Washington – Education Options for Tomorrow’s Medical Imaging Professionals

The forecast for jobs in radiologic technology, which means operating the equipment used for diagnostic medical imaging, such as x-rays machines or providing radiation therapy for cancer treatment, is very favorable. (Leer en español.)

Jobs in this field are expected to grow at a rate of 6 percent between now and 2031. This rate is two times as fast as for all jobs on average.

Now is a great time to get an education and to look for a job as a radiologic technologist. The upward trend holds true for all states including Washington.

Tell us about yourself so we can find programs near you.




Salaries in Radiology

According to BLS May 2025 OEWS data, Washington employs 4,130 radiologic technologists and technicians (SOC 29-2034). The median annual wage is $102,090 and the mean is $100,900, well above the national median. Pay is distributed across a fairly wide range: the 10th percentile earns $66,570, the 25th percentile earns $81,880, the 75th percentile earns $121,560, and the 90th percentile earns $132,060. Salaries vary across different regions within Washington, with urban areas such as Seattle-Tacoma-Bellevue offering higher salaries.

Salaries by Region

InstitutionLengthResident TuitionCompletion RateARRT Pass RatePlacement RateAccreditationEvening/Weekend
Bellevue College22 mo.$10,400100%94%100%8 YearsNo
Bellevue College24 mo.$10,400100%92%100%8 YearsNo
Olympic College21 mo.$6,834n/an/an/an/aNo
Pima Medical Institute-Seattle24 mo.$23,00098%88%94%8 YearsNo
Spokane CC22 mo.$7,00091%88%100%8 YearsNo
Tacoma CC24 mo.$14,54594%95%100%8 YearsNo
Wenatchee Valley College24 mo.$13,087100%88%98%8 YearsNo
Yakima Valley CC24 mo.$7,44393%91%100%8 YearsNo

Washington has no state income tax, which meaningfully affects take-home pay compared to states with comparable gross salaries. Technologists who work in smaller markets such as Yakima, Wenatchee, and Spokane typically face lower housing costs while still benefiting from Washington’s relatively elevated wage floor.

The career path offers clear upward movement in earnings. BLS May 2025 OEWS data for Magnetic Resonance Imaging Technologists (SOC 29-2035) in Washington shows a median of $122,750 and a mean of $119,770, with the 90th percentile reaching $160,320. That $20,000-plus median gap between general radiography and MRI reflects what additional specialty certification can do. Entry into MRI typically requires an ARRT radiography credential plus supplemental training or a post-primary MRI certification, making your initial radiography program the direct gateway to that specialty track.

Radiologic Technologist Employment Trends in Washington

In Washington, the employment of Radiologic Technologists is projected to grow by 16% from 2020 to 2030, increasing from 3,900 to 4,540 jobs, with 430 projected annual job openings.] Nationally, employment for Radiologic Technologists and Technicians is expected to grow by 6% from 2022 to 2032, from 222,800 to 235,000 jobs, with 13,100 projected annual job openings.

Professional Organizations

The leading professional organization for radiologic technologists working in Washington is the Washington Society of Radiologic Technologists. This is the state affiliate for the national organization the American Society of Radiologic Technologists. The American Registry of Radiologic Technologists is the organization that provides the exam that must be passed for licensing. For further information about education and careers in this field, the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology, which accredits many educational programs, is a good source.

Accredited Radiology Tech Programs in Washington State

Washington is one of only a handful of states where the median annual wage for radiologic technologists clears $100,000 – the BLS May 2025 OEWS data puts the figure at $102,090, well above the national median. That salary picture, combined with a healthcare sector anchored by major systems like MultiCare, Providence, UW Medicine, and the military facilities at Joint Base Lewis-McChord, makes Washington a genuinely competitive market for new graduates. There are six JRCERT-accredited radiography programs currently operating in the state, spread from Spokane in the east to the Kitsap Peninsula in the west.

This page covers everything you need to make an informed decision: program details, tuition, outcome data, Washington’s licensing requirements, and how to evaluate which program fits your situation.

JRCERT-Accredited Radiography Programs in Washington

All six programs below hold JRCERT accreditation, which is the standard required by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) for exam eligibility. Tuition figures are drawn directly from JRCERT program data. Where completion rates, exam pass rates, and job placement rates are available, they are listed. Some programs had not reported all metrics to JRCERT at the time of data collection.

Olympic College – Poulsbo

Olympic College runs a 21-month Associate of Applied Science program from its Poulsbo campus. Resident tuition is $6,834 and non-resident tuition is $7,724, making this one of the most affordable options in the state. Clinical sites include Seattle Children’s Hospital, Franciscan Orthopedics at St. Anthony in Gig Harbor, Jefferson Healthcare in Port Townsend, and Kaiser Permanente in Port Orchard. The program does not offer distance education. Completion rate, exam pass rate, and job placement rate were not reported to JRCERT for this program at the time of data collection – contact the program directly for current outcomes data.

