Pennsylvania – How to Become a Radiologic Technologist
There are many reasons to consider pursuing a radiologic technologist career in the state of Pennsylvania.
(Leer esta información en español)
Like the rest of the US, this state’s overall population is aging, leading to increased demand for medical professionals to care for them, including those qualified in the field of radiology.
This national need for radiologic technologists is estimated to continue to grow, with new jobs increasing by as much as 6% in the ten years to 2031 – that’s about twice as fast as the average for other professions in the same timeframe.
Duties of a Radiologic Technologist
A radiologic technologist’s primary role is to use sophisticated imaging and radiographic equipment to take pictures of the inside of a patient’s body.
These images, known as radiographs or X-rays, are used to diagnose and treat various medical conditions.
Computed tomography (CT) scans, magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), and mammography are other tests a radiologic technologist may be asked to administer.
In Pennsylvania, the most common settings for this profession are medical offices, hospitals, and imaging centers.
Radiology Requirements in Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania radiologic technologists are required to carry a state license to practice in the field. To become certified and earn their license, working radiologic technologists may either pass the state certification exam or, like 36 other states, pass the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) certification exam. No license renewal is required to date, and continuing education is not mandatory in this state.
Radiologic Technology Schools in Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania has more JRCERT-accredited radiography programs than any other state in the Mid-Atlantic region, with 28 active programs spread from Erie in the northwest to Philadelphia in the southeast. The state’s median wage for radiologic technologists sits at $76,050 according to BLS May 2025 OEWS data, placing Pennsylvania solidly above the national median for the occupation. In the state of Pennsylvania, aspiring radiologic technologists have many education programs to choose from, including joint hospital certificate programs and 2- and 4-year colleges and universities. There are currently 28 institutions with radiography programs that have earned their accreditation status through the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiology Technology (JRCERT).
Clinical education and internships are typically required at all institutions to gain experience and become a licensed radiologic technologist. Ultimately, the path taken to become a radiologic technologist in Pennsylvania is up to the individual and their determination to succeed. With proper education, training, and licensing, a career in radiology can be an incredibly rewarding one.
Large Employers in Radiology
Rad techs can work in imaging centers, hospitals, physician offices, and other medical facilities.
There are dozens of major healthcare centers in the state of Pennsylvania, and all employ radiological technologists. Most of the state’s major hospitals are concentrated in and around cities such as Pittsburgh and Philadelphia, but many smaller institutions such as mobile clinics and family practices hire radiology professionals as well and are found in both urban and rural areas.
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, Pittsburgh
200 Lothrop Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15213-2585
(412) 647-2345
Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia
3400 Spruce Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104-4206
(215) 662-4000
Thomas Jefferson University Hospital, Philadelphia
132 South 10th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107-5096
(215) 955-6000
Magee-Womens Hospital of UPMC, Pittsburgh
300 Halket Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15213-3108
(412) 641-1000
Lehigh Valley Hospital, Allentown
1200 South Cedar Crest Boulevard
Allentown, PA 18105-6248
(610) 402-8000
Allegheny General Hospital, Pittsburgh
320 East North Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15212-4756
(412) 359-3131
Penn Presbyterian Medical Center, Philadelphia
51 North 39th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104-2699
(215) 662-8000
Pennsylvania Radiography Program Listings
All 28 programs below hold JRCERT accreditation. Completion rate, ARRT exam pass rate, and job placement rate come directly from JRCERT program data. Tuition figures reflect total program cost as reported to JRCERT and may not include fees, books, or clinical supplies. Three programs currently hold probationary accreditation status, which is noted in each listing.
Bradford Regional Medical Center / Upper Allegheny Health System
Location: Bradford, PA 16701
Program Length: 24 months
Tuition: $7,000 (resident and non-resident)
Completion Rate: 100%
ARRT Exam Pass Rate: 76%
Job Placement Rate: 100%
Accreditation: 8 Years
Clinical Sites: Bradford Regional Medical Center, Olean General Hospital, Penn Highlands Clearfield, Penn Highlands Elk, UPMC Cole, UPMC Kane, Warren General Hospital, and others across northwest Pennsylvania and western New York.
