Louisiana

University of Louisiana Monroe: The University of Louisiana Monroe (ULM) offers a Bachelor of Science Degree in Radiologic Technology. Students in this program must first complete the pre-radiologic technology curriculum, which takes approximately two years, before applying for the professional radiologic technology program. During the program, ULM students will gain hands-on clinic at both on-campus and off-campus clinic locations.

Southern University at Shreveport: Southern University at Shreveport has a two-year Associate of Applied Science in Radiologic Technology program. To enter the clinical program, students must first complete 12 units at Shreveport and apply for admission. Students must also complete 24 hours of observation in Radiology before they may apply to the program. Upon graduation, students will be prepared to sit for the ARRT exam and earn their licenses.

Other Schools to Consider Radiologic Technology Programs

Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady University: Our Lady University is a small Catholic institution with an Associate of Science degree in Radiologic Technology. Students will learn both computed tomography and digital radiography during the completion of the program. The college is affiliated with one of the highest-rated hospitals in Louisiana, Our Lady of the Lake Regional Medical Center.

Further options exist out-of-state in Texas, Arkansas, and Mississippi.

Allied Health Education Programs

Several community colleges in Louisiana offer allied health education programs for radiologic technologists. These may include certificates, associate’s degrees, and bachelor’s degrees. Programs may require students to complete prerequisite courses and gain clinical experience before enrollment in the program. Many students choose to complete an internship or externship at a nearby hospital or clinic as part of their program.

Once all of the requirements are met, students will be eligible to sit for board examinations to become registered radiologic technologists. After obtaining their licensure, they will be able to pursue careers in imaging centers and hospitals throughout the state.

Large Employers in Radiology

The radiology departments at large hospitals and medical centers in Louisiana are the main employers of radiologic science professionals in the state. Louisiana has several well-respected hospitals, including one that has been nationally ranked by the US News & World Report, and several others that have been recognized for high-performing specialty areas.

Ochsner Medical Center
1514 Jefferson Highway
New Orleans, LA 70121-2429
(504) 842-3000

Willis-Knighton Medical Center
2600 Greenwood Road
Shreveport, LA 71103-2600
(318) 212-4600

WK Bossier Health Center
2400 Hospital Drive
Bossier City, LA 71111
(318) 212-7000

Ochsner Medical Center-Kenner
180 West Esplanade Avenue
Kenner, LA 70065-6001
(504) 468-8600

Our Lady of Lake Regional Medical Center
5000 Hennessy Boulevard
Baton Rouge, LA 70808-4375
(225) 765-6565

Rapides Regional Medical Center
211 Fourth Street
Alexandria, LA 71301
(318) 473-3000

St. Francis Medical Center
309 Jackson Street
Monroe, LA 71201-7407
(318) 966-4000

Tulane Medical Center
1415 Tulane Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70112-2600
(504) 988-5263

Lafayette General Medical Center
1214 Coolidge St,
Lafayette, LA 70503
(337) 289-7991

Lake Area Hospital
4200 Nelson Rd,
Lake Charles, LA 70605
(337) 474-6370

Radiologic technologist Trends in Louisiana

Louisiana employment trends for Radiologic Technologists and Technicians indicates that in 2020, there were 3,110 individuals employed in this occupation in Louisiana. By 2030, the number is projected to remain the same, indicating no growth. There are expected to be 220 annual job openings in Louisiana from 2020 to 2030. Nationally, the employment is projected to grow by 6% from 2022 to 2032, with 13,100 annual job openings.

