# Indiana

> Markdown rendering of https://radiologyed.org/schools/indiana/ for AI agents and researchers.
> Same facts as the HTML page, with navigation and sponsored units removed and sources listed. The HTML page is canonical.
> Publisher: radiologyed.org · Last checked: 2026-08-19

As our nation’s population grows older, qualified professionals in many areas of the health industry are becoming more sought-after. ([Leer esta información en español](https://radiologyed.org/es/indiana/))

> *As demand rises for radiological technologists and similar professionals, now is a better time than ever to start pursuing a career in radiology. The growing national trend is predicted to continue,*[*leading to a 13% increase in radiologic technology jobs*](https://radiologyed.org/prospects/)*in only 10 years.*

The state of Indiana, like many other states, is expected to experience a shortage of workers in this profession, leading to more job opportunities for those who are qualified.

## Responsibilities of Radiologic Technologists

Radiologic technologists are clinically trained to prepare patients for procedures and administer radiation therapy treatments.

In addition, they often work with other healthcare professionals during diagnostic imaging procedures such as X-rays, CT scans, MRI scans, nuclear medicine scans, mammograms, ultrasounds, and other forms of image-guided technology.

## State Licensing Requirements

In the state of Indiana, radiological technologists must be licensed to perform radiology work. Indiana is currently one of 37 US states to use the [American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT)](https://www.arrt.org/) certification exams for licensing.

## Radiologic Technology Schools in Indiana

Radiological technologist students have many educational options to choose from in the state of Indiana. There are currently 17 radiography programs in the state that are accredited by the [Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology (JRCERT)](https://www.jrcert.org/). Radiology programs may offer a Certificate, an Associate’s, or a Bachelor’s in Radiology Technology.

Some large area hospitals also offer accredited programs in the study of radiology. The majority offer only certificates through their programs, and many have a partnership with local college programs to offer dual credit and clinical experience opportunities.

## Other Schools to Consider for Radiologic Technology Programs

[Vincennes University](https://radiologyed.org/schools/indiana/#179goo47591), Vincennes: This 4-year college offers a Certificate, Associate’s, and Bachelor’s degree through its Radiography program. This program is currently in partnership with the [Good Samaritan Hospital certification program](https://radiologyed.org/schools/indiana/#179goo47591). Outside of the State of Indiana, there are various options to consider in[Cincinnati, Fort Wayne and Columbus, Ohio](https://radiologyed.org/schools/ohio/), [Lexington, KY](https://radiologyed.org/schools/kentucky/), and [in Chicago to the north](https://radiologyed.org/schools/illinois/). Continuing education is also available through the JRCERT and other organizations.

## Large Employers in Radiology

There are over 100 hospitals in Indiana, and all require professional radiologic techs. In addition, Indiana is home to smaller medical facilities, such as family doctors’ offices and local clinics. Some of the state’s most popular and recognized hospitals are listed below:

**[Indiana University Health](//iuhealth.org/)**
 Indianapolis, Lafayette, Muncie, Bedford
 550 University Boulevard
 Indianapolis, IN 46202-5149
 (317) 962-2000

**[St. Vincent Hospital and Health Center](//www.stvincent.org/)**
 Indianapolis, Anderson, Bedford, Brazil, Carmel, Elwood, Fishers, Frankfort, Kokomo, North Vernon, Salem Williamsport, Winchester
 2001 West 86th Street
 Indianapolis, IN 46260-1991
 (317) 338-2345

**[Franciscan St. Francis Health](https://www.franciscanhealth.org/)**
 Carmel, Indianapolis, Mooresville
 8111 South Emerson Avenue
 Indianapolis, IN 46217
 (317) 865-5000

**[Parkview Hospital](https://www.parkview.com/)**
 Fort Wayne, Huntington, LaGrange, Noble, Whitley,
 2200 Randallia Drive
 Fort Wayne, IN 46805-4699
 (260) 373-4000

**[Baptist Health Floyd](https://www.baptisthealth.com/)**
 New Albany
 1850 State Street
 New Albany, IN 47150-4997
 (812) 949-5500