Bucks County Community College
Location: Bristol, PA 19007
Program Length: 24 months
Tuition: $5,568 (resident) / $9,648 (non-resident)
Completion Rate: 95%
ARRT Exam Pass Rate: 73%
Job Placement Rate: 99%
Accreditation Status: Probation
Clinical Sites: Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, Doylestown Hospital, Jefferson Abington, Jefferson Bucks Hospital, Jefferson Torresdale Hospital, St. Mary Medical Center, and 11 additional sites across Bucks and Philadelphia counties.
Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania – Mansfield Campus
Location: Sayre, PA 18840
Program Length: 24 months
Tuition: $7,994 (resident) / $19,986 (non-resident)
Completion Rate: 100%
ARRT Exam Pass Rate: 97%
Job Placement Rate: 100%
Accreditation: 8 Years
Clinical Sites: Guthrie Troy Community Hospital, Robert Packer Hospital.
Community College of Philadelphia
Location: Philadelphia, PA 19130
Program Length: 24 months
Tuition: $11,628 (resident) / $23,256 (non-resident)
Completion Rate: 95%
ARRT Exam Pass Rate: 100%
Job Placement Rate: 100%
Accreditation: 8 Years
Clinical Sites: Bryn Mawr Hospital, Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, Corporal Michael J. Crescenz VA Medical Center, Jefferson Frankford Hospital, Lankenau Medical Center, Penn Medicine – Pennsylvania Hospital, Riddle Hospital, and 7 additional sites.
DLP Conemaugh Memorial Medical Center, LLC
Location: Johnstown, PA 15905
Program Length: 21 months
Tuition: $9,958 (resident and non-resident)
Completion Rate: 93%
ARRT Exam Pass Rate: 71%
Job Placement Rate: 100%
Accreditation Status: Probation
Clinical Sites: DLP Conemaugh Memorial Medical Center, Conemaugh Miners Medical Center, Nason Medical Center, UPMC Somerset, and 4 additional sites.
Einstein Medical Center Philadelphia / Jefferson Health
Location: Philadelphia, PA 19141
Program Length: 23 months
Tuition: $9,250 (resident; non-resident rate not reported)
Completion Rate: 82%
ARRT Exam Pass Rate: 95%
Job Placement Rate: 100%
Accreditation: 8 Years
Clinical Sites: Albert Einstein Medical Center, Einstein Center One, Einstein Healthcare Network Collegeville and King of Prussia, Einstein Medical Center Montgomery, Jefferson Abington Hospital, Thomas Jefferson University Hospital, and 3 additional sites.
Gannon University
Location: Erie, PA 16541
Program Length: 24 months
Tuition: $42,450 (resident and non-resident)
Completion Rate: 100%
ARRT Exam Pass Rate: 88%
Job Placement Rate: 100%
Accreditation: 8 Years
Clinical Sites: AHN St. Vincent Imaging Center East, Meadville Medical Center, Millcreek Community Hospital, Saint Vincent Hospital, UPMC Hamot, and 12 additional sites across the Erie region.
Geisinger Medical Center
Location: Danville, PA 17822
Program Length: 24 months
Tuition: $17,500 (resident) / $48,225 (non-resident)
Completion Rate: 100%
ARRT Exam Pass Rate: 91%
Job Placement Rate: 100%
Accreditation: 8 Years
Clinical Sites: Geisinger Medical Center, Geisinger Community Medical Center (Scranton), Geisinger Bloomsburg Hospital, Geisinger Wyoming Valley, Geisinger Steamtown, and 5 additional system sites.
Harcum College
Location: Bryn Mawr, PA 19010
Program Length: 24 months
Tuition: $33,200 (resident and non-resident)
Completion Rate: 100%
ARRT Exam Pass Rate: 72%
Job Placement Rate: 100%
Accreditation: 8 Years
Clinical Sites: Chester County Hospital, Holy Redeemer Hospital, Mercy Fitzgerald Hospital, Nazareth Hospital, Nemours Children’s Hospital, Thomas Jefferson University Hospital, and 15 additional sites across the Philadelphia suburbs.
