Where to Study Radiologic Technology in Illinois
Now is a great time to consider becoming a radiological technologist in Illinois and the rest of the US.
(Leer esta información en español)
The radiology field, like other medical fields, is growing nationally at a rate twice as fast as average, leading to an estimated 6% increase in new jobs over a decade. The state of Illinois is no exception, and in fact, this state is one of the nation’s largest employers of radiological technologists.
Prerequisite Courses
Before enrolling in a radiology program, students must complete prerequisite courses. These may include anatomy and physiology, general psychology, medical terminology, basic physics (including radiation safety principles), and patient care methods.
Large Employers in Radiology
Illinois is home to dozens of healthcare centers that employ radiologic technologists, with most concentrated in Chicago, Springfield, and other urban areas. While the state’s major hospitals hire the largest number of radiology professionals, smaller clinics and offices hire radiological technologists as well.
Northwestern Memorial Hospital, Chicago
251 East Huron Street
Chicago, IL 60611-2908
(312) 926-2000
Rush University Medical Center, Chicago
1653 West Congress Parkway
Chicago, IL 60612-3833
(312) 942-5000
University of Chicago Medical Center, Chicago
5841 South Maryland Avenue
Chicago, IL 60637-1447
(773) 702-1000
Advocate Christ Medical Center, Oak Lawn
4440 West 95th Street
Oak Lawn, IL 60453-2699
(708) 684-8000
North Shore Evanston Hospital, Evanston
1301 Central Street,
Evanston, IL 60201-1613
(847) 570-2000
Carle Foundation Hospital, Urbana
611 West Park Street
Urbana, IL 61801-2595
(217) 383-3311
Loyola University Medical Center, Maywood
2160 South First Avenue
Maywood, IL 60153-5585
(708) 216-9000
Accredited Radiology Tech Programs in Illinois: 2026 Guide
Illinois is home to 30 JRCERT-accredited radiography programs – more than neighboring Indiana and Wisconsin combined – spread across community colleges, hospital-based schools, and universities from Rockford to Carbondale. That breadth matters: a student in Quincy has different options than one in Chicago, and tuition differences across Illinois programs run from under $200 to over $33,000 for the full program. This page covers every JRCERT-accredited radiography program in the state, what each one costs and delivers, what Illinois requires for licensure, and what to look for when comparing programs.
Illinois Radiology Tech Salary Data
According to BLS May 2025 OEWS data, Illinois employs 7,650 radiologic technologists and technicians (SOC 29-2034). The median annual wage is $79,930, with a mean of $80,770. The full wage distribution breaks down as follows:
- 10th percentile: $59,350
- 25th percentile: $66,000
- Median (50th percentile): $79,930
- 75th percentile: $97,950
- 90th percentile: $104,210
Those figures reflect the state as a whole. Cost of living varies considerably across Illinois. A $79,930 salary in Carbondale or Danville carries meaningfully more purchasing power than the same figure in Chicago or the North Shore suburbs, where housing costs run substantially higher. Radiographers entering the Chicago metro often negotiate shift differentials and specialty pay that can push total compensation toward the 75th percentile range relatively early in a career.
For technologists who complete an advanced credential after initial certification, the earnings picture improves. BLS May 2025 OEWS data shows 2,760 MRI technologists employed in Illinois (SOC 29-2035), with a median wage of $95,380 and a mean of $93,310. The 75th percentile for MRI techs reaches $103,250, and the 90th hits $109,550. That $15,000-plus median gap between general radiography and MRI reflects what a post-ARRT specialty certification can do for earning potential in this state. The career path from radiographer to MRI tech is among the most traveled in Illinois imaging, and Southern Illinois University Carbondale offers one of the few JRCERT-accredited MRI programs in the state to support that transition directly.
Illinois Licensure Requirements for Radiologic Technologists
Illinois requires radiologic technologists to hold a state license issued by the Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA), Division of Nuclear Safety. The requirement applies to anyone performing diagnostic X-ray procedures on human patients in the state.
To qualify for an Illinois radiologic technology license, applicants must:
- Graduate from a JRCERT-accredited radiography program (or an equivalent program approved by IEMA)
- Pass the ARRT certification examination in radiography
- Submit a completed application and fee to IEMA
- Disclose any criminal history for review
Illinois licenses must be renewed every two years. Renewal requires 24 continuing education credits per cycle, consistent with ARRT continuing qualification requirements. Technologists who hold ARRT certification in a primary category such as radiography and wish to practice in a modality like CT, MRI, or mammography in Illinois must hold the corresponding ARRT post-primary credential. Illinois does not issue separate modality-specific state licenses beyond the base radiologic technology license, but employers and accreditation standards effectively require the ARRT credential for most specialty positions.
Applicants should verify current fee schedules and any updated requirements directly with IEMA, as these details can change between publication cycles.
