How to Become a Radiology Professional in New York
New York State is part of the trend of job growth in the healthcare sector of the United States.
(Leer esta información en español)
Radiologic science jobs are increasing nationwide, and New York – where five of the largest employers in the whole state are hospitals – is a promising location in which to hunt for a health science career.
Students looking for a certificate or degree in the state will find also find a very large number of programs from which to choose. New York has some of the highest average salaries to be found in the field of radiologic technology, although this is somewhat balanced out by the high cost of living in the state.
Prerequisite Courses
Radiologic technology requires applicants to have at least a high school diploma or GED. You may also need to take some prerequisite courses such as; human anatomy, biology, and chemistry. In addition, some programs may require courses in medical terminology and mathematics.
Duties of Rad Techs
Radiologic technologists in New York can expect to work with radiologists, using a variety of x-ray and imaging equipment to diagnose diseases and injuries. Radiology technologists also must be knowledgeable of patient safety issues, radiation safety protocols, laws governing the use of medical imaging devices, and keeping accurate records.
Large Employers in Radiology
The State has a very large number of exceptional hospitals and medical centers that employ large radiologic technology staff. Many of these medical centers are located in the densely populated greater New York City area.
New York Presbyterian University Hospital of Columbia and Cornell
525 East 68th Street
New York, NY 10065-4870
(212) 746-5454
Tisch Hospital
550 First Avenue
New York, NY 10016-6402
(212) 263-7300
Mount Sinai Medical Center
One Gustave L Levy Place
New York, NY 10029-6574
(212) 241-6500
St. Francis Hospital
100 Port Washington Boulevard
Roslyn, NY 11576-1353
(516) 562-6000
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
1275 York Avenue
New York, NY 10065
(212) 639-2000
Hospital for Special Surgery
535 East 70th Street
New York, NY 10021-4898
(212) 606-1000
Huntington Hospital
270 Park Avenue
Huntington, NY 11743-2799
(631) 351-2200
Accredited Radiology Tech Programs in New York: 2026 Guide
New York has more JRCERT-accredited radiography programs than any other state in the Northeast, with 28 programs spread from Buffalo to Brooklyn and from Plattsburgh to the tip of Long Island. That density matters for applicants: you can almost certainly find a clinical training site within commuting distance of where you already live. The state also sets its own licensing requirements through the New York State Department of Health, which adds a step that graduates in most other states skip entirely. This guide covers every accredited program, current salary data, licensing rules, and what separates stronger programs from weaker ones.
New York Radiologic Technologist Salary and Job Market
According to BLS May 2025 OEWS data, New York employs 13,450 radiologic technologists and technicians (SOC 29-2034). The median annual wage is $98,470, and the mean sits just above that at $99,000. Entry-level technologists at the 10th percentile earn around $67,540, while experienced techs at the 90th percentile reach $129,310.
Those figures look strong in absolute terms. The cost-of-living context matters, though, and it varies sharply by region. A $98,470 median goes considerably further in Plattsburgh or Jamestown than it does in Manhattan or Nassau County. New York City metro workers tend to earn toward the upper end of the wage distribution, but housing, transportation, and taxes consume a larger share of take-home pay. If you are weighing a program in Albany versus one in Brooklyn, factor in where you intend to work after graduation, not just the tuition figure.
Career Progression: From Radiographer to MRI Technologist
Many radiographers in New York eventually cross-train in MRI. The earnings difference justifies the additional certification work. BLS May 2025 OEWS data shows that MRI technologists (SOC 29-2035) in New York earn a median of $113,270 – roughly $14,800 more per year than the radiography median. The 90th percentile for MRI techs reaches $133,420. New York has 3,240 MRI technologists employed statewide, meaning there is a real job market for that credential. ARRT offers a post-primary MRI certification that radiographers can pursue after working in the field.
New York State Licensing Requirements for Radiologic Technologists
New York is one of a relatively small number of states that requires radiologic technologists to hold a state license in addition to ARRT certification. The New York State Department of Health administers this license under Article 35 of the Public Health Law.
To qualify for a New York radiologic technology license, you must meet all of the following:
- Graduate from a program registered by the New York State Education Department or accredited by JRCERT (all programs on this page qualify)
- Pass the ARRT examination in radiography
- Submit a completed application to the New York State Department of Health, Office of Health Systems Management
- Pay the current licensure fee (verify the current fee directly with NYSDOH, as fees are subject to change)
- Meet any applicable background check requirements
New York does not accept the ARRT credential alone as authorization to practice. You must hold the state license before performing radiologic procedures on patients. If you are relocating from another state where you are already ARRT-certified, you will still need to apply for a New York license before starting work. Processing times vary, so apply as soon as you have passed your boards.