Employment Trends

InstitutionLengthResident TuitionCompletion RateARRT Pass RatePlacement RateAccreditationEvening/Weekend
Baton Rouge General Medical Center24 mo.$10,90075%90%100%8 YearsNo
Delgado CC16 mo.$5,46086%88%100%8 YearsNo
Delgado CC24 mo.$4,38893%94%99%8 YearsNo
Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady University21 mo.$21,64291%92%100%8 YearsNo
Louisiana State University at Eunice24 mo.$11,891100%89%100%8 YearsNo
Louisiana State University of Alexandria21 mo.$3,611n/an/an/an/aNo
McNeese State University28 mo.$4,72490%91%100%8 YearsNo
North Oaks Medical Center24 mo.$5,000100%96%100%8 YearsNo
Northwestern State University29 mo.$6,48088%88%100%8 YearsNo
Southern University at Shreveport27 mo.$7,11868%78%100%8 yearsNo
University of Holy Cross21 mo.$22,20078%100%100%8 YearsNo
University of Louisiana Monroe24 mo.$5,03381%89%95%8 YearsNo

Source of the data:

Professional Organizations

The Louisiana Society of Radiologic Technologists is the state affiliate of the American Society of Radiologic Technologists. This society provides information about licensure, continuing education opportunities, and a forum for resumes and job postings. Joint review committee meetings and educational seminars are also offered by the organization.

Finally, other options for learning about radiology include joining local or state professional associations or networking groups, attending conferences, and participating in research opportunities. Many universities offer online courses in radiologic technology to supplement traditional classroom instruction. By exploring these resources and gaining experience as a student or volunteer, individuals can explore the field of radiology and decide if it is the right career for them.

Accredited Radiology Tech Programs in Louisiana: 2026 Guide

Louisiana requires radiologic technologists to hold state licensure through the Louisiana State Radiologic Technology Board of Examiners – a requirement that makes your choice of JRCERT-accredited program directly consequential, since only graduates of accredited programs can sit the ARRT exam and qualify for that license. Eleven JRCERT-accredited radiography programs operate across the state, spread from New Orleans and Baton Rouge through Lake Charles, Shreveport, Monroe, and the Acadiana region. That geographic spread matters in a state where drive times between major metros can exceed two hours.

This page covers every JRCERT-accredited radiography program in Louisiana with current tuition, completion rates, ARRT exam pass rates, and clinical placement data. You will also find state salary data, licensing steps, and a program comparison table to help you choose efficiently.

Louisiana Radiologic Technologist Salary and Job Market

According to BLS May 2025 OEWS data, 3,370 radiologic technologists and technicians work in Louisiana. The median annual wage is $63,680, with a mean of $66,240. Entry-level earners (10th percentile) start around $50,030, while experienced techs in the 75th percentile reach $76,240 and top earners (90th percentile) approach $82,830.

Those figures gain more meaning when you account for Louisiana’s cost of living. The state consistently ranks among the lower-cost states in the country, which means a $63,680 median salary goes further here than the same number would in California or New York. Housing costs in cities like Monroe, Eunice, and Alexandria are especially low by national standards, and even the New Orleans metro remains more affordable than comparable coastal markets.

Career Progression into MRI Technology

Radiographers who add an MRI credential see a meaningful pay increase. BLS May 2025 OEWS data shows 510 MRI technologists employed in Louisiana, with a median wage of $77,510 – nearly $14,000 above the radiography median. Top earners in MRI reach $99,060 at the 90th percentile. Many Louisiana programs, including McNeese State University and Northwestern State University, already incorporate MRI content into their curricula, which gives graduates a foundation for that credential once they have clinical experience.

Louisiana Radiologic Technology Licensing Requirements

Louisiana is a licensed state. Before you can practice as a radiologic technologist, you must obtain a license from the Louisiana State Radiologic Technology Board of Examiners (LSRTBE). The key requirements are:

  • Graduation from a JRCERT-accredited radiography program (or equivalent accredited program)
  • Passage of the ARRT examination in Radiography
  • Submission of a completed license application and fee to the LSRTBE
  • A criminal background check
  • License renewal every two years, with continuing education required for renewal

Because ARRT exam eligibility depends on graduating from an accredited program, enrolling in a JRCERT-accredited program is not optional if you plan to practice in Louisiana. Every program listed on this page meets that requirement.

Temporary permits are available to graduates awaiting exam results, allowing supervised practice in the interim period. Check the LSRTBE website directly for current fee schedules and any updated requirements, as these can change between publication cycles.