Pima Medical Institute – Seattle

Pima’s Seattle campus offers a 24-month radiography program with a distance education component, which gives students more scheduling flexibility than a fully on-campus format. Tuition is $23,000 regardless of residency status. The program carries an 8-year JRCERT accreditation, a 98% completion rate, an 88% ARRT exam pass rate, and a 94% job placement rate. The clinical network is the largest of any Washington program, covering more than 55 sites across Seattle, the Eastside, the Kitsap and Olympic peninsulas, and reaching as far as Portland, Oregon. Total capacity is 93 students. This breadth of clinical exposure is a genuine advantage for students who want experience across hospital, military, pediatric, and outpatient imaging settings.

Spokane Community College

Spokane Community College offers a 22-month radiography program serving eastern Washington. Resident tuition is $7,000 and non-resident tuition is $8,500. The program has a 91% completion rate, an 88% ARRT exam pass rate, and a 100% job placement rate – every graduate who sought employment found it. Clinical sites are concentrated in the Spokane metro area and include Sacred Heart Medical Center, MultiCare Deaconess Hospital, Shriners Hospital for Children, and the VA facility in Spokane. Capacity is 56 students. The program does not include distance education components.

Tacoma Community College

Tacoma Community College runs a 24-month program with a capacity of 100 students – the largest in the state. Resident tuition is $14,545 and non-resident tuition is $37,406. The program achieves a 94% completion rate, a 95% ARRT exam pass rate (the highest of any Washington program), and a 100% job placement rate. Clinical sites are spread across the South Sound region: St. Joseph Medical Center, MultiCare Tacoma General, Seattle Children’s Hospital, and more than 40 additional facilities. If ARRT exam performance is your primary benchmark, this program’s 95% pass rate stands out.

Wenatchee Valley College

Wenatchee Valley College offers a 24-month program with a distance education component. Tuition is $13,087 for both residents and non-residents, which is unusual in that there is no tuition differential. The program has a 100% completion rate, an 88% ARRT exam pass rate, and a 98% job placement rate. Capacity is 40 students. Clinical placements extend well beyond the immediate Wenatchee area and include sites in Moses Lake, Omak, Shelton, and cross-state sites in Idaho, Oregon, Montana, and Colorado. This makes it a practical option for students in rural central Washington who may eventually want to work in smaller community hospital settings.

Yakima Valley College

Yakima Valley College offers a 24-month Associate degree program. Resident tuition is $7,442 and non-resident tuition is $8,194. The program reports a 93% completion rate, a 91% ARRT exam pass rate, and a 100% job placement rate. Capacity is 36 students. Clinical sites are focused on the Yakima Valley and include MultiCare Yakima Memorial Hospital, Astria Toppenish Hospital, Kittitas Valley Healthcare in Ellensburg, and several Astria Health locations. For students based in central Washington who want to stay in the region, this program has strong local ties and a tight community hospital network.

Washington Radiography Program Comparison

Program Length Resident Tuition Non-Resident Tuition Completion Rate ARRT Pass Rate Job Placement Rate Capacity Distance Ed
Olympic College (Poulsbo) 21 months $6,834 $7,725 N/A N/A N/A N/A No
Pima Medical Institute – Seattle 24 months $23,000 $23,000 98% 88% 94% 93 Yes
Spokane Community College 22 months $7,000 $8,500 91% 88% 100% 56 No
Tacoma Community College 24 months $14,545 $37,407 94% 95% 100% 100 No
Wenatchee Valley College 24 months $13,087 $13,087 100% 88% 98% 40 Yes
Yakima Valley College 24 months $7,442 $8,195 93% 91% 100% 36 No

Tuition and outcome data sourced from JRCERT program records. N/A indicates data not reported by the program to JRCERT at time of collection. Contact programs directly for current figures.

What to Look for in a Washington Radiography Program

JRCERT accreditation is the baseline requirement – all six programs on this page meet it. Beyond that, there are several factors that matter specifically in Washington’s job market and training environment.

ARRT Exam Pass Rate

The ARRT Primary Certification Examination in Radiography is required to work as a licensed radiographer in Washington. Program-level pass rates in this state range from 88% to 95%. The exam is rigorous, and programs with structured exam prep built into the curriculum – mock exams, board review sessions, and integrated physics and patient care content – tend to produce better outcomes. Ask any program you are considering how exam preparation is woven into the final semester.