**[Community Howard Regional Health](https://www.ecommunity.com/locations/community-howard-regional-health)**
 Kokomo, Frankfort
 3500 South Lafountain Street
 Kokomo, IN 46904-9011
 (765) 453-0702

**[Dupont Hospital](https://www.theduponthospital.com/)**
 Fort Wayne
 2520 East Dupont Road
 Fort Wayne, IN 46825
 (260) 416-3000

## Accredited Radiography Programs in Indiana: 2026 Guide

Indiana employs 5,470 radiologic technologists and technicians statewide, according to BLS May 2025 OEWS data, with a median annual wage of $77,640. That figure sits above the national median for many comparable allied health roles, and the state’s relatively low cost of living in cities like Fort Wayne, Terre Haute, and Kokomo means your purchasing power stretches further than the raw number suggests. Indianapolis, where several programs are concentrated, carries higher housing costs but remains well below Chicago or Cincinnati. Seventeen JRCERT-accredited radiography programs operate across Indiana, from hospital-based certificates that cost under $4,000 to university degrees approaching $50,000, so the range of options is genuinely wide.

## JRCERT-Accredited Radiography Programs in Indiana

All 17 programs listed below hold JRCERT accreditation, which is the standard recognized by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT). Completing a JRCERT-accredited program is required before you can sit for the ARRT certification exam. Program length ranges from 14 months to 33 months. Tuition figures are drawn directly from JRCERT program data.

### Program Listings

**[Ball State University](https://bsu.smartcatalogiq.com/en/2025-2026/undergraduate-catalog/college-of-health/nutrition-and-health-science/associate-degree/associate-in-scienceradiography-as)** – Indianapolis (Wile Hall)
 Program length: 14 months | Tuition (resident): $8,688 | Tuition (non-resident): $26,696 | Completion rate: 87% | ARRT exam pass rate: 76% | Job placement rate: 100% | Accreditation: 8 years | Capacity: 40
 Clinical sites include IU Health Methodist Hospital and Hendricks Regional Health in Danville.

**Columbus Regional Hospital** – Columbus
 Program length: 24 months | Tuition: $3,500 (resident and non-resident) | Completion rate: 100% | ARRT exam pass rate: 90% | Job placement rate: 90% | Accreditation: 5 years | Capacity: 12
 Clinical sites include Columbus Regional Hospital, Decatur County Memorial Hospital, and Columbus Diagnostic Imaging.

**Hancock Health/Hancock Regional Hospital** – Greenfield
 Program length: 23 months | Tuition: $3,500 (resident and non-resident) | Completion rate: 100% | ARRT exam pass rate: 100% | Job placement rate: 100% | Accreditation: 8 years | Capacity: 15
 Clinical sites include Community Hospital East, Hancock Regional Hospital, and Major Hospital in Shelbyville.

**[Indiana University Fort Wayne](https://northwest.iu.edu/radiologic-sciences/degrees/as-radiography.html)** – Fort Wayne
 Program length: 33 months | Tuition (resident): $10,448 | Tuition (non-resident): $33,716 | Completion rate: 93% | ARRT exam pass rate: 88% | Job placement rate: 100% | Accreditation: 8 years | Capacity: 90 | Distance education available
 Clinical sites include Parkview Regional Medical Center, Lutheran Downtown Hospital, and Cameron Memorial Community Hospital.

**[Indiana University Kokomo](https://kokomo.iu.edu/radiologic-sciences/radiography/index.html)** – Kokomo
 Program length: 22 months | Tuition (resident): $8,777 | Tuition (non-resident): $23,385 | Completion rate: 100% | ARRT exam pass rate: 86% | Job placement rate: 100% | Accreditation: 8 years | Capacity: 28
 Clinical sites span Community Howard Regional Health, IU Health Arnett Hospital in Lafayette, and Pulaski Memorial Hospital.