JRCERT-Accredited Radiography Programs in Louisiana

All 11 programs below hold JRCERT accreditation. Program length ranges from 21 to 29 months. Tuition figures reflect totals reported to JRCERT and may not include fees, books, or clinical supplies – contact each program for a full cost breakdown.

Baton Rouge General Medical Center

Location: Baton Rouge, LA | Program Length: 24 months | Tuition: $10,900 | Completion Rate: 75% | ARRT Pass Rate: 90% | Job Placement Rate: 100%

This hospital-based program offers 24 clinical settings across the Baton Rouge metro and surrounding parishes, including Abbeville, Houma, Thibodaux, and Gonzales. Students rotate through high-volume environments including cath labs, orthopaedic clinics, and rehabilitation settings. The 100% job placement rate is a strong signal of employer demand for graduates, though the 75% completion rate is below the state average and worth discussing directly with admissions.

Delgado Community College

Location: New Orleans, LA | Program Length: 24 months | Tuition: $4,388 | Completion Rate: 93% | ARRT Pass Rate: 94% | Job Placement Rate: 99%

Delgado’s program delivers the lowest tuition of any program in this list while posting a 93% completion rate and 94% ARRT pass rate – both above the national average. The clinical network is the largest in the state, with 25 affiliated sites including Ochsner Medical Center, University Medical Center New Orleans, Children’s Hospital, the VA Hospital, and multiple community and parish hospitals. For students in the New Orleans area, this program is difficult to overlook on a cost-per-outcome basis.

Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady University

Location: Baton Rouge, LA | Program Length: 21 months | Tuition: $21,642 | Completion Rate: 91% | ARRT Pass Rate: 92% | Job Placement Rate: 100%

FranU runs the shortest full program in Baton Rouge at 21 months, with a private university tuition that reflects that type of institution. Clinical affiliations are concentrated within the Our Lady of the Lake and Ochsner systems, giving students consistent exposure to high-acuity inpatient imaging and specialty centers. The 91% completion rate and 92% pass rate indicate a well-structured program for students who can manage the higher cost.

Louisiana State University at Eunice

Location: Eunice, LA | Program Length: 24 months | Resident Tuition: $11,891 | Non-Resident Tuition: $23,974 | Completion Rate: 100% | ARRT Pass Rate: 89% | Job Placement Rate: 100%

LSU Eunice is the only program in this list with a 100% completion rate, which is a meaningful differentiator. Clinical sites span the Acadiana region, including Lafayette General Health, Our Lady of Lourdes, Iberia Medical Center, and Women’s and Children’s Hospital. For students in Acadiana and the surrounding rural parishes, this program provides strong regional clinical coverage without requiring relocation to a major metro.

Louisiana State University of Alexandria

Location: Alexandria, LA | Program Length: 21 months | Resident Tuition: $3,611 | Non-Resident Tuition: $7,426 | Award: Associate in Radiologic Sciences

LSUA offers the lowest tuition of any public program in this list – $3,611 for in-state students – and a 21-month program length. Clinical sites include Christus St. Frances Cabrini Hospital, Rapides Regional Medical Center, and VA Medical Center in Pineville, along with several community and critical access hospitals serving central Louisiana. Completion rate, pass rate, and placement data were not reported to JRCERT at time of publication; contact the program directly for current figures.

McNeese State University

Location: Lake Charles, LA | Program Length: 28 months | Resident Tuition: $4,724 | Non-Resident Tuition: $5,224 | Completion Rate: 90% | ARRT Pass Rate: 91% | Job Placement Rate: 100%

McNeese offers distance education as an alternative learning format, which can benefit students balancing work or family obligations during didactic coursework. The program is the longest in the state at 28 months, and its clinical network covers southwest Louisiana thoroughly, including Lake Charles Memorial, Christus Ochsner facilities, and specialty pediatric and women’s health centers. The small tuition difference between resident and non-resident rates ($500) makes this accessible for border-area students from Texas.