Clinical Hours and Site Diversity

Washington programs place students in a wide range of settings: large academic medical centers like UW Medical Center and Harborview, military facilities at Madigan Army Medical Center and Bremerton Naval Hospital, pediatric hospitals like Seattle Children’s, community hospitals in rural areas, and outpatient imaging centers. The type of clinical experience you get shapes the type of technologist you become. If you want to work in a trauma center eventually, look for programs with Level I trauma hospital placements. If your goal is a smaller community hospital, programs like Wenatchee Valley College or Yakima Valley College may offer more relevant site exposure.

Program Length and Format

Programs in Washington run between 21 and 24 months. The difference of a few months matters less than format compatibility with your life. Two programs – Pima Medical Institute and Wenatchee Valley College – include distance education components, which can help students who cannot relocate or who have work and family commitments. Full on-campus programs typically require more fixed scheduling but may offer more direct access to lab equipment and faculty.

Tuition vs. Return on Investment

The six Washington programs span a wide tuition range. At the low end, Olympic College costs $6,834 for residents. At the high end, Tacoma Community College costs $37,407 for non-residents. Given Washington’s median radiologic technologist salary of $102,090, even the higher-cost programs represent a solid return, but the gap between community college tuition and private institution tuition is substantial. If cost is a primary factor, the community college programs at Olympic College, Spokane, and Yakima Valley all come in well under $9,000 for residents.

Completion Rate

Completion rate tells you how many students who start a program finish it. Wenatchee Valley College reports 100%. Pima Medical Institute reports 98%. Tacoma Community College reports 94%. Low completion rates are worth examining – they may indicate a program is difficult to complete alongside other life demands, or that student support services are limited. Ask programs with lower rates what support structures are in place.

Program Length, Clinical Hours, and ARRT Exam Preparation in Washington Programs

Washington’s JRCERT-accredited programs run between 21 and 24 months. All include supervised clinical training as a required component – JRCERT mandates a minimum of 1,800 clinical hours for accredited radiography programs. The clinical hour requirement is one of the more time-intensive aspects of training and is what distinguishes a radiography program from a purely academic credential.

Clinical placements in Washington cover hospitals, outpatient imaging centers, orthopedic clinics, children’s hospitals, and military medical facilities. Students rotating through a mix of these settings develop competence across a broader range of patient populations and equipment types. The Pima Medical Institute program, with more than 55 clinical affiliates, provides unusually wide exposure. Programs like Yakima Valley College with seven core sites provide a more concentrated and regionally focused experience.

ARRT exam preparation is integrated into accredited programs throughout the curriculum. Courses in radiographic imaging, equipment operation, radiation physics, anatomy, patient care, and image evaluation all feed directly into the ARRT Primary Examination content areas. Most programs also offer dedicated board review in the final months of training. Tacoma Community College’s 95% ARRT pass rate is the highest reported by any Washington program and suggests strong exam preparation infrastructure. When comparing programs, ask specifically how they structure the final-semester review and what their five-year pass rate trend looks like.

Related Imaging and Therapy Programs in Washington

For radiographers looking to advance into a clinical specialty or move into the treatment side of cancer care, Washington has two JRCERT-accredited programs at Bellevue College in Bellevue that are worth knowing about.

Bellevue College – Radiation Therapy

This 24-month program trains students to deliver prescribed doses of radiation to cancer patients. It carries an 8-year JRCERT accreditation, a 100% completion rate, a 92% exam pass rate, and a 100% job placement rate. Capacity is 29 students. Resident tuition is $10,400 and non-resident tuition is $28,800. The program includes distance education components. Clinical sites span the Pacific Northwest and include Fred Hutch Cancer Center, UW Medical Center, Multicare Regional Cancer Center, Providence facilities, and PeaceHealth locations. Entry typically requires an existing ARRT credential, making radiography the prerequisite pathway into this program.

Bellevue College – Medical Dosimetry

Medical dosimetrists work alongside radiation oncologists to calculate and plan radiation treatment doses. It is one of the higher-earning allied health specialties. Bellevue College’s 22-month program holds an 8-year JRCERT accreditation, a 100% completion rate, a 94% exam pass rate, and a 100% job placement rate. Capacity is 15 students. Resident tuition is $10,400 and non-resident tuition is $28,800. This is a distance education program, and clinical placements extend nationally, including sites in Alabama, Florida, Pennsylvania, and Virginia, as well as Washington state sites like Swedish Cancer Institute, Kadlec Tri Cities Cancer Center, and the VA Puget Sound. Entry into medical dosimetry programs typically requires prior ARRT certification in radiation therapy or radiography plus clinical experience.

Both programs represent natural next steps for radiographers who want to specialize in oncology imaging and treatment – a field where clinical demand in Washington is driven by major cancer centers in Seattle, Tacoma, Olympia, and Yakima.