**[Indiana University Northwest](https://northwest.iu.edu/radiologic-sciences/degrees/as-radiography.html)** – Gary
 Program length: 24 months | Tuition (resident): $10,482 | Tuition (non-resident): $27,519 | Completion rate: 82% | ARRT exam pass rate: 98% | Job placement rate: 99% | Accreditation: 8 years | Capacity: 79
 Clinical sites include Methodist Hospital Southlake Campus, Franciscan Health Crown Point, and Northwest Health Porter in Valparaiso.

**[Indiana University School of Medicine, Department of Radiology](https://medicine.iu.edu/undergraduate-health-professions/degrees-and-certificates/associate-radiography)** – Indianapolis
 Program length: 22 months | Tuition (resident): $22,843 | Tuition (non-resident): $81,560 | Completion rate: 100% | ARRT exam pass rate: 98% | Job placement rate: 99% | Accreditation: 8 years | Capacity: 102 | Distance education available
 Clinical sites include Riley Hospital for Children, IU Health Methodist, Eskenazi Health, and the VA Medical Center in Indianapolis.

**[Indiana University South Bend](https://healthscience.iusb.edu/radiography/index.html)** – South Bend
 Program length: 22 months | Tuition (resident): $8,616 | Tuition (non-resident): $23,222 | Completion rate: 95% | ARRT exam pass rate: 88% | Job placement rate: 100% | Accreditation: 8 years | Capacity: 48
 Clinical sites include Elkhart General Hospital, Goshen Health, Memorial Hospital of South Bend, and Saint Joseph Regional Medical Center.

**[Ivy Tech Community College – Central Indiana](https://catalog.ivytech.edu/preview_program.php?catoid=11&poid=9558)** – Indianapolis
 Program length: 21 months | Tuition (resident): $5,154 | Tuition (non-resident): $9,935 | Completion rate: 100% | ARRT exam pass rate: 100% | Job placement rate: 100% | Accreditation: 8 years | Capacity: 53
 Clinical sites include IU Health Methodist Hospital, Riley Hospital for Children, Johnson Memorial Hospital, and RAYUS Radiology in Greenwood.

**Ivy Tech Community College – Marion** – Marion
 Program length: 21 months | Tuition (resident): $6,400 | Tuition (non-resident): $11,800 | Completion rate: 100% | ARRT exam pass rate: 92% | Job placement rate: 100% | Accreditation: 8 years | Capacity: 35 | Distance education available
 Clinical sites include IU Health Ball Memorial Hospital in Muncie, Marion General Hospital, and VA Northern Indiana Health Care.

**Ivy Tech Community College – Wabash Valley Region** – Terre Haute
 Program length: 20 months | Tuition (resident): $7,731 | Tuition (non-resident): $14,461 | Completion rate: 80% | ARRT exam pass rate: 84% | Job placement rate: 100% | Accreditation: 8 years | Capacity: 60 | Distance education available
 Clinical sites span Union Hospital in Terre Haute, Good Samaritan Hospital in Vincennes, IU Health Bloomington, and Franciscan Health Crawfordsville.

**Norton-King’s Daughters’ Health** – Madison
 Program length: 24 months | Tuition: $7,500 (resident and non-resident) | Completion rate: 100% | ARRT exam pass rate: 100% | Job placement rate: 100% | Accreditation: 8 years | Capacity: 26
 Clinical sites include King’s Daughters Health in Madison and Norton Health facilities across southern Indiana and Louisville, Kentucky.

**Reid Hospital and Health Care Services** – Richmond
 Program length: 24 months | Tuition: $3,600 (resident and non-resident) | Completion rate: 100% | ARRT exam pass rate: 94% | Job placement rate: 100% | Accreditation: 8 years | Capacity: 20
 Clinical sites include Reid Health-Connersville, Reid Orthopedic Center, and Reid Urgent Care.

**South College – Indianapolis** – Indianapolis
 Program length: 18 months | Tuition: $27,900 (resident and non-resident) | Completion rate: 75% | ARRT exam pass rate: not reported | Job placement rate: not reported | Accreditation: 3 years | Capacity: 25
 Clinical sites include Eskenazi Health, RAYUS Radiology locations across central Indiana, and Community Health Network East.