North Oaks Medical Center

Location: Hammond, LA | Program Length: 24 months | Tuition: $5,000 | Completion Rate: 100% | ARRT Pass Rate: 96% | Job Placement Rate: 100%

North Oaks ties LSU Eunice for the highest completion rate in the state at 100%, and its 96% ARRT pass rate is the second highest of any program listed here. The program is small – 33 total capacity – which likely contributes to the high individual attention and outcomes. Clinical sites are concentrated within the North Oaks health system and surrounding Tangipahoa and Washington parish hospitals. Tuition at $5,000 is competitive for a hospital-based program.

Northwestern State University

Location: Shreveport, LA | Program Length: 29 months | Resident Tuition: $6,480 | Non-Resident Tuition: $17,268 | Completion Rate: 88% | ARRT Pass Rate: 88% | Job Placement Rate: 100%

Northwestern State has the largest clinical network in the state with nearly 50 affiliated sites, covering Shreveport-Bossier City, Alexandria, Natchitoches, Fort Polk, and multiple rural communities across northwest and central Louisiana. Distance education is available, and the program length of 29 months is the longest in the state. For students who want broad regional clinical exposure across north Louisiana, this program provides exceptional variety.

Southern University at Shreveport

Location: Shreveport, LA | Program Length: 27 months | Resident Tuition: $7,118 | Non-Resident Tuition: $11,900 | Completion Rate: 68% | ARRT Pass Rate: 78% | Job Placement Rate: 100%

SUSLA serves an important role in making radiography education accessible in the Shreveport area, and the 100% job placement rate indicates that graduates who complete the program find employment. However, prospective students should have a direct conversation with the program about its 68% completion rate and 78% ARRT pass rate, which are the lowest of any program in this list. Understanding what support structures exist for students at risk of not completing is worth your time before enrolling.

University of Holy Cross

Location: New Orleans, LA | Program Length: 21 months | Tuition: $22,200 | Completion Rate: 78% | ARRT Pass Rate: 100% | Job Placement Rate: 100%

University of Holy Cross holds the only 100% ARRT pass rate of any program in Louisiana, which is a striking outcome. The trade-off is the highest tuition in the state and a 78% completion rate. Clinical affiliations include Ochsner Medical Center, Children’s Hospital, and St. Bernard Parish Hospital. For a student confident in their ability to complete the program and prioritizing exam success, UHC’s pass rate is unmatched in the state.

University of Louisiana Monroe

Location: Monroe, LA | Program Length: 24 months | Resident Tuition: $5,033 | Non-Resident Tuition: $11,083 | Completion Rate: 81% | ARRT Pass Rate: 89% | Job Placement Rate: 95%

ULM has the largest program capacity in the state at 150 students. Clinical sites cover northeast Louisiana including Monroe, West Monroe, Ruston, Bastrop, and several rural parishes. The 95% job placement rate is the only one below 99% in this list, but that figure still represents strong employment outcomes and likely reflects students who relocate or pursue further education immediately after graduation.

Louisiana Radiography Program Comparison Table

Program City Length Resident Tuition Completion Rate ARRT Pass Rate Placement Rate Distance Option
Baton Rouge General Medical Center Baton Rouge 24 mo $10,900 75% 90% 100% No
Delgado Community College New Orleans 24 mo $4,388 93% 94% 99% No
Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady University Baton Rouge 21 mo $21,642 91% 92% 100% No
LSU Eunice Eunice 24 mo $11,891 100% 89% 100% No
LSU Alexandria Alexandria 21 mo $3,611 [VERIFY] [VERIFY] [VERIFY] No
McNeese State University Lake Charles 28 mo $4,724 90% 91% 100% Yes
North Oaks Medical Center Hammond 24 mo $5,000 100% 96% 100% No
Northwestern State University Shreveport 29 mo $6,480 88% 88% 100% Yes
Southern University at Shreveport Shreveport 27 mo $7,118 68% 78% 100% No
University of Holy Cross New Orleans 21 mo $22,200 78% 100% 100% No
University of Louisiana Monroe Monroe 24 mo $5,033 81% 89% 95% No

Tuition reflects totals reported to JRCERT. LSUA outcome data not reported at time of publication. Verify all figures directly with each program. Data current as of July 2026.