Large Employers in Radiology

There are many opportunities in the state of Washington to work as a radiologic technologist. Several big hospitals and medical centers in metropolitan areas always need good workers, as do those in more remote locations.

Seattle Children’s Hospital
4800 Sand Point Way NE
Seattle, WA 98105

MultiCare Deaconess Hospital
800 West Fifth Avenue
Spokane, WA 99204

Downtown Seattle Medical Center
1420 5th Avenue
Seattle, WA 98101

MultiCare Tacoma General Hospital
315 Martin Luther King Jr. Way
Tacoma, WA 98405

Virginia Mason Memorial Hospital
2811 Tieton Drive
Yakima, WA 98902

Frequently Asked Questions About Radiology Tech Programs in Washington

How long does it take to become a radiology tech in Washington?

The JRCERT-accredited programs in Washington run between 21 and 24 months. That timeframe covers both classroom instruction and supervised clinical hours. Most students graduate in about two years from program start. After graduation, you sit the ARRT certification exam and then apply for your Washington state license, a process that typically takes a few weeks to a few months depending on application processing times.

Do I need a license to work as a radiology tech in Washington?

Yes. Washington requires state licensure through the Washington State Department of Health. You must pass the ARRT certification exam before applying for the license. Practicing without a license in a setting that uses ionizing radiation is prohibited under Washington law.

What do radiology techs earn in Washington?

According to BLS May 2025 OEWS data, the median annual wage for radiologic technologists and technicians in Washington is $102,090. Entry-level technologists (10th percentile) earn around $66,570. Experienced technologists at the 90th percentile earn $132,060. Washington has no state income tax, which affects real take-home pay. Wages are generally higher in the Seattle metro area and lower in rural and eastern Washington markets, though the cost of living difference often partially offsets that gap.

Which Washington radiology tech program has the best ARRT pass rate?

Among programs that reported exam data to JRCERT, Tacoma Community College has the highest ARRT exam pass rate at 95%. Yakima Valley College reports 91%. Pima Medical Institute and Spokane Community College both report 88%. Wenatchee Valley College also reports 88%. Olympic College had not reported exam data at the time of data collection.

Are there online radiology tech programs in Washington?

Two Washington programs include distance education components: Pima Medical Institute in Seattle and Wenatchee Valley College. Distance education in this field typically means that some didactic coursework is delivered online, while clinical hours must still be completed in person at approved clinical sites. No accredited radiography program is fully online, because hands-on clinical training with imaging equipment and patients cannot be replicated remotely.

What is the cheapest radiology tech program in Washington?

For Washington residents, Olympic College in Poulsbo is the lowest-cost option at $6,834 in total resident tuition. Spokane Community College ($7,000 resident) and Yakima Valley College ($7,442 resident) are also in the low-cost range. Pima Medical Institute at $23,000 (no residency differential) is the highest-cost program among those without a large non-resident surcharge. For non-residents, Tacoma Community College’s $37,407 is the highest non-resident tuition by a significant margin, though its 95% ARRT pass rate and 100% job placement rate are among its program’s strongest metrics.

What clinical sites will I train at in a Washington radiology program?

It depends on the program and your location. Pima Medical Institute has more than 55 clinical affiliates across Seattle, the Eastside, Kitsap Peninsula, and beyond. Tacoma Community College covers the South Sound with more than 40 sites. Spokane Community College is focused on the eastern Washington healthcare network. Yakima Valley College places students in Yakima Valley community hospitals. Wenatchee Valley College offers a mix of central Washington sites and some out-of-state placements in Idaho, Oregon, Montana, and Colorado. Olympic College’s sites serve the Kitsap and Olympic Peninsula region.

Can I specialize after completing a radiography program in Washington?

Yes. The ARRT credential you earn after completing an accredited program is the foundation for post-primary certifications in CT, MRI, mammography, fluoroscopy, and other modalities. In Washington specifically, Bellevue College offers JRCERT-accredited programs in Radiation Therapy and Medical Dosimetry for radiographers who want to move into oncology. MRI technologists in Washington earn a median of $122,750 according to BLS May 2025 OEWS data – about $20,000 more than the radiography median – which illustrates what specialty certification can add to your earning potential over time.

Take the Next Step

The six programs listed above cover the state from Spokane to the Kitsap Peninsula. Whether your priority is the lowest tuition, the highest ARRT pass rate, a specific clinical site network, or a distance education option, each program has a different profile worth examining closely. Use the comparison table to narrow your list, then contact the programs directly to ask about current application deadlines, prerequisites, and cohort availability. Seats fill quickly – most programs admit once per year and have limited capacity.

Visit each program’s page using the links above to request current information, confirm prerequisites, and start your application.