Radiology Training in Virginia

As the population in the U.S. grows, the demand for skilled radiologic technicians will continue to increase, along with the demand for all types of healthcare workers.

(Leer esta información en español)

Radiologic technicians and technologists work in hospitals and medical centers, large and small assisting with diagnostics, treatments, and imaging tools.

Across the country, the number of jobs available in this field is expected to grow by 12 percent over the next decade. This is two times faster than the average for all jobs. Virginia is a populous state with many opportunities for radiologic technologists. Already, almost 5,000 people are working in this field in the state.

Tell us about yourself so we can find programs near you.




 

Radiologic Technology Schools in Virginia

For anyone hoping to earn a certificate or degree in an area of radiologic technology, there are many choices in Virginia. The community college system of the state, in particular, offers opportunities in several locations.

  • Virginia’s Community Colleges. There are several community college campuses in the state, and many offer degrees in radiology fields. Northern Virginia, Piedmont, Tidewater, Virginia Highlands, Virginia Western, and Wytheville Community Colleges all offer an Associate of Applied Science degree in radiography. Central Virginia Community College has an associate degree in radiologic technology.
  • Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond. For those looking for a more intensive course of study, VCU offers a four-year program in clinical radiation sciences. The degree program prepares students for jobs as radiologic technologists, nuclear medicine assistants, radiographers, and radiation therapists. The coursework includes hands-on experience in a clinical setting.

Those living in the south of the State of Virginia, may want to consider their options in schools in North Carolina, with the Raleigh to Greensboro area certainly offering some alternatives. Up north, there are also sound alternatives in West Virginia and Maryland.

Large Employers in Radiology

Virginia is a large state with a big population, which means that there are plenty of hospitals and medical centers hiring radiologic technicians and technologists.

Centra Bedford Memorial Hospital
1613 Oakwood St.
Bedford, VA 24523

St. Mary’s Hospital
5801 Bremo Road
Richmond, VA 23226

Children’s Hospital of Richmond
2924 Brook Road
Richmond, VA 23220

Dominion Hospital
2960 Sleepy Hollow Road
Falls Church, VA 22044

Accredited Radiology Tech Programs in Virginia: What You Need to Know in 2026

Virginia licenses radiologic technologists through the Virginia Board of Medicine, a requirement that sets it apart from the handful of states that still rely on voluntary certification alone. With 17 JRCERT-accredited radiography programs spread from Virginia Beach to Cedar Bluff, the state gives prospective students genuine choice across program types, price points, and clinical environments. Understanding how those programs differ – and what the Virginia job market actually pays – makes the decision considerably easier.

Virginia Radiologic Technologist Salary and Job Market

According to BLS May 2025 OEWS data, Virginia employs 5,140 radiologic technologists and technicians (SOC 29-2034). The median annual wage is $80,670, with a mean of $83,160. The spread across the earnings distribution tells a more useful story:

  • 10th percentile: $60,000
  • 25th percentile: $71,430
  • Median (50th percentile): $80,670
  • 75th percentile: $95,870
  • 90th percentile: $106,170

Where you work in Virginia matters as much as what you earn. A technologist earning the state median in the Northern Virginia suburbs of Washington, D.C., operates in one of the highest cost-of-living metro areas in the country. That same salary in Danville or Harrisonburg carries considerably more purchasing power. Programs in Southwest Virginia and the Shenandoah Valley often produce graduates who fill positions in rural and community hospitals where demand is steady and competition for openings is lower.

Career Progression into MRI and Radiation Therapy

Radiography is frequently a starting point rather than a final destination. Virginia’s MRI technologists (SOC 29-2035) earn a median of $98,640, with top earners at the 90th percentile reaching $121,940, according to the same BLS May 2025 OEWS data. That gap of roughly $18,000 at the median represents what additional ARRT specialty certification and experience can add to a base radiography salary. Radiation therapy, discussed further below, follows a similar upward trajectory.