Related Imaging and Therapy Programs in Louisiana

Radiographers who want to specialize after gaining clinical experience have at least one JRCERT-accredited advanced program available in Louisiana. These programs are distinct from the radiography listings above and are typically pursued after earning an RT(R) credential.

Radiation Therapy – Delgado Community College

Location: New Orleans, LA | Program Length: 16 months | Tuition: $5,460 | Completion Rate: 86% | ARRT Pass Rate: 88% | Job Placement Rate: 100%

Radiation therapists work alongside oncology teams to deliver precisely targeted radiation treatments to cancer patients. This is a distinct scope of practice from diagnostic radiography and requires its own ARRT certification in Radiation Therapy (T). Delgado’s 16-month program is one of the shorter pathways in the Gulf South region, with clinical sites spanning New Orleans, Baton Rouge, Metairie, Slidell, Thibodaux, and Covington. For a radiographer considering a move into oncology, this program represents a direct route with a strong placement record.

What to Look for in a Louisiana Radiology Tech Program

With 11 accredited programs across the state, the choice is genuinely competitive. A few factors matter more in Louisiana than they might in other states.

JRCERT Accreditation Length

Every program listed here holds accreditation. But look at the accreditation term – all 11 programs hold eight-year accreditation, which is the maximum JRCERT awards. That uniformity means accreditation alone does not differentiate programs in Louisiana; you need to look at outcomes instead.

ARRT Pass Rate and What It Signals

Pass rates in this list range from 78% to 100%. The ARRT first-attempt pass rate nationally sits around 85-87% in recent years, so programs above 90% are outperforming the national baseline. A pass rate below 85% should prompt questions about exam preparation resources, faculty support, and curriculum structure. Ask any program you visit what percentage of their graduates pass on the first attempt, not just overall.

Completion Rate and Student Support

Louisiana programs range from 68% to 100% completion. A low completion rate can reflect a rigorous program that self-selects strong completers, or it can signal inadequate academic support for students who hit difficulty. Ask about tutoring availability, academic advising frequency, and what happens when a student fails a clinical rotation. Programs with 90%+ completion rates tend to have structured support systems in place.

Clinical Site Diversity

Louisiana’s healthcare landscape includes large academic medical centers (LSU Health, Ochsner, Tulane), rural critical access hospitals, Veterans Administration facilities, military installations like Bayne Jones Army Community Hospital, pediatric specialty centers, and outpatient imaging chains. Programs with diverse clinical networks produce graduates comfortable across multiple practice settings. If you plan to work in a rural parish hospital after graduation, confirm that the program has at least some rural clinical placements.

Clinical Hours

JRCERT requires a minimum of 1,800 clinical hours across accredited radiography programs. Programs may exceed that minimum. Ask each program how many total clinical hours students complete and how those hours are distributed across first and second year. Front-loading didactic work before clinical exposure is common, but you want sufficient supervised hands-on time before graduation.

Program Length and Schedule Flexibility

Louisiana programs run from 21 to 29 months. Shorter programs (21 months at FranU, UHC, and LSUA) compress the same content into a faster schedule, which can mean less buffer time for students managing outside obligations. McNeese and Northwestern both offer distance education options for didactic coursework, which adds flexibility for students in southwest and northwest Louisiana who cannot easily commute to a campus daily.

Tuition vs. Outcomes

LSUA at $3,611 and Delgado at $4,388 offer the two lowest-cost options in the state, and both post strong outcomes where data is available. The most expensive programs – University of Holy Cross at $22,200 and FranU at $21,642 – post their own strong outcomes. Cost alone should not drive your decision, but the data in this guide gives you a basis for evaluating whether a higher-priced program produces proportionally better results for your specific goals.

Program Length, Clinical Hours, and ARRT Exam Preparation

All radiography programs in Louisiana are structured around a similar framework: foundational sciences and positioning coursework in the first semester, progressive clinical rotations through years one and two, and dedicated board review before graduation. Most programs deliver ARRT-specific preparation in the final semester through review courses, mock examinations, and competency-based evaluations.