JRCERT-Accredited Radiography Programs in Illinois
The 30 programs below are all currently JRCERT-accredited. Program length, tuition, and outcomes data come directly from JRCERT records. Tuition figures represent total program cost where reported; always confirm current pricing with the institution before enrolling, as costs change each academic year.
Note: Kankakee Community College and McHenry County College and Oakton College did not report completion rate, exam pass rate, or job placement rate to JRCERT at the time this data was compiled; those cells are marked accordingly in the table below.
Program Comparison Table
| Institution | Length | Resident Tuition | Completion Rate | ARRT Pass Rate | Placement Rate | Accreditation | Evening/Weekend |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Blessing-Rieman College of Nursing & Health Sciences | 36 mo. | $31,050 | 85% | 82% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| College of DuPage | 24 mo. | $3,648 | 69% | 89% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| College of Lake County | 24 mo. | $4,553 | 95% | 87% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Danville Area CC | 24 mo. | $16,685 | 88% | 86% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Elgin CC | 24 mo. | $3,578 | 100% | 97% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Elgin CC | 24 mo. | $3,578 | 100% | 97% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Harper College | 24 mo. | $15,210 | 92% | 95% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Heartland CC | 24 mo. | $6,639 | 83% | 89% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Illinois Central College – Peoria Campus | 23 mo. | $10,320 | 100% | 99% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Illinois Eastern CCs-Olney Central College | 22 mo. | $4,809 | 82% | 75% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Javon Bea Hospital – Riverside | 24 mo. | $7,000 | 100% | 83% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Kankakee CC | 24 mo. | $174 | n/a | n/a | n/a | 3 Years | No |
| Kaskaskia College | 21 mo. | $6,308 | 95% | 97% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Kishwaukee College | 22 mo. | $7,220 | 100% | 84% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Lewis University/Oak Brook Campus | 21 mo. | $24,850 | 96% | 95% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Lincoln Land CC | 24 mo. | $9,693 | 100% | 95% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Malcolm X College | 24 mo. | $6,272 | 77% | 87% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| McHenry County College | 24 mo. | $122 | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | No |
| Moraine Valley CC | 24 mo. | $5,724 | 94% | 76% | 92% | 5 Years | No |
| Northwestern Memorial Hospital | 14 mo. | $8,000 | 100% | 100% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Northwestern Memorial Hospital | 21 mo. | $8,250 | 100% | 100% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Oakton College | 24 mo. | $136 | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | No |
| Parkland College | 24 mo. | $18,944 | 100% | 78% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Rend Lake College | 21 mo. | $6,538 | 81% | 87% | n/a | 8 Years | Yes |
| Richland CC | 24 mo. | $5,705 | 100% | 81% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Sauk Valley CC | 20 mo. | $10,772 | 88% | 93% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Southern Illinois University Carbondale | 12 mo. | $9,638 | 100% | 100% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Southern Illinois University Carbondale | 12 mo. | $9,959 | 100% | 95% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Southern Illinois University Carbondale | 12 mo. | $14,085 | 92% | 99% | 100% | 8 Years | Yes |
| Southern Illinois University Carbondale | 36 mo. | $9,638 | 84% | 97% | n/a | 8 Years | No |
| Southwestern Illinois College | 24 mo. | $5,256 | 98% | 92% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Trinity College of Nursing and Health Sciences | 21 mo. | $19,000 | 80% | 70% | 89% | 8 Years | No |
| Triton College | 24 mo. | $5,600 | 81% | 77% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| UW Health SwedishAmerican Hospital | 21 mo. | $7,500 | 86% | 100% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| University of St. Francis | 22 mo. | $32,000 | 100% | 71% | 95% | 8 Years | No |
Tuition data sourced from JRCERT program records. Figures represent total reported program cost unless noted as per-credit-hour. Verify current costs directly with each institution before applying.
Program Listings with Clinical Settings
The following profiles give additional detail on each program, including clinical training sites. Clinical placement diversity is a practical consideration: a program with 20 or more affiliated sites gives students broader exposure to different facility types, patient volumes, and equipment than one concentrated at a single hospital.
Blessing-Rieman College of Nursing & Health Sciences – Quincy
Program length: 36 months | Resident tuition: $31,050 | Completion rate: 85% | ARRT pass rate: 82% | Job placement: 100%
One of two 36-month programs in Illinois, Blessing-Rieman operates out of Quincy near the Missouri border. Clinical sites span both sides of the state line, including Blessing Hospital, Hannibal Regional Hospital, and multiple rural critical access facilities. The longer program length reflects a broader clinical curriculum. Accreditation: 8 years.