Virginia Licensing Requirements for Radiologic Technologists

Virginia requires all radiologic technologists to hold a license issued by the Virginia Department of Health Professions under the Board of Medicine. The core requirements are:

  • Education: Graduation from a JRCERT-accredited radiography program
  • Certification: Passage of the ARRT (American Registry of Radiologic Technologists) Radiography examination
  • Application: Submission of a completed application to the Virginia Board of Medicine with the applicable fee
  • Background check: Criminal history disclosure and, in some cases, fingerprint-based screening
  • Renewal: Biennial license renewal with continuing education requirements (24 CE credits per two-year cycle, consistent with ARRT standards)

Virginia does not currently offer a temporary permit while the ARRT exam is pending, so students should plan to sit for the exam promptly after graduation. Confirm current fees and any updated CE requirements directly with the Virginia Department of Health Professions before applying, as these details can change between publication cycles.

JRCERT-Accredited Radiography Programs in Virginia

All 17 programs below hold current JRCERT accreditation. Tuition figures reflect program totals as reported to JRCERT and may not include fees, uniforms, or examination costs. Program length is in months. Where completion, exam pass, and placement rates are available from JRCERT data, they are shown; missing values indicate the data was not reported in the current cycle.

Program Listings

InstitutionLengthResident TuitionCompletion RateARRT Pass RatePlacement RateAccreditationEvening/Weekend
Bon Secours St. Mary’s Hospital22 mo.$19,840100%92%98%8 YearsNo
Brightpoint CC21 mo.$12,197n/an/an/a3 YearsNo
Central Virginia CC23 mo.$6,38392%98%100%8 YearsNo
ECPI University18 mo.$20,40093%69%99%8 YearsNo
ECPI University-Northern Virginia18 mo.$20,88079%84%99%8 YearsNo
Mary Washington Hospital21 mo.$5,000100%89%100%8 YearsNo
Northern Virginia CC24 mo.$19589%82%93%3 YearsNo
Piedmont Virginia CC21 mo.$6,26294%92%100%5 YearsNo
Riverside College of Health Sciences18 mo.$16,11075%96%94%5 YearsNo
SOVAH Health-Danville24 mo.$11,20092%81%100%8 YearsNo
Sentara RMH Medical Center21 mo.$4,75085%100%100%8 YearsNo
Southside Regional Medical Center/Bon Secours Petersburg, LLC20 mo.$16,83087%99%100%5 YearsNo
Southwest Virginia CC/Virginia Highlands CC22 mo.$11,765100%68%100%On probationNo
Tidewater CC24 mo.$7,21478%93%99%8 YearsNo
Virginia Commonwealth University33 mo.$11,96786%86%99%8 YearsNo
Virginia Commonwealth University33 mo.$13,20086%88%100%8 YearsNo
Virginia Western CC22 mo.$6,47195%81%99%8 YearsNo
Virginia Western CC22 mo.$6,480100%98%100%8 YearsNo
Winchester Medical Center, Inc.24 mo.$6,00086%97%100%8 YearsNo

Note on accreditation: 1 of the 19 programmes listed above are currently on probation with the JRCERT. Probation means the programme is accredited but has been found not to meet one or more standards, and is being monitored. Ask the programme directly what the finding was and what has changed since. Status is taken from the JRCERT accreditation database.

*Northern Virginia Community College tuition shown as per-credit-hour rate as reported to JRCERT. N/R = not reported in current JRCERT data cycle. Tuition totals are program costs as reported and exclude fees and examination expenses. Verify current figures directly with each institution.

How to Compare Virginia Radiography Programs

The table above shows a wide spread in tuition, pass rates, and program length. Here is how to read those figures in context.

ARRT Exam Pass Rate

The ARRT first-attempt pass rate is the clearest signal of how well a program prepares graduates for licensure. Nationally, ARRT first-attempt pass rates for accredited programs typically cluster above 85%. In this Virginia dataset, several programs sit well above that threshold: Sentara RMH Medical Center reports a 100% pass rate, Virginia Western Community College 98%, and Central Virginia Community College 98%. At the other end, ECPI University (Newport News) reports 69% and the Southwest Virginia / Virginia Highlands joint program reports 68%. The Southwest Virginia program is also currently on JRCERT probation, which is a significant flag to investigate before applying.