The ARRT Radiography examination tests eleven content areas including radiation protection, image production, equipment operation, and patient care. Programs with higher pass rates typically integrate board review throughout the curriculum rather than treating it as a final-semester sprint. When you visit programs, ask how ARRT preparation is structured across the full program, not just in the last few months.

Clinical hours across Louisiana programs are distributed across inpatient hospitals, outpatient imaging centers, orthopaedic clinics, urgent care facilities, and specialty centers. That breadth gives Louisiana graduates exposure to a wide range of patient populations and imaging equipment configurations before they enter the workforce.

Frequently Asked Questions About Radiology Tech Programs in Louisiana

Do I need a license to work as a rad tech in Louisiana?

Yes. Louisiana requires state licensure through the Louisiana State Radiologic Technology Board of Examiners. You must pass the ARRT exam and submit a license application before practicing independently. Temporary permits are available while you await exam results.

How long does it take to become a radiology tech in Louisiana?

The shortest accredited programs in Louisiana take 21 months (LSUA, FranU, and University of Holy Cross). Most programs run 24 months. McNeese runs 28 months and Northwestern runs 29 months. Add time for prerequisites, application processing, and ARRT exam scheduling, and most students enter the workforce two to three years after starting the process.

What is the average salary for radiology techs in Louisiana?

According to BLS May 2025 OEWS data, the median annual wage for radiologic technologists and technicians in Louisiana is $63,680. The middle 50% of earners fall between $58,400 and $76,240.

Which Louisiana radiology program has the best ARRT pass rate?

University of Holy Cross in New Orleans has the highest reported ARRT pass rate in the state at 100%, based on data reported to JRCERT. North Oaks Medical Center (96%) and Delgado Community College (94%) follow closely.

Are there online radiology tech programs in Louisiana?

No fully online radiography program exists – clinical rotations require in-person attendance. However, McNeese State University and Northwestern State University both offer distance education for their didactic components, allowing students to complete classroom-based coursework remotely while completing clinical hours at affiliated sites.

What GPA do I need to get into a Louisiana radiology tech program?

Each program sets its own admission requirements. Minimum GPA thresholds, prerequisite courses (typically anatomy and physiology, medical terminology, math, and English), and admission test scores vary by school. Contact each program directly for current admission criteria.

Before you apply, work out where you stand. A college GPA calculator that weights each course by its credit hours gives the same figure an admissions office reads from your transcript. It also lets you check your prerequisite science courses on their own, since many programs look at those separately.

Can I become an MRI tech in Louisiana after completing a radiography program?

Yes. ARRT offers a post-primary MRI credential that radiographers can pursue after gaining clinical experience in MRI under appropriate supervision. BLS May 2025 OEWS data shows MRI technologists in Louisiana earn a median of $77,510, compared to $63,680 for general radiographers – a meaningful incentive for credential advancement.

What is the difference between a hospital-based and a college-based radiology program in Louisiana?

Hospital-based programs (Baton Rouge General, North Oaks) are run directly by healthcare systems, and clinical training is tightly integrated with the sponsoring institution’s environment. College-based programs (Delgado, McNeese, ULM, etc.) award an academic degree and provide access to broader financial aid, campus resources, and articulation pathways into bachelor’s or graduate programs. Both types produce graduates eligible for ARRT examination and Louisiana licensure.

How many clinical hours do Louisiana radiology programs require?

JRCERT requires a minimum of 1,800 clinical hours. Individual programs may require more. Contact each program for their specific clinical hour total and how rotations are structured across the program length.

Explore Louisiana Radiology Tech Programs

Every program listed on this page is JRCERT-accredited and prepares graduates for ARRT examination and Louisiana state licensure. The right choice depends on your location, budget, schedule, and career goals. Use the comparison table above to narrow your options, then contact the programs that match your situation to ask about current cohort openings, application deadlines, and prerequisite requirements. Program availability and tuition can change – confirming current details directly with each school is always the right next step.