Continuing education is required for license renewal. The current renewal cycle and CE hour requirements are set by the Department of Health – verify the current figures at the time of your renewal, as requirements have been updated periodically.
JRCERT-Accredited Radiography Programs in New York
All 28 programs below hold active JRCERT accreditation. Program length, tuition, and outcomes data are drawn from JRCERT records. Tuition figures reflect published program totals; always confirm current costs directly with the institution, as rates change annually.
Program Listings
Alfred State College
Alfred, NY | Program length: 24 months | Resident tuition: $7,070 | Non-resident: $12,010
Completion rate: 75% | ARRT pass rate: 72% | Job placement: 100%
Alfred State runs one of the larger upstate programs, with clinical sites spanning from Rochester to NYC metro affiliates. The 100% job placement rate is a strong outcome; the 72% board pass rate is below the national average and worth discussing with the admissions office.
Arnot-Ogden Medical Center
Elmira, NY | Program length: 23 months | Resident tuition: $16,976 | Non-resident: $28,896
Completion rate: 100% | ARRT pass rate: 96% | Job placement: 100%
A hospital-based program with strong outcomes. The 100% completion rate and 96% board pass rate rank among the best in the state. Small cohort size (16 seats) means competitive admissions.
Bellevue Hospital Center
New York, NY | Program length: 24 months | Tuition: $7,500 (resident and non-resident)
Completion rate: 87% | ARRT pass rate: 86% | Job placement: 91%
One of the most affordable programs in New York City. Clinical training takes place entirely at Bellevue, a major public hospital with high patient volume and diagnostic complexity.
Bronx Community College (CUNY)
Bronx, NY | Program length: 24 months | Resident tuition: $4,500 | Non-resident: $286 (verify – this figure appears in JRCERT data but should be confirmed with the institution)
Completion rate: 83% | ARRT pass rate: 83% | Job placement: 97%
CUNY’s community college tuition structure makes BCC one of the most affordable options in the metro area. Clinical placements include Montefiore, Jacobi, and NewYork-Presbyterian.
Center for Allied Health Education
Brooklyn, NY | Program length: 22 months | Tuition: $28,350
Completion rate: 95% | ARRT pass rate: 82% | Job placement: 97%
Offers distance education and evening/weekend options, making it accessible for working adults. The largest clinical network of any program in the state, with over 50 affiliates across the five boroughs and Long Island.
Champlain Valley Physicians Hospital Medical Center
Plattsburgh, NY | Program length: 24 months | Resident tuition: $9,600 | Non-resident: $16,200
Completion rate: 100% | ARRT pass rate: 86% | Job placement: 100%
A strong regional option in the North Country, near the Canadian border. Perfect completion and placement rates. Clinical training is concentrated at CVPH facilities.
Fulton Montgomery Community College
Johnstown, NY | Program length: 21 months | Resident tuition: $2,760 | Non-resident: $5,520
Completion rate: 80% | ARRT pass rate: 97% | Job placement: 100%
The lowest resident tuition of any program in this guide. The 97% board pass rate is among the highest in New York. Clinical sites reach Albany Medical Center, Bassett Healthcare, and Saratoga Hospital. A standout value for Capital Region residents.
Hostos Community College (CUNY)
Bronx, NY | Program length: 24 months | Resident tuition: $5,210 | Non-resident: $8,085
Completion rate: 69% | ARRT pass rate: 96% | Job placement: 100%
The 96% board pass rate is one of the strongest in the state. The completion rate of 69% suggests the program is academically rigorous and students should enter with strong science preparation. Clinical sites include Memorial Sloan Kettering, Montefiore, and Northwell Lenox Hill.
Hudson Valley Community College
Troy, NY | Program length: 21 months | Resident tuition: $2,528 | Non-resident: $5,056
Completion rate: 79% | ARRT pass rate: 92% | Job placement: 100%
Another excellent value in the Capital Region. The $2,528 resident tuition is the second lowest in the state. A 92% board pass rate and 100% job placement make this one of the strongest community college options available.