College of DuPage – Glen Ellyn
Program length: 24 months | Resident tuition: $3,648 | Non-resident tuition: $8,520 | Completion rate: 69% | ARRT pass rate: 89% | Job placement: 100%
College of DuPage has one of the lowest resident tuition figures among Illinois programs and one of the largest capacities at 98 students. The 69% completion rate is worth examining before applying – ask the program about typical attrition reasons. Clinical affiliates include Edward Hospital, Northwestern Medicine Central DuPage Hospital, Rush Copley Medical Center, and the Edward Hines VA Hospital. Accreditation: 8 years.
College of Lake County – Grayslake
Program length: 24 months | Resident tuition: $4,553 | Non-resident tuition: $11,720 | Completion rate: 95% | ARRT pass rate: 87% | Job placement: 100%
A strong completion rate of 95% distinguishes College of Lake County from many programs at a similar price point. Clinical sites extend into southeastern Wisconsin, including Froedtert South facilities, giving students cross-state exposure. The Captain James A. Lovell Federal Health Care Center in North Chicago adds a federal/military clinical setting uncommon in most programs. Accreditation: 8 years.
Danville Area Community College – Danville
Program length: 24 months | Resident tuition: $16,685 | Non-resident tuition: $22,795 | Completion rate: 88% | ARRT pass rate: 86% | Job placement: 100%
DACC’s program is anchored by the Carle Health system, with clinical sites at Carle Hospital in Urbana, Carle Hoopeston Regional, and the Illiana VA Medical Center in Danville. Resident tuition is higher than many community colleges in the state, so confirm financial aid options early. Accreditation: 8 years.
Elgin Community College – Elgin
Program length: 24 months | Resident tuition: $3,578 | Non-resident tuition: $7,871 | Completion rate: 100% | ARRT pass rate: 97% | Job placement: 100%
Elgin Community College posts a 100% completion rate and 97% ARRT pass rate, placing it among the top-performing programs in the state on both metrics. At under $3,600 in resident tuition, it also offers the best value-per-outcome combination in the Chicago suburban market. Clinical sites cover the Fox Valley corridor and extend into Rockford through OrthoIllinois affiliates and Shriners Hospitals for Children. Accreditation: 8 years.
Harper College – Palatine
Program length: 24 months | Resident tuition: $15,210 | Non-resident tuition: $33,410 | Completion rate: 92% | ARRT pass rate: 95% | Job placement: 100%
Harper’s non-resident tuition is the highest in the state among programs that reported figures, so students from outside the district should factor that in carefully. Within-district, however, outcomes are strong: 95% ARRT pass rate and 92% completion. Clinical placements include Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital and Rush University Medical Center, two high-acuity academic settings that provide substantial clinical breadth. Accreditation: 8 years.
Heartland Community College – Normal
Program length: 24 months | Resident tuition: $6,639 | Non-resident tuition: $13,278 | Completion rate: 83% | ARRT pass rate: 89% | Job placement: 100%
Heartland serves the Bloomington-Normal market, with clinical sites at Carle BroMenn, OSF St. Joseph, and OSF St. James in Pontiac. The program is small at 30 seats, which typically means more direct faculty attention. Accreditation: 8 years.
Illinois Central College – Peoria Campus – Peoria
Program length: 23 months | Resident tuition: $10,320 | Non-resident tuition: $21,994 | Completion rate: 100% | ARRT pass rate: 99% | Job placement: 100%
ICC’s Peoria program posts a 99% ARRT pass rate – the second highest in the state – along with a 100% completion rate. For students in central Illinois, this program delivers elite exam outcomes at a mid-range resident tuition. Clinical training happens entirely within the Peoria metro through Carle Health Methodist, OSF Saint Francis Medical Center, and several outpatient orthopedic sites. Accreditation: 8 years.
Illinois Eastern Community Colleges – Olney Central College – Olney
Program length: 22 months | Resident tuition: $4,809 | Non-resident tuition: $14,455 | Completion rate: 82% | ARRT pass rate: 75% | Job placement: 100%
The 75% ARRT pass rate is the lowest among programs in this data set that reported the figure, which is worth discussing with the program before enrolling. Clinical sites extend into southwestern Indiana, including Ascension St. Vincent Evansville and several smaller rural facilities. The program’s 22-month length is slightly shorter than most two-year programs in the state. Accreditation: 8 years.
Javon Bea Hospital – Riverside – Rockford
Program length: 24 months | Resident tuition: $7,000 | Completion rate: 100% | ARRT pass rate: 83% | Job placement: 100%
Hospital-based programs like Javon Bea are increasingly rare nationally. With only 21 seats and all clinical training at the Riverside campus and affiliated clinics, this program offers a tight-knit environment. The $7,000 flat tuition applies to both resident and non-resident students. Accreditation: 8 years.
Kankakee Community College – Kankakee
Program length: 24 months | Tuition: $174 