**St. Vincent Indianapolis/St. Vincent Anderson/St. Vincent Kokomo Consortium** – Indianapolis
 Program length: 22 months | Tuition: $3,500 (resident and non-resident) | Completion rate: 93% | ARRT exam pass rate: 99% | Job placement rate: 100% | Accreditation: 8 years | Capacity: 39
 Clinical sites include St. Vincent Hospital Indianapolis, St. Vincent Anderson Regional Hospital, and St. Vincent Fishers Hospital.

**[University of Saint Francis](https://catalog.sf.edu/preview_program.php?catoid=12&poid=1240)** – Fort Wayne
 Program length: 22 months | Tuition (resident): $49,480 | Tuition (non-resident): $37,550 | Completion rate: 93% | ARRT exam pass rate: 96% | Job placement rate: 98% | Accreditation: 8 years | Capacity: 120 | Distance education and evening options available
 Clinical sites span a wide network including Parkview Regional Medical Center, Lutheran Hospital of Indiana, Franciscan Health across northwest Indiana, and the VA Northern Indiana Healthcare System.

**[University of Southern Indiana](https://www.usi.edu/academics/undergraduate/radiologic-and-imaging-sciences)** – Evansville
 Program length: 28 months | Tuition (resident): $8,691 | Tuition (non-resident): $21,128 | Completion rate: 100% | ARRT exam pass rate: 88% | Job placement rate: 100% | Accreditation: 8 years | Capacity: 72
 Clinical sites include Deaconess Midtown Hospital, Deaconess Gateway Hospital, St. Mary’s Medical Center, and Owensboro Health Regional Hospital across the Tri-State area.

## Indiana Radiography Program Comparison Table

| Institution | Length | Resident Tuition | Completion Rate | ARRT Pass Rate | Placement Rate | Accreditation | Evening/Weekend |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Ball State University | 14 mo. | $8,688 | 87% | 76% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Columbus Regional Hospital | 24 mo. | $3,500 | 100% | 90% | 90% | 5 Years | No |
| Hancock Health/Hancock Regional Hospital | 23 mo. | $3,500 | 100% | 100% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Indiana University Fort Wayne | 33 mo. | $10,448 | 93% | 88% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Indiana University Kokomo | 22 mo. | $8,777 | 100% | 86% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Indiana University Northwest | 22 mo. | $6,750 | n/a | 88% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Indiana University Northwest | 24 mo. | $10,482 | 82% | 98% | 99% | 8 Years | No |
| Indiana University School of Medicine, Department of Radiation Oncology | 22 mo. | $10,760 | 100% | 82% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Indiana University School of Medicine, Department of Radiology | 22 mo. | $22,843 | 100% | 98% | 99% | 8 Years | No |
| Indiana University South Bend | 22 mo. | $8,616 | 95% | 88% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Ivy Tech CC-Bloomington | 22 mo. | $5,155 | 100% | 97% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Ivy Tech CC-Central Indiana | 21 mo. | $5,154 | 100% | 100% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Ivy Tech CC-Marion | 21 mo. | $6,400 | 100% | 92% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Ivy Tech CC-Wabash Valley Region | 20 mo. | $7,731 | 80% | 84% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| John Patrick University of Health and Applied Sciences | 24 mo. | $22,005 | 90% | 86% | 98% | 8 Years | Yes |
| Norton-King’s Daughters’ Health | 24 mo. | $7,500 | 100% | 100% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Reid Hospital & Health Care Services | 24 mo. | $3,600 | 100% | 94% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| South College – Indianapolis | 18 mo. | $27,900 | 75% | n/a | n/a | 3 Years | No |
| St. Vincent Indianapolis/St. Vincent Anderson/St. Vincent Kokomo Consortium | 22 mo. | $3,500 | 93% | 99% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| University of Saint Francis | 22 mo. | $49,480 | 93% | 96% | 98% | 8 Years | Yes |
| University of Southern Indiana | 28 mo. | $8,691 | 100% | 88% | 100% | 8 Years | No |

N/R = not reported in JRCERT data. Tuition figures are from JRCERT program disclosures and represent total program cost unless otherwise specified. Verify current figures directly with each institution before enrolling.