Harrisburg Area Community College (Lancaster Campus)
Location: Lancaster, PA 17602
Program Length: 19 months
Tuition: $17,981 (resident) / $25,763 (non-resident)
Completion Rate: 89%
ARRT Exam Pass Rate: 89%
Job Placement Rate: 99%
Accreditation: 8 Years
Clinical Sites: UPMC Harrisburg, UPMC West Shore, Penn State Health Holy Spirit Medical Center, WellSpan Chambersburg Hospital, WellSpan Ephrata Community Hospital, Lebanon VA Medical Center, and more than 30 additional sites.
Holy Family University
Location: Philadelphia, PA 19114
Program Length: 20 months
Tuition: $35,100 (resident and non-resident)
Completion Rate: 76%
ARRT Exam Pass Rate: 78%
Job Placement Rate: 98%
Accreditation: 8 Years
Clinical Sites: Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, Corporal Michael J. Crescenz VA Medical Center, Jeanes Hospital, Jefferson Health Frankford, Jefferson Torresdale Hospital, Penn Medicine, Roxborough Memorial Hospital, Temple University Hospital, and 15 additional sites.
Jameson Hospital – North Campus / UPMC Jameson
Location: New Castle, PA 16105
Program Length: 22 months
Tuition: $5,000 (resident and non-resident)
Completion Rate: 100%
ARRT Exam Pass Rate: 97%
Job Placement Rate: 100%
Accreditation: 8 Years
Clinical Sites: Jameson Hospital North Campus, UPMC Greenville Medical Center, UPMC Horizon Greenville and Shenango Valley, UPMC Westgate Outpatient Center.
Johnson College
Location: Scranton, PA 18508
Program Length: 22 months
Tuition: $19,400 (resident and non-resident)
Completion Rate: 93%
ARRT Exam Pass Rate: 84%
Job Placement Rate: 100%
Accreditation: 5 Years
Clinical Sites: Geisinger Community Medical Center, Geisinger Wyoming Valley, Geisinger South Wilkes-Barre, Lehigh Valley Hospital, Moses Taylor Hospital, Regional Hospital of Scranton, Wayne Memorial Hospital, and 10 additional sites.
Misericordia University
Location: Dallas, PA 18612
Program Length: 45 months (bachelor’s-level program)
Tuition: $38,400 (resident and non-resident)
Completion Rate: 90%
ARRT Exam Pass Rate: 82%
Job Placement Rate: 100%
Accreditation: 8 Years
Clinical Sites: Geisinger Wyoming Valley, Geisinger Community Medical Center, Moses Taylor Hospital, Regional Hospital of Scranton, Wilkes-Barre General Hospital, Lehigh Valley Health Network-Hazleton, Wayne Memorial Hospital, and more than 20 additional sites.
Montgomery County Community College
Location: Blue Bell, PA 19422
Program Length: 21 months
Tuition: $16,100 (resident) / $41,400 (non-resident)
Completion Rate: 85%
ARRT Exam Pass Rate: 97%
Job Placement Rate: 98%
Accreditation: 8 Years
Clinical Sites: Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia – King of Prussia, Doylestown Hospital, Jefferson Einstein Montgomery Hospital, Pottstown Memorial Medical Center, Temple University Hospital, VA Medical Center Coatesville, and 19 additional sites.
Mount Aloysius College
Location: Cresson, PA 16630
Program Length: Not reported to JRCERT
Tuition: $13,453 (resident and non-resident)
Completion Rate: 55%
ARRT Exam Pass Rate: 91%
Job Placement Rate: 97%
Accreditation: 3 Years
Note: The 55% completion rate is well below the Pennsylvania program average. Prospective students should ask the program directly about attrition factors before enrolling.