Hunter Business School
Levittown, NY | Program length: 16 months | Tuition: $38,360
Completion rate: 100% | ARRT pass rate: 100% | Job placement: not reported
The shortest program in the state at 16 months, with a perfect completion and board pass rate. A private career school option for Long Island residents willing to pay higher tuition for a faster path. Extensive clinical network across Nassau and Suffolk counties.
Long Island University, Post Campus
Brookville, NY | Program length: 21 months | Tuition: $43,126
Completion rate: 82% | ARRT pass rate: 96% | Job placement: 100%
A four-year university offering a radiography program with a 96% board pass rate and strong clinical affiliations across Long Island and the metro area. Higher tuition reflects the private university setting.
Manhattanville University
Purchase, NY | Program length: 24 months | Tuition: $44,180
Completion rate: 86% | ARRT pass rate: not reported in data
Located in Westchester County with clinical sites spanning Westchester, the Bronx, and the Hudson Valley. Also uses affiliates in Connecticut. Exam pass rate data was not available in the current JRCERT dataset – contact the program directly for current outcomes.
Mercy Hospital
Rockville Centre, NY | Program length: 23 months | Tuition: $8,500 (resident and non-resident)
Completion rate: 100% | ARRT pass rate: 96% | Job placement: 100%
A hospital-based program on Long Island with excellent outcomes across all three metrics. Relatively low tuition for its area. Clinical affiliates include Catholic Health System hospitals across Nassau and Suffolk.
Mohawk Valley Community College
Utica, NY | Program length: 22 months | Resident tuition: $5,372 | Non-resident: $8,058
Completion rate: 95% | ARRT pass rate: 82% | Job placement: 100%
A solid community college option for Central New York residents. Clinical sites include Bassett Healthcare, Faxton-St. Luke’s, and multiple specialty practices in the Utica area.
Monroe Community College
Rochester, NY | Program length: 21 months | Resident tuition: $5,200 | Non-resident: $10,400
Completion rate: 93% | ARRT pass rate: 94% | Job placement: 93%
One of the better-rounded programs in Western/Central New York. Strong completion and pass rates. Clinical placements include Strong Memorial, Rochester General, and multiple Borg & Ide Imaging sites.
Mount Sinai South Nassau
Oceanside, NY | Program length: 24 months | Tuition: $8,500 (resident and non-resident)
Completion rate: 100% | ARRT pass rate: 98% | Job placement: 100%
One of the highest board pass rates in the state. Small cohort (24 seats) ensures close mentorship. All clinical training takes place at Mount Sinai South Nassau facilities, which is a focused and consistent experience.
New York City College of Technology (CUNY)
Brooklyn, NY | Program length: 24 months | Resident tuition: $6,030 | Non-resident: $12,840
Completion rate: 83% | ARRT pass rate: 87% | Job placement: 98%
City Tech is a major CUNY institution in downtown Brooklyn with clinical sites at Hospital for Special Surgery, NYU Langone, NewYork-Presbyterian, and multiple Mount Sinai campuses. A strong value for NYC residents.
Orange County Community College
Middletown, NY | Program length: 24 months | Resident tuition: $9,933 | Non-resident: $19,866
Completion rate: 100% | ARRT pass rate: 92% | Job placement: 100%
Perfect completion and placement rates with a 92% board pass rate. Serves the Hudson Valley and lower Catskill region. Clinical sites include Garnet Health, Vassar Brothers, and multiple RadNet/Lenox Hill locations.
Peconic Bay Medical Center/Northwell Health System
Riverhead, NY | Program length: 24 months | Tuition: $10,500 (resident and non-resident)
Completion rate: 100% | ARRT pass rate: 100% | Job placement: 100%
Perfect scores across all three outcome metrics. The only program on Eastern Long Island. All 15 clinical sites are within the Northwell Health network, giving students consistent system experience and strong internal hiring connections.
Rochester General College of Health Careers
Rochester, NY | Program length: 18 months | Tuition: $34,000
Completion rate, pass rate, and placement rate: not reported in current JRCERT data – contact program directly for outcomes
The fastest path to graduation among multi-site Rochester programs at 18 months. All clinical placements are within the Rochester Regional Health system, which also employs many graduates.
SUNY Niagara
Sanborn, NY | Program length: 24 months | Resident tuition: $5,232 | Non-resident: $10,464
Completion rate: 59% | ARRT pass rate: 78% | Job placement: 97%
The largest program capacity in the state at 142 seats. The 59% completion rate and 78% board pass rate are the lowest among SUNY programs and should factor into your decision. Ask the program specifically about academic support services and where students tend to struggle.