A lower pass rate does not automatically disqualify a program, but it does mean you should ask specific questions: What ARRT prep resources does the program provide? What is the retake policy? What percentage of graduates eventually pass on a subsequent attempt?

Completion Rate

Completion rate measures how many students who start the program actually finish it. Rates of 100% at Bon Secours St. Mary’s, Central Virginia, Mary Washington, Southwest Virginia / Virginia Highlands, and Virginia Western indicate that once admitted, students are well-supported through to graduation. Riverside College of Health Sciences at 75% and Tidewater Community College at 78% suggest higher attrition – worth asking about during any campus visit or information session.

Tuition and Value

The cost range across Virginia programs is striking. Hospital-based programs at Sentara RMH Medical Center ($4,750 total), Mary Washington Hospital ($5,000 total), and Winchester Medical Center ($6,000 total) cost a fraction of what private institutions charge. Central Virginia Community College ($6,383 for residents) and Virginia Western Community College ($6,480 for residents) offer similarly low costs through the Virginia Community College System. At the upper end, both ECPI campuses charge over $20,000, and Bon Secours St. Mary’s charges $19,840 regardless of residency status.

Northern Virginia Community College’s per-credit-hour pricing through the VCCS makes it among the lowest-cost options in the state for Virginia residents, though the 24-month program length means total credit accumulation should be confirmed with the program directly.

Program Length

Programs range from 18 months (ECPI and Riverside) to 33 months (Virginia Commonwealth University). VCU’s extended length reflects its university-based structure and broader academic coursework. The 18-month programs suit students who want to enter the workforce quickly; the 24 to 33-month programs may provide deeper clinical exposure and academic preparation. Neither is inherently superior – the right length depends on your learning style, financial situation, and career goals.

Clinical Settings and Breadth

Clinical training hours are where classroom knowledge becomes practical skill. Virginia programs vary considerably in the range of their clinical affiliations. ECPI University’s Northern Virginia campus lists over 35 clinical sites spanning hospital systems, imaging centers, orthopaedic clinics, and pediatric facilities. Piedmont Virginia Community College places students at UVA Health, Martha Jefferson Hospital, Augusta Health, and a range of outpatient imaging sites around Charlottesville. Sentara RMH Medical Center, by contrast, uses four clinical sites – all of which are appropriate for the Shenandoah Valley region, but narrower in scope.

More clinical sites generally means broader exposure to imaging modalities, patient populations, and facility types. That variety strengthens ARRT exam readiness and makes graduates more adaptable in the workforce.

What to Look for in a Virginia Radiography Program

Beyond the headline numbers, several factors shape your day-to-day experience and long-term outcomes.

JRCERT Accreditation Status

All programs in Virginia must be JRCERT-accredited for graduates to sit for the ARRT exam and obtain a Virginia license. Accreditation length matters: an 8-year grant reflects a strong review; a 3-year or 5-year grant may indicate the program is newer or had areas requiring improvement at its last review. A program on JRCERT probation – as Southwest Virginia / Virginia Highlands currently is – carries the highest level of concern. JRCERT probation means the program has failed to meet one or more standards. Students can still graduate and sit for ARRT during a probationary period, but you should contact JRCERT directly to understand the specific deficiencies before committing.

ARRT Exam Preparation

Ask each program specifically how it prepares students for the ARRT. Look for structured review coursework in the final semester, access to ARRT-style practice exams, and faculty who track individual student readiness. Programs that integrate registry prep throughout the curriculum – rather than cramming it into the final weeks – tend to produce higher first-attempt pass rates.

Clinical Hours

JRCERT requires a minimum of 1,600 clinical hours for radiography programs. Most Virginia programs meet or exceed this. Confirm with each program how clinical hours are scheduled and whether evening or weekend rotations are required, as this affects childcare, second jobs, and commute planning.