## Radiologic Technologist Salaries in Indiana

According to BLS May 2025 OEWS data, radiologic technologists and technicians (SOC 29-2034) in Indiana earn a median annual wage of $77,640. The pay distribution is wide: entry-level workers at the 10th percentile earn around $51,090, while experienced technologists at the 90th percentile reach $99,580. The 25th-to-75th percentile range runs from $62,840 to $84,060, which gives a useful picture of what most working technologists earn after the first few years on the job.

Indiana’s cost of living makes these figures more meaningful than a simple comparison to coastal states might suggest. A $77,640 median salary in Terre Haute or Kokomo goes considerably further than the same figure in Chicago or Columbus, Ohio. Housing costs in smaller Indiana markets remain among the lowest in the Midwest.

For those who advance into MRI technology, the earnings picture improves. Magnetic Resonance Imaging Technologists (SOC 29-2035) in Indiana earn a median of $86,880, with a mean of $87,190, according to the same BLS May 2025 OEWS data. The top quartile of MRI technologists earns $99,360 or more, and the 90th percentile reaches $102,690. That gap between radiography and MRI pay – roughly $9,000 at the median – reflects the additional credentialing and skills required, and it represents a realistic step up for technologists who complete a post-primary MRI program after gaining clinical experience.

## Indiana Radiography Licensing Requirements

Indiana requires radiologic technologists to hold a current, valid license issued by the Indiana State Department of Health (ISDH). The licensing process involves several specific steps.

### Initial Licensure

- Graduate from a JRCERT-accredited radiography program – all 17 programs listed on this page qualify.
- Pass the ARRT certification examination in Radiography (R). You must pass the exam before your Indiana license is issued.
- Submit a completed application to the ISDH along with the required fee.
- Provide official transcripts and documentation of ARRT certification.
- Pass a criminal background check. Certain conviction types may affect eligibility; the ISDH reviews these on a case-by-case basis.

### License Renewal

- Indiana radiologic technologist licenses renew on a two-year cycle.
- Continuing education requirements must be met for renewal. Indiana accepts ARRT-approved continuing education credits; [VERIFY: current Indiana-specific CE hour requirement from ISDH] hours are required per renewal period.
- Technologists who maintain their ARRT certification in good standing are generally considered to meet CE requirements, but confirm current rules with the ISDH before renewal.

### Reciprocity

Indiana offers reciprocity for technologists licensed in other states, provided the applicant holds current ARRT certification and meets Indiana’s licensure standards. The ISDH may require additional documentation depending on your home state’s licensing framework.

## What to Look for in an Indiana Radiography Program

Indiana’s program landscape ranges from tight-capacity hospital programs with near-perfect outcomes to large university programs with broader clinical networks. Choosing the right fit depends on your priorities, but several factors deserve careful attention regardless of which program you consider.

### ARRT Exam Pass Rate

The ARRT exam is the credential that determines whether you can work. Among Indiana’s accredited programs, first-attempt pass rates in the JRCERT data range from 76% to 100%. Programs with consistently high pass rates – Hancock Health, IU School of Medicine, and Ivy Tech Central Indiana all report 98-100% – demonstrate that their curriculum, clinical preparation, and ARRT exam prep support are working. A pass rate below 85% warrants direct questions to the program director about how the program supports students who struggle with board prep.

### Completion Rate and Class Size

A low completion rate in a small program is a red flag worth investigating. Some Indiana programs report 100% completion with classes of 12-20 students; that selectivity in admissions may explain the outcome. South College Indianapolis reports a 75% completion rate with a 3-year current accreditation cycle rather than the 8-year cycle held by most Indiana programs – ask any program with a shorter accreditation period about the reasons behind it.

### Clinical Site Network

Indiana programs vary significantly in the clinical environments they offer. Some hospital-based programs provide deep exposure at one or two sites. Others, like the University of Saint Francis, place students across 38 clinical sites covering trauma centers, orthopedic hospitals, outpatient imaging, VA facilities, and pediatric settings. Breadth of clinical exposure affects how well-prepared you are for the variety of settings you may encounter after graduation.