Clinical Sites: UPMC Altoona, Indiana Regional Medical Center, Penn Highlands Dubois, Penn Highlands Clearfield, Penn Highlands Elk, James E. Van Zandt VA Medical Center, and 20 additional sites across central Pennsylvania.
Northampton Community College
Location: Bethlehem, PA 18020
Program Length: 21 months
Tuition: $6,240 (resident) / $10,127 (non-resident)
Completion Rate: 93%
ARRT Exam Pass Rate: 83%
Job Placement Rate: 100%
Accreditation: 5 Years
Clinical Sites: Lehigh Valley Hospital-Cedar Crest, Lehigh Valley Hospital-Muhlenberg, Lehigh Valley Hospital-Pocono, St. Luke’s Hospital Bethlehem Campus, St. Luke’s Hospital Easton Campus, St. Luke’s Hospital Monroe Campus, Grand View Hospital, and 16 additional sites.
Pennsylvania College of Technology
Location: Williamsport, PA 17701
Program Length: 24 months
Tuition: $13,984 (resident) / $19,918 (non-resident)
Completion Rate: 85%
ARRT Exam Pass Rate: 96%
Job Placement Rate: 99%
Accreditation: 8 Years
Clinical Sites: Geisinger Medical Center, Geisinger Jersey Shore Hospital, Mount Nittany Medical Center, UPMC Williamsport, UPMC Wellsboro, WellSpan Evangelical Community Hospital, and 11 additional sites.
Pennsylvania State University – New Kensington Campus
Location: New Kensington, PA 15068
Program Length: 24 months
Tuition: $18,121 (resident) / $31,143 (non-resident)
Completion Rate: 89%
ARRT Exam Pass Rate: 81%
Job Placement Rate: 100%
Accreditation: 8 Years
Clinical Sites: Allegheny General Hospital, Butler Hospital, Forbes Hospital, Jefferson Hospital, UPMC East, UPMC Shadyside, UPMC St. Margaret, Western Pennsylvania Hospital, Wexford Health Wellness Pavilion.
Pennsylvania State University – Schuylkill Haven Campus
Location: Schuylkill Haven, PA 17972
Program Length: 24 months
Tuition: $19,162 (resident) / $32,811 (non-resident)
Completion Rate: 92%
ARRT Exam Pass Rate: 83%
Job Placement Rate: 100%
Accreditation: 8 Years
Clinical Sites: Penn State Health Milton S. Hershey Medical Center, Penn State Health St. Joseph, Lehigh Valley Hospital Schuylkill, Geisinger St. Luke’s Hospital, WellSpan Good Samaritan Hospital, and 13 additional sites.
South College – Pittsburgh
Location: Cranberry Township, PA 16066
Program Length: 18 months
Tuition: $29,300 (resident and non-resident)
Completion Rate: 67%
ARRT Exam Pass Rate: Not reported to JRCERT
Job Placement Rate: Not reported to JRCERT
Accreditation: 3 Years
Alternative Learning: Distance Education available
Note: This program has a 3-year accreditation cycle rather than the standard 8 years. The completion rate of 67% and absence of pass rate and placement data warrant direct follow-up with the program before applying.
Clinical Sites: AHN Allegheny General Hospital, UPMC Children’s Hospital, UPMC Mercy Hospital, UPMC Presbyterian Hospital, UPMC Shadyside Hospital, St. Clair Hospital, and 23 additional sites across the Pittsburgh metro.
St. Christopher’s Hospital for Children
Location: Philadelphia, PA 19134
Program Length: 23 months
Tuition: $10,999 (resident; non-resident rate not reported)
Completion Rate: 100%
ARRT Exam Pass Rate: 65%
Job Placement Rate: 82%
Accreditation Status: Probation
Note: This program’s exam pass rate is the lowest among Pennsylvania’s accredited programs, and its job placement rate falls below every other program in the state. Its probationary accreditation status reflects these concerns. Prospective students should ask detailed questions before applying.
Clinical Sites: St. Christopher’s Hospital for Children, Chestnut Hill Hospital, Shriners Hospital for Children, Temple University Hospital.