Hospital-Based vs. Community College vs. University Programs

Hospital-based programs (Bon Secours St. Mary’s, Mary Washington, Sentara RMH, SOVAH, Southside/Bon Secours Petersburg, Winchester Medical Center) typically immerse students in a single health system’s clinical environment. This creates strong relationships with potential employers but can limit exposure to different imaging environments. Community college programs through the VCCS (Brightpoint, Central Virginia, Northern Virginia, Piedmont Virginia, Southwest Virginia / Virginia Highlands, Tidewater, Virginia Western) offer lower tuition and, in some cases, broader clinical networks. VCU’s university-based program leads to a bachelor’s degree and feeds directly into the university’s graduate and specialty programs.

Geographic Fit and Employment Connections

Programs in Northern Virginia place students at Inova, Sentara, and Novant Health facilities – health systems that are major regional employers. Programs in Hampton Roads connect students to Sentara, Riverside, and Children’s Hospital of the King’s Daughters networks. Graduates who train within a health system frequently receive job offers from that same system. Think about where you want to work before choosing where to study.

Program Length, Clinical Hours, and ARRT Exam Prep: A Practical Overview

Every JRCERT-accredited program in Virginia covers the same core ARRT content areas: radiation physics, image production, radiographic procedures, patient care, and radiation protection. What differs is the pacing and depth.

An 18-month program covers the same fundamental competencies as a 24-month program but moves at a faster pace. Students in accelerated programs need to be prepared for a demanding schedule from day one. The 33-month VCU program provides the most academic breadth, including coursework that positions graduates for graduate study or specialty certification.

Clinical hours are logged at affiliated sites under the supervision of registered radiologic technologists. Virginia’s clinical site networks are genuinely diverse: programs in Northern Virginia place students at major trauma centers; programs in Southwest Virginia place students at critical access hospitals where a single tech may handle multiple modalities in a shift. Both are valuable but develop different skill sets.

For ARRT preparation, ask programs for their most recent first-attempt pass rate data and how that figure has trended over the last three years. A single year’s data can be misleading; three years of consistent performance is more informative.

Related Imaging and Therapy Programs in Virginia

Radiography is the entry point to a broader family of imaging and therapy disciplines. Two Virginia institutions offer JRCERT-accredited radiation therapy programs – a field that applies ionizing radiation to treat cancer and typically commands higher salaries than diagnostic radiography.

Radiation Therapy Programs

Virginia Commonwealth University in Richmond offers a radiation therapy program with a 33-month length, resident tuition of $13,200, and reported outcomes of 86% completion, 88% exam pass rate, and 100% job placement. Clinical training spans Massey Cancer Center, multiple Inova facilities, Bon Secours, Sentara, Mary Washington, and Sibley Memorial in Washington, D.C. – one of the most geographically diverse clinical networks in the state for this discipline.

Virginia Western Community College in Roanoke offers a radiation therapy program with a 22-month length and resident tuition of $6,471. Distance education is available. Reported outcomes include a 95% completion rate, 81% exam pass rate, and 99% job placement. Clinical affiliates include Augusta Health Cancer Center, UVA’s Emily Couric Clinical Cancer Center, Lewis Gale Medical Center, and multiple Inova sites.

Radiation therapy technologists in Virginia are not separately broken out in current BLS state-level data, but national BLS figures and Virginia-adjacent market data consistently place radiation therapist median wages above those of diagnostic radiologic technologists. MRI technologists in Virginia already demonstrate this pattern: the BLS May 2025 OEWS data shows a state median of $98,640 for MRI techs compared to $80,670 for radiologic technologists. Pursuing a specialty certification or completing a radiation therapy program after initial radiography credentials is a proven way to move toward the upper end of that earnings range.

Frequently Asked Questions: Radiology Tech Programs in Virginia

How long does it take to become a radiologic technologist in Virginia?

Most Virginia radiography programs run between 18 and 24 months. VCU’s bachelor’s-level program takes 33 months. After completing the program, you need to pass the ARRT Radiography examination and apply for a Virginia license before you can practice independently. Plan for roughly two years from program start to licensed employment in most cases.