SUNY Upstate Medical University
Syracuse, NY | Program length: 21 months | Resident tuition: $10,605 | Non-resident: $29,220
Completion rate: 100% | ARRT pass rate: 87% | Job placement: 100%
The only SUNY medical university offering radiography. A 5-year accreditation cycle (versus the standard 8 years held by most programs) means JRCERT reviews it more frequently. Clinical sites span Central and Western New York.
SUNY Westchester Community College
Valhalla, NY | Program length: 24 months | Resident tuition: $5,374 | Non-resident: $12,756
Completion rate: 89% | ARRT pass rate: 86% | Job placement: 100%
A public community college option in Westchester County, with clinical affiliates including Westchester Medical Center, White Plains Hospital, and several Westmed sites. Also uses affiliates in Stamford, CT. Good value for lower Hudson Valley residents.
St. John’s University
Queens, NY | Program length: 45 months | Tuition: $53,980
Completion rate: 81% | ARRT pass rate: 94% | Job placement: 100%
The only bachelor’s-degree radiography program in this listing at 45 months. Higher tuition and longer duration are offset by the B.S. credential, which can facilitate faster advancement into supervisory roles or post-primary certifications. Clinical affiliates include Memorial Sloan Kettering, HSS, and extensive Lenox Hill Radiology sites.
Touro University
New York, NY | Program length: 22 months | Tuition: $22,275
Completion rate: 85% | ARRT pass rate: 72% | Job placement: 98%
Located in Harlem with a wide clinical network across all five boroughs and Long Island. The 72% board pass rate matches Alfred State for the lowest in the state. Ask about ARRT preparation resources before enrolling.
Trocaire College
Buffalo, NY | Program length: 21 months | Tuition: $19,460
Completion rate: 66% | ARRT pass rate: 85% | Job placement: 99%
A private college in Buffalo with the widest clinical network in Western New York, including Roswell Park, Erie County Medical Center, and multiple Catholic Health and Trinity Imaging sites. The 66% completion rate is low – ask about prerequisites and academic requirements.
UPMC Chautauqua WCA
Jamestown, NY | Program length: 22 months | Tuition: $4,500 (resident and non-resident)
Completion rate: 88% | ARRT pass rate: 81% | Job placement: 100%
One of the most affordable programs in the state at $4,500 total. Hospital-based training in the Southern Tier, with one affiliate site at UPMC Hamot in Erie, PA. A practical option for residents of Chautauqua County.
Western Suffolk BOCES
Northport, NY | Program length: 24 months | Tuition: $34,950
Completion rate: 100% | ARRT pass rate: 97% | Job placement: 100%
Perfect outcomes across all three metrics. A vocational education provider on Long Island with a focused clinical network spanning Catholic Health, Northwell, and NYU Langone Suffolk sites. Higher tuition than comparable public programs, but the outcomes justify consideration.
New York Radiology Tech Program Comparison Table
The table below summarizes key data points for all 28 JRCERT-accredited radiography programs in New York. Use it to compare programs at a glance. Tuition figures are total published program costs; confirm current rates with each institution.