St. Joseph – Lancaster Campus
Location: Lancaster, PA 17601
Program Length: 21 months
Tuition: $24,000 (resident; non-resident rate not reported)
Completion Rate: 96%
ARRT Exam Pass Rate: 79%
Job Placement Rate: 100%
Accreditation: 8 Years
Clinical Sites: Lancaster General Hospital, Penn State Health Lancaster Medical Center, Chester County Hospital, WellSpan Good Samaritan Hospital, Women’s and Babies Hospital, Memorial Hospital York, and 19 additional sites.
Thomas Jefferson University
Location: Philadelphia, PA 19107
Program Length: 12 months (post-associate completion program)
Tuition: $48,022 (resident and non-resident)
Completion Rate: 100%
ARRT Exam Pass Rate: 78%
Job Placement Rate: 100%
Accreditation: 8 Years
Note: At 12 months, this is the shortest radiography program in Pennsylvania. Verify entry requirements directly with the program, as short programs of this type typically require prior college credit or clinical experience.
Clinical Sites: Thomas Jefferson University Hospital, Bryn Mawr Hospital, Lankenau Hospital, Abington Memorial Hospital, Taylor Hospital.
Tower Health / Reading Hospital
Location: Reading, PA 19612
Program Length: 27 months
Tuition: $15,500 (resident and non-resident)
Completion Rate: 33%
ARRT Exam Pass Rate: 96%
Job Placement Rate: 100%
Accreditation: 8 Years
Note: The 33% completion rate is the lowest of any program in Pennsylvania with full 8-year accreditation. Students who do complete this program pass the ARRT exam at a high rate and find employment. Ask the program specifically about attrition before enrolling.
Clinical Sites: Reading Hospital, The Reading Hospital at Spring Ridge, Reading Hospital Imaging at Gateway, Tower Health Urgent Care sites throughout Berks County.
UPMC Northwest
Location: Seneca, PA 16346
Program Length: 23 months
Tuition: $5,000 (resident and non-resident)
Completion Rate: 100%
ARRT Exam Pass Rate: 95%
Job Placement Rate: 100%
Accreditation: 8 Years
Clinical Sites: UPMC Northwest, UPMC Hamot, Grove City Medical Center, Titusville Area Hospital, Orthopedic and Sports Medicine Associates.
Widener University
Location: Chester, PA 19013
Program Length: 24 months
Tuition: $32,850 (resident and non-resident)
Completion Rate: 100%
ARRT Exam Pass Rate: 86%
Job Placement Rate: 100%
Accreditation: 8 Years
Clinical Sites: Bryn Mawr Hospital, Lankenau Medical Center, Main Line Health Riddle Memorial Hospital, Paoli Hospital, Nemours/Alfred I. duPont Hospital for Children, Cooper University Hospital, and 15 additional sites including New Jersey and Delaware locations.
York Hospital / WellSpan Health
Location: York, PA 17403
Program Length: 23 months
Tuition: $10,500 (resident and non-resident)
Completion Rate: 100%
ARRT Exam Pass Rate: 100%
Job Placement Rate: 100%
Accreditation: 8 Years
Clinical Sites: York Hospital, Gettysburg Hospital, WellSpan Surgery and Rehab Hospital, WellSpan Orthopedics Apple Hill, York Hospital Imaging Center, and 5 additional WellSpan sites.