Do I need a license to work as a rad tech in Virginia?

Yes. Virginia requires licensure through the Board of Medicine under the Department of Health Professions. Practicing without a license is a violation of state law. The license requires graduation from a JRCERT-accredited program and a passing score on the ARRT certification examination.

What is the cheapest radiography program in Virginia?

For Virginia residents, Sentara RMH Medical Center ($4,750 total program cost) and Mary Washington Hospital ($5,000) are the lowest-cost programs based on current JRCERT data. Winchester Medical Center ($6,000) and Central Virginia Community College ($6,383) are also among the most affordable. Northern Virginia Community College’s per-credit-hour pricing may result in lower total costs for residents depending on credit load – confirm the total with the program directly.

Which Virginia radiography program has the highest ARRT pass rate?

Based on current JRCERT data, Sentara RMH Medical Center in Harrisonburg reports a 100% ARRT first-attempt pass rate. Virginia Western Community College (98%) and Central Virginia Community College (98%) are close behind. These figures reflect reported data for recent graduating cohorts and can vary year to year.

Can I complete a Virginia radiography program online?

Radiography programs cannot be fully online because the clinical component requires in-person, hands-on training with imaging equipment and patients. Virginia Commonwealth University and the Southwest Virginia / Virginia Highlands joint program both incorporate distance education for didactic coursework, but all students must complete clinical hours in person at affiliated sites.

What can I do after completing a radiography program in Virginia?

A registered radiologic technologist (R.T.(R)) credential opens several specialty pathways: CT (computed tomography), MRI, mammography, fluoroscopy, and interventional radiography all require additional ARRT certification but build directly on radiography training. Virginia has active programs in radiation therapy at VCU and Virginia Western for those interested in oncology. BLS May 2025 OEWS data shows Virginia MRI technologists earning a median of $98,640, nearly $18,000 above the radiologic technologist median – a concrete illustration of what specialty credentials can add.

What does the JRCERT accreditation review cycle mean for choosing a program?

An 8-year accreditation grant is the maximum JRCERT awards and reflects a program that met all standards at its most recent review. A 3-year or 5-year grant indicates the program is either newer or had specific areas requiring follow-up review. A probationary status – currently held by the Southwest Virginia / Virginia Highlands joint program – means JRCERT has identified compliance failures. Programs on probation can still operate and graduate students who are eligible for ARRT, but the situation warrants direct inquiry with both the program and JRCERT before you apply.

How many clinical hours will I complete in a Virginia radiography program?

JRCERT sets a minimum of 1,600 clinical hours for accredited radiography programs. Most Virginia programs meet or exceed this requirement. Clinical hours take place at affiliated hospitals, imaging centers, orthopaedic clinics, urgent care centers, and specialty facilities. The number and variety of clinical sites differs significantly by program – review each program’s clinical affiliate list to understand the scope of your training environment.

Take the Next Step

The 17 JRCERT-accredited radiography programs in Virginia cover every major region of the state, from the Northern Virginia suburbs to the coalfields of Southwest Virginia. Tuition ranges from under $5,000 to over $20,000. ARRT pass rates range from 68% to 100%. Those gaps are real, and they matter for your career launch. Compare the programs that fit your geography and budget, contact the ones that interest you to ask about current cohort sizes and clinical scheduling, and verify that accreditation status is current with JRCERT before submitting any application.

Use the program links above to visit official program pages, review admission requirements, and request information directly from admissions staff. Each program listed with a verified link above provides program-specific details that go beyond what aggregate data can show.

Professional Organizations

There are several national professional organizations for those who work as radiologic technologists. There is the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists, which also provides the exam that is needed for most licensing. There is also the American Society of Radiologic Technologists. At the state level, there is the Virginia Society of Radiologic Technologists. This organization provides students with internships, career information, scholarships, and awards and is a good resource for anyone in Virginia considering radiologic technology as a new career.