| Institution | Length | Resident Tuition | Completion Rate | ARRT Pass Rate | Placement Rate | Accreditation | Evening/Weekend |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alfred State College | 24 mo. | $7,070 | 75% | 72% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Arnot-Ogden Medical Center | 23 mo. | $16,976 | 100% | 96% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Bellevue Hospital Center | 24 mo. | $7,500 | 87% | 86% | 91% | 8 Years | No |
| Bronx CC of the City University of New York | 24 mo. | $4,500 | 83% | 83% | 97% | 8 Years | No |
| Center for Allied Health Education | 21 mo. | $28,650 | n/a | n/a | n/a | 3 Years | No |
| Center for Allied Health Education | 22 mo. | $59,500 | 100% | 94% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Center for Allied Health Education | 22 mo. | $28,350 | 95% | 82% | 97% | 5 Years | Yes |
| Champlain Valley Physicians Hospital Medical Center | 24 mo. | $9,600 | 100% | 86% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Fulton Montgomery CC | 21 mo. | $2,760 | 80% | 97% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Hostos CC of the City University of New York | 24 mo. | $5,210 | 69% | 96% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Hudson Valley CC | 21 mo. | $2,528 | 79% | 92% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Hunter Business School | 16 mo. | $38,360 | 100% | 100% | n/a | 8 Years | No |
| Long Island University, Post Campus | 21 mo. | $43,126 | 82% | 96% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Manhattan University | 48 mo. | $75,910 | n/a | n/a | n/a | 2 Years | No |
| Manhattanville University | 24 mo. | $44,180 | 86% | n/a | n/a | 8 Years | No |
| Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center | 22 mo. | $5,000 | 100% | 100% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Mercy Hospital | 23 mo. | $8,500 | 100% | 96% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Mohawk Valley CC | 22 mo. | $5,372 | 95% | 82% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Monroe CC | 21 mo. | $5,200 | 93% | 94% | 93% | 8 Years | No |
| Mount Sinai South Nassau | 24 mo. | $8,500 | 100% | 98% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Nassau CC | 24 mo. | $5,800 | 91% | 83% | 100% | 5 Years | No |
| New York City College of Technology | 24 mo. | $6,030 | 83% | 87% | 98% | 8 Years | No |
| Orange County CC | 24 mo. | $9,933 | 100% | 92% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Peconic Bay Medical Center/Northwell Health System | 24 mo. | $10,500 | 100% | 100% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Rochester General College of Health Careers | 18 mo. | $34,000 | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | No |
| SUNY Erie CC | 24 mo. | $5,200 | 83% | 96% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| SUNY Niagara | 24 mo. | $5,232 | 59% | 78% | 97% | 8 Years | No |
| SUNY Upstate Medical University | 21 mo. | $10,605 | 100% | 94% | 100% | 5 Years | No |
| SUNY Upstate Medical University | 21 mo. | $10,605 | 100% | 87% | 100% | 5 Years | No |
| SUNY Westchester CC | 24 mo. | $5,374 | 89% | 86% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| St. John’s University | 45 mo. | $53,980 | 81% | 94% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Touro University | 22 mo. | $22,275 | 85% | 72% | 98% | 3 Years | No |
| Trocaire College | 21 mo. | $19,460 | 66% | 85% | 99% | 5 Years | No |
| UPMC Chautauqua WCA | 22 mo. | $4,500 | 88% | 81% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Western Suffolk BOCES | 24 mo. | $34,950 | 100% | 97% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
N/R = not reported in current JRCERT data. Contact the program directly for current outcomes.
Professional Organizations
The main professional organization for radiologic technologists in New York state is the New York State Society of Radiologic Sciences. The goal of this society is to promote the interests of radiologic science professionals in the state and to maintain education standards across New York.
The review committee on education requirements and licensing is the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT). The ARRT is responsible for setting the standards for radiologic technology education and licensure. In New York, radiologic technologists must be certified by the ARRT to practice.
Radiography programs in New York: what you need to know
New York has 28 JRCERT-accredited radiography programs, more than almost any other state. They range from small hospital-based programs with fewer than 20 seats to large community colleges with capacity for over 100 students. That variety means you have real choices, but it also means you need to compare programs carefully before you apply.
This page covers all 28 programs, what they cost, how students perform, and what the job market looks like once you graduate.
What JRCERT accreditation means for you
JRCERT stands for the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology. It is the national body that accredits radiography programs in the United States. Graduating from a JRCERT-accredited program is required before you can sit for the ARRT exam. The ARRT exam (American Registry of Radiologic Technologists) is the national certification test you must pass to work as a registered radiologic technologist in most states, including New York.
Every program listed on this page holds active JRCERT accreditation. Most hold 8-year accreditation, which is the longest term JRCERT awards. A few hold 5-year or 3-year terms, which means JRCERT requires more frequent review of those programs. That is worth noting when you compare your options.
Salaries for radiologic technologists in New York
According to BLS May 2025 OEWS data, New York employs 13,450 radiologic technologists and technicians. The median salary is $98,470 per year. The middle range runs from $82,670 at the 25th percentile to $110,950 at the 75th percentile. The top 10 percent earn $129,310 or more.
Those figures are well above the national median for this occupation. New York City and its suburbs account for much of that premium, but even programs in western New York and the Capital Region place graduates into a strong local market.
If you later advance into MRI technology, the pay rises further. BLS May 2025 OEWS data shows MRI technologists in New York earn a median of $113,270, with the top quarter earning $125,740 or more. The 90th percentile reaches $133,420. Specializing in MRI is one of the most direct ways to increase your earnings after you complete your radiography training.
Comparing all 28 accredited radiography programs
The table below covers every JRCERT-accredited radiography program in New York. Tuition figures are annual or total program cost as reported to JRCERT. Pass rate refers to first-attempt ARRT board exam pass rate. Placement rate is the percentage of graduates who found employment. Completion rate is the percentage of students who finished the program.
| Institution | Location | Length (months) | Resident tuition | Completion rate | Exam pass rate | Job placement rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alfred State College | Alfred | 24 | $7,070 | 75% | 72% | 100% |
| Arnot-Ogden Medical Center | Elmira | 23 | $16,976 | 100% | 96% | 100% |
| Bellevue Hospital Center | New York | 24 | $7,500 | 87% | 86% | 91% |
| Bronx Community College (CUNY) | Bronx | 24 | $4,500 | 83% | 83% | 97% |
| Center for Allied Health Education | Brooklyn | 22 | $28,350 | 95% | 82% | 97% |
| Champlain Valley Physicians Hospital Medical Center | Plattsburgh | 24 | $9,600 | 100% | 86% | 100% |
| Fulton Montgomery Community College | Johnstown | 21 | $2,760 | 80% | 97% | 100% |
| Hostos Community College (CUNY) | Bronx | 24 | $5,210 | 69% | 96% | 100% |
| Hudson Valley Community College | Troy | 21 | $2,528 | 79% | 92% | 100% |
| Hunter Business School | Levittown | 16 | $38,360 | 100% | 100% | N/A |
| Long Island University, Post Campus | Brookville | 21 | $43,126 | 82% | 96% | 100% |
| Manhattanville University | Purchase | 24 | $44,180 | 86% | N/A | N/A |
| Mercy Hospital | Rockville Centre | 23 | $8,500 | 100% | 96% | 100% |
| Mohawk Valley Community College | Utica | 22 | $5,372 | 95% | 82% | 100% |
| Monroe Community College | Rochester | 21 | $5,200 | 93% | 94% | 93% |
| Mount Sinai South Nassau | Oceanside | 24 | $8,500 | 100% | 98% | 100% |
| New York City College of Technology | Brooklyn | 24 | $6,030 | 83% | 87% | 98% |
| Orange County Community College | Middletown | 24 | $9,933 | 100% | 92% | 100% |
| Peconic Bay Medical Center / Northwell Health System | Riverhead | 24 | $10,500 | 100% | 100% | 100% |
| Rochester General College of Health Careers | Rochester | 18 | $34,000 | N/A | N/A | N/A |
| SUNY Niagara | Sanborn | 24 | $5,232 | 59% | 78% | 97% |
| SUNY Upstate Medical University | Syracuse | 21 | $10,605 | 100% | 87% | 100% |
| SUNY Westchester Community College | Valhalla | 24 | $5,374 | 89% | 86% | 100% |
| St. John’s University | Queens | 45 | $53,980 | 81% | 94% | 100% |
| Touro University | New York | 22 | $22,275 | 85% | 72% | 98% |
| Trocaire College | Buffalo | 21 | $19,460 | 66% | 85% | 99% |
| UPMC Chautauqua WCA | Jamestown | 22 | $4,500 | 88% | 81% | 100% |
| Western Suffolk BOCES | Northport | 24 | $34,950 | 100% | 97% | 100% |
N/A means the program did not report that figure to JRCERT at the time this data was collected.
How to read the numbers in the table
Exam pass rate
The exam pass rate tells you what percentage of graduates passed the ARRT board exam on their first attempt. This matters because you cannot work as a registered radiologic technologist until you pass. A higher pass rate suggests the program prepares students well for the exam. Rates across New York programs range from 72% to 100%. Peconic Bay Medical Center and Hunter Business School both report 100% first-attempt pass rates, though Hunter Business School did not report a job placement figure. Mount Sinai South Nassau reports a 98% pass rate and 100% job placement with a 24-student program cap, which reflects a highly selective clinical setting.
Completion rate
The completion rate tells you how many students who start the program actually finish it. A low completion rate can mean the program is academically demanding, that students leave for personal or financial reasons, or both. SUNY Niagara reports a 59% completion rate, the lowest in the state. Several programs report 100%. If you are balancing work or family alongside school, pay close attention to this number. It tells you something about the real difficulty of finishing, not just starting.