Pennsylvania Radiology Program Comparison Table
The table below covers all 28 JRCERT-accredited radiography programs in Pennsylvania. Programs are sorted by ARRT exam pass rate. Tuition reflects total program cost as reported to JRCERT. Where non-resident tuition differs, both figures appear.
| Institution | Length | Resident Tuition | Completion Rate | ARRT Pass Rate | Placement Rate | Accreditation | Evening/Weekend |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bradford Regional Medical Center/Upper Allegheny Health System | 24 mo. | $7,000 | 100% | 76% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Bucks County CC | 24 mo. | $5,568 | 95% | 73% | 99% | On probation | No |
| Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania-Mansfield Campus | 24 mo. | $7,994 | 100% | 97% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| CC of Allegheny County | 24 mo. | $4,580 | 100% | 92% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| CC of Philadelphia | 24 mo. | $11,628 | 95% | 100% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| DLP Conemaugh Memorial Medical Center, LLC | 21 mo. | $9,958 | 93% | 71% | 100% | On probation | No |
| Einstein Medical Center Philadelphia/Jefferson Health | 23 mo. | $9,250 | 82% | 95% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Gannon University | 24 mo. | $42,450 | 100% | 88% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Geisinger Medical Center | 24 mo. | $17,500 | 100% | 91% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Harcum College | 24 mo. | $33,200 | 100% | 72% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Harrisburg Area CC | 19 mo. | $17,981 | 89% | 89% | 99% | 8 Years | No |
| Holy Family University | 20 mo. | $35,100 | 76% | 78% | 98% | 8 Years | No |
| Jameson Hospital – North Campus/UPMC Jameson | 22 mo. | $5,000 | 100% | 97% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Johnson College | 22 mo. | $19,400 | 93% | 84% | 100% | 5 Years | No |
| Misericordia University | 45 mo. | $38,400 | 90% | 82% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Montgomery County CC | 21 mo. | $16,100 | 85% | 97% | 98% | 8 Years | No |
| Mount Aloysius College | n/a | $13,453 | 55% | 91% | 97% | 3 Years | No |
| Northampton CC | 21 mo. | $6,240 | 93% | 83% | 100% | 5 Years | No |
| Pennsylvania College of Technology | 24 mo. | $13,984 | 85% | 96% | 99% | 8 Years | No |
| Pennsylvania State University – New Kensington Campus | 24 mo. | $18,121 | 89% | 81% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Pennsylvania State University – Schuylkill Haven Campus | 24 mo. | $19,162 | 92% | 83% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| South College – Pittsburgh | 18 mo. | $29,300 | 67% | n/a | n/a | 3 Years | No |
| St. Christopher’s Hospital for Children | 23 mo. | $10,999 | 100% | 65% | 82% | On probation | No |
| St. Joseph-Lancaster Campus | 21 mo. | $24,000 | 96% | 79% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Thomas Jefferson University | 12 mo. | $48,022 | 100% | 75% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Thomas Jefferson University | 12 mo. | $48,122 | 100% | 77% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Thomas Jefferson University | 12 mo. | $48,022 | 100% | 78% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Thomas Jefferson University | 12 mo. | $48,022 | 100% | 90% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Tower Health/Reading Hospital | 27 mo. | $15,500 | 33% | 96% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| UPMC Northwest | 23 mo. | $5,000 | 100% | 95% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Widener University | 24 mo. | $32,850 | 100% | 86% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| York Hospital/WellSpan Health | 23 mo. | $10,500 | 100% | 100% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
Note on accreditation: 3 of the 32 programmes listed above are currently on probation with the JRCERT. Probation means the programme is accredited but has been found not to meet one or more standards, and is being monitored. Ask the programme directly what the finding was and what has changed since. Status is taken from the JRCERT accreditation database.
Professional Organizations
Working radiologic technology professionals in Pennsylvania are encouraged to join a local organization such as the Pennsylvania Society of Radiologic Technologists (PSRT), which offers its members exclusive job listings, network opportunities, and career support.
The joint review committee on education in radiologic technology (JRCERT) is the sole agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education to accredit formal educational programs in Radiography, Radiation Therapy, Magnetic Resonance Imaging, and Medical Dosimetry. JRCERT also provides other resources such as a comprehensive database of accredited schools and program statistics on each school.
The American Registry of radiology technologists (ARRT) is the largest credentialing organization in the world. ARRT certification and registration are voluntary, but they are widely sought after by employers as an indication of a qualified, professional radiologic technologist.
For additional information on the radiological technology profession, prospective students should reference the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology (JRCERT).