### Program Length and Format

Ball State’s program completes in 14 months – the shortest in Indiana. Indiana University Fort Wayne runs 33 months. Both produce graduates eligible for the same ARRT exam, but the longer program typically provides more clinical hours and a deeper curriculum. If you need to enter the workforce quickly or have existing obligations, program length is a practical constraint. IU Fort Wayne, Ivy Tech Marion, and Ivy Tech Wabash Valley offer distance education components, which can ease the commuting burden for students outside major metro areas.

### Tuition and Total Program Cost

Resident tuition for Indiana programs runs from $3,500 at several hospital-based programs to $49,480 at the University of Saint Francis. That gap is real, but so is the context: hospital-based programs often have very small cohorts and competitive admissions. A lower-cost community college program like Ivy Tech Central Indiana – $5,154 resident tuition with 100% completion, 100% pass rate, and 100% placement – may offer better value than a more expensive private option. Calculate total cost including fees, required equipment, and living expenses before comparing programs on tuition alone.

### Job Placement Rate

Fourteen of Indiana’s 17 programs report 100% job placement. Columbus Regional Hospital reports 90%, and South College Indianapolis does not report a placement rate in current JRCERT data. A 100% rate in a tight market is genuinely meaningful; confirm with programs how they define “placement” (any healthcare job, or specifically radiologic technology employment).

## Program Length, Clinical Hours, and ARRT Exam Preparation

JRCERT-accredited radiography programs must meet minimum clinical hour requirements set by the organization. Most Indiana programs require students to complete at least [VERIFY: current JRCERT minimum clinical hour requirement] clinical hours across their approved sites. Programs with large, diverse clinical networks – IU School of Medicine with 32 sites, University of Saint Francis with 38 sites – expose students to a wider range of imaging modalities, patient populations, and equipment types than smaller programs can provide.

ARRT exam preparation is not standardized across programs, but most include dedicated board prep coursework in the final semester. Ask any program you are evaluating how ARRT prep is structured: is it integrated throughout the curriculum, or concentrated at the end? Do they track individual student performance on practice exams and provide remediation? Programs with high first-attempt pass rates typically have systematic answers to these questions.

The ARRT Radiography exam covers patient care, safety, image production, procedures, and radiation protection. Indiana programs generally cover all of these domains, but the depth and method of instruction vary. Request syllabi for key courses and ask about average student scores on nationally normed practice exams before committing to a program.

## Related Imaging and Therapy Programs in Indiana

After gaining experience as a radiologic technologist, some professionals choose to specialize in radiation therapy or medical dosimetry. These roles require additional education and credentialing, and they typically carry higher salaries and different clinical responsibilities. The following JRCERT-accredited programs in Indiana offer pathways into these specializations.

### Radiation Therapy Programs

**Indiana University Northwest** – Gary
 Program type: Radiation Therapy | Length: 22 months | Tuition (resident): $6,750 | Tuition (non-resident): $18,865 | ARRT exam pass rate: 88% | Job placement rate: 100% | Capacity: 14 | Distance education available
 Clinical sites include Franciscan Health Crown Point, Franciscan Health Munster Cancer Center, and UChicago Medicine across northwest Indiana and the Chicago metro area.

**Indiana University School of Medicine, Department of Radiation Oncology** – Indianapolis
 Program type: Radiation Therapy | Length: 22 months | Tuition (resident): $10,760 | Tuition (non-resident): $15,250 | Completion rate: 100% | ARRT exam pass rate: 82% | Job placement rate: 100% | Capacity: 35
 Clinical sites include IU Health University Hospital, Community MD Anderson Cancer Center locations across Indiana, and Reid Hospital in Richmond.

**Ivy Tech Community College – Bloomington** – Bloomington
 Program type: Radiation Therapy | Length: 22 months | Tuition (resident): $5,155 | Tuition (non-resident): $9,935 | Completion rate: 100% | ARRT exam pass rate: 97% | Job placement rate: 100% | Capacity: 20 | Distance education available
 Clinical sites include IU Health Bloomington Hospital Cancer Radiation Center, Franciscan Health Indianapolis, Good Samaritan Hospital in Vincennes, and multiple cancer centers across southern Indiana.

### Medical Dosimetry Program

**[John Patrick University of Health and Applied Sciences](https://jpu.edu/bachelor-of-science-in-medical-imaging/)** – South Bend
 Program type: Medical Dosimetry | Length: 24 months | Tuition: $22,005 (resident and non-resident) | Completion rate: 90% | Exam pass rate: 86% | Job placement rate: 98% | Capacity: 255 | Distance education, evening, weekend, part-time, and clinical distance delivery available
 This is one of the largest medical dosimetry programs in the country, with clinical affiliates across more than 40 states. It accepts students who already hold ARRT credentials and clinical experience in radiography, radiation therapy, or a related field.

Radiation therapists operate linear accelerators and deliver prescribed radiation doses to cancer patients. Medical dosimetrists calculate and plan those treatment doses. Both roles require strong technical foundations in physics and anatomy – the skills built in a radiography program provide a direct foundation for either specialization.

## Frequently Asked Questions: Radiography Programs in Indiana

### How long does it take to become a radiology tech in Indiana?

Indiana’s accredited radiography programs range from 14 months (Ball State University) to 33 months (Indiana University Fort Wayne). Most programs run between 21 and 24 months. Program length depends on the institution’s curriculum design, the number of clinical hours built into the schedule, and whether the program leads to a certificate or an associate degree.

### What does a radiology tech earn in Indiana?

According to BLS May 2025 OEWS data, the median annual wage for radiologic technologists and technicians in Indiana is $77,640. Entry-level technologists typically earn $51,090 to $62,840, while those with several years of experience commonly earn $84,060 or more. Technologists who add MRI certification can earn a median of $86,880 in Indiana, based on the same data source.

### Do I need a license to work as a radiology tech in Indiana?

Yes. Indiana requires radiologic technologists to hold a state license issued by the Indiana State Department of Health. Licensure requires passing the ARRT certification exam and graduating from a JRCERT-accredited program.

## Professional Organizations

For networking, job listings, and other career opportunities, radiologic technologists in Indiana should consider joining the [Indiana Society of Radiologic Technologists (ISRT)](https://www.isort.org/). For additional resources, professional and aspiring radiologic technologists should check out the [American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT)](https://www.arrt.org/). Joint review committee meetings and other workshops on radiologic technology are also available through the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology (JRCERT).

## Popular Programs

## Sources

- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025) — wage and employment figures. https://www.bls.gov/oes/
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook — job outlook. https://www.bls.gov/ooh/
- Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology (JRCERT) — accredited programme directory (720 programmes). https://www.jrcert.org/programs/
- American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) — certification requirements. https://www.arrt.org/
- American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) — https://www.arrt.org/
- Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology (JRCERT) — https://www.jrcert.org/
- Franciscan St. Francis Health — https://www.franciscanhealth.org/
- Indiana University Fort Wayne — https://northwest.iu.edu/radiologic-sciences/degrees/as-radiography.html
- Indiana University Kokomo — https://kokomo.iu.edu/radiologic-sciences/radiography/index.html
- Indiana University School of Medicine, Department of Radiology — https://medicine.iu.edu/undergraduate-health-professions/degrees-and-certificates/associate-radiography
- Indiana University South Bend — https://healthscience.iusb.edu/radiography/index.html
- Ivy Tech Community College – Central Indiana — https://catalog.ivytech.edu/preview_program.php?catoid=11&poid=9558
- University of Saint Francis — https://catalog.sf.edu/preview_program.php?catoid=12&poid=1240
- University of Southern Indiana — https://www.usi.edu/academics/undergraduate/radiologic-and-imaging-sciences
- John Patrick University of Health and Applied Sciences — https://jpu.edu/bachelor-of-science-in-medical-imaging/
- Indiana Society of Radiologic Technologists (ISRT) — https://www.isort.org/

Canonical: https://radiologyed.org/schools/indiana/
Last checked: 2026-08-19