Job placement rate
Most programs in New York report placement rates of 97% to 100%. That reflects strong demand for radiologic technologists across the state. Bellevue Hospital Center is the only program in this list reporting a placement rate below 95%, at 91%. Even that figure reflects a market where the large majority of graduates find work.
Program length
Programs in New York run from 16 months to 45 months. Hunter Business School in Levittown is the shortest at 16 months. St. John’s University in Queens runs 45 months because it awards a bachelor’s degree rather than an associate degree or certificate. Most programs fall between 21 and 24 months. A shorter program gets you into the workforce faster, but a bachelor’s degree from a program like St. John’s may open more doors for advancement later.
Tuition: the range is wide
Resident tuition across these programs spans from $2,528 at Hudson Valley Community College in Troy to $53,980 per year at St. John’s University in Queens. That gap is large enough to matter significantly over the course of a program.
The most affordable programs in the state for resident students are:
- Hudson Valley Community College in Troy: $2,528
- Fulton Montgomery Community College in Johnstown: $2,760
- Bronx Community College (CUNY) in the Bronx: $4,500
- UPMC Chautauqua WCA in Jamestown: $4,500
- Monroe Community College in Rochester: $5,200
Several hospital-based programs charge the same rate regardless of residency. Bellevue Hospital Center, Mercy Hospital, Mount Sinai South Nassau, Peconic Bay Medical Center, and UPMC Chautauqua WCA all charge a single tuition rate for all students. That makes them straightforward to budget for.
Private and university-based programs cost significantly more. Long Island University Post Campus charges $43,126, Manhattanville University charges $44,180, and St. John’s University charges $53,980. Whether that cost is worth it depends on your goals. St. John’s awards a bachelor’s degree, which can matter for career advancement. The community college programs award associate degrees, which are sufficient for entry-level employment and ARRT certification.
Choosing a program based on where you live
New York City and the boroughs
If you live in or near the city, you have the most options. Bronx Community College, Hostos Community College, Bellevue Hospital Center, New York City College of Technology, and Touro University all operate in or immediately around the five boroughs. Tuition at the CUNY schools is among the lowest in the state. Clinical training at these programs runs through major medical centers including Montefiore, New York-Presbyterian, NYU Langone, and Memorial Sloan Kettering.
Long Island
Long Island has several strong options. Hunter Business School in Levittown, Mercy Hospital in Rockville Centre, Mount Sinai South Nassau in Oceanside, and Western Suffolk BOCES in Northport all serve this region. Peconic Bay Medical Center in Riverhead covers the east end of the island. The Northwell Health system appears as a clinical partner at multiple Long Island programs, giving you exposure to one of the largest hospital networks in the state.
Westchester and the Hudson Valley
SUNY Westchester Community College in Valhalla and Manhattanville University in Purchase serve the Westchester area. Orange County Community College in Middletown covers the lower Hudson Valley. These programs place students at clinical sites including Westchester Medical Center, White Plains Hospital, and Vassar Brothers Medical Center in Poughkeepsie.
Upstate New York
Upstate has more programs than many people expect. Alfred State College, Monroe Community College, Rochester General College of Health Careers, and SUNY Upstate Medical University all serve the western and central parts of the state. Hudson Valley Community College and Fulton Montgomery Community College cover the Capital Region. Mohawk Valley Community College serves the Utica area. SUNY Niagara and Trocaire College in Buffalo serve the western tip of the state. Champlain Valley Physicians Hospital Medical Center is the only program in the North Country, based in Plattsburgh near the Canadian border.
What clinical training looks like in New York programs
Every program requires clinical hours alongside classroom work. In New York, clinical sites include teaching hospitals, community hospitals, outpatient imaging centers, orthopedic practices, urgent care centers, and specialty facilities. The range of sites at larger programs is substantial. Center for Allied Health Education in Brooklyn lists over 50 clinical partners across the metro area. Alfred State College in the Southern Tier lists clinical sites spread across a wide geographic area including Cooperstown, Rochester, and even Long Island.
Pay attention to where a program’s clinical sites are located relative to where you live. If you cannot easily travel to the clinical placement, that creates a practical problem that tuition rates alone will not solve.
Some programs have a small number of highly focused clinical sites. Bellevue Hospital Center trains exclusively at Bellevue Hospital in Manhattan. Mount Sinai South Nassau uses five clinical sites, all on Long Island. UPMC Chautauqua WCA uses three sites, one of which is in Erie, Pennsylvania. Smaller site networks mean more consistent training in one environment, which some students find easier to manage.
Programs with evening, weekend, or distance options
Most radiography programs require daytime availability for clinical rotations. However, a small number of New York programs offer some alternative scheduling. Center for Allied Health Education in Brooklyn lists distance education, evening, and weekend options. Hunter Business School in Levittown lists distance education. If your schedule requires flexibility, these are the programs to look at first, but confirm exactly which parts of the program can be completed remotely and which require on-site attendance before you apply.
Related imaging and therapy programs in New York
If you complete a radiography program and want to advance your career, several JRCERT-accredited programs in New York offer training in related specialties. These are separate programs, not part of your radiography training. They are listed here as career progression options once you hold your radiography credential.
Radiation therapy programs
Radiation therapists work as part of cancer treatment teams. They operate equipment that delivers targeted radiation to tumors. Five JRCERT-accredited radiation therapy programs operate in New York:
- Center for Allied Health Education in Brooklyn offers a 22-month radiation therapy program with distance education options. Resident tuition is $59,500. The program reports a 100% completion rate, 94% exam pass rate, and 100% job placement rate. Clinical sites span the New York metro area and Long Island.
- Manhattan University in Riverdale runs a 48-month program, the longest in the state for this credential. Tuition is $75,910 for residents. Clinical sites include Montefiore Medical Center, NYU Langone Brooklyn, and Westchester Medical Center.
- Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center in Manhattan offers a 22-month program with a resident tuition of $5,000. It reports a 100% completion rate, 100% exam pass rate, and 100% job placement rate. This program trains exclusively within the Memorial Sloan Kettering system, one of the leading cancer centers in the country.
- Nassau Community College in Garden City runs a 24-month program with resident tuition of $5,800. It reports a 91% completion rate, 83% exam pass rate, and 100% job placement rate.
- SUNY Erie Community College (City Campus) in Buffalo offers a 24-month program with resident tuition of $5,200 and a distance education option. It reports an 83% completion rate, 96% exam pass rate, and 100% job placement rate.
- SUNY Upstate Medical University in Syracuse runs a 21-month radiation therapy program with resident tuition of $10,605 and a distance education option. It reports a 100% completion rate, 94% exam pass rate, and 100% job placement rate.
Medical dosimetry program
Medical dosimetrists calculate the precise radiation doses used in cancer treatment. They work closely with radiation oncologists and radiation therapists. Center for Allied Health Education in Brooklyn offers a 21-month JRCERT-accredited medical dosimetry program with distance education available. Resident and non-resident tuition is $28,650. Clinical sites include Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center and NYU Langone Hospital on Long Island. This program holds a 3-year JRCERT accreditation term. Admission typically requires prior experience as a registered radiation therapist or radiation therapist, so this is a second-step credential rather than an entry point.
BLS May 2025 OEWS data shows MRI technologists in New York earn a median of $113,270 per year. While MRI is not a separate JRCERT-accredited program at the entry level, many employers provide on-the-job MRI training to experienced radiologic technologists. Completing a radiography program and gaining ARRT certification is the standard starting point for that career path.
Steps to apply to a radiography program in New York
The application process varies by program type. Community college programs generally require a high school diploma or GED, certain science prerequisites, and in some cases a separate health sciences program application in addition to the general college application. Hospital-based programs like Arnot-Ogden Medical Center, Bellevue Hospital Center, Champlain Valley Physicians Hospital, and UPMC Chautauqua WCA run their own admissions processes directly through the hospital’s education department.
Common requirements across most programs include:
- High school diploma or equivalency
- College-level anatomy and physiology (for many programs)
- Background check and drug screening (required for clinical placement)
- Health clearance, including vaccination records
- CPR certification before clinical rotations begin
Program capacity in New York ranges from 16 seats per year at Arnot-Ogden Medical Center to 200 at Center for Allied Health Education. Programs with small cohorts tend to have more competition for spots. Apply early and confirm each program’s specific deadline directly with the institution.
Explore programs and take the next step
Use the table above to narrow your list based on cost, location, pass rate, and program length. Then visit each program’s page directly to confirm current admission requirements and application deadlines. The programs with verified links in this listing connect directly to their program pages, so you can get accurate information straight from the institution.
BLS May 2025 OEWS data places the median salary for radiologic technologists in New York at $98,470. That figure is waiting for graduates who complete one of these accredited programs and pass the ARRT exam. The first step is picking a program that fits your schedule, budget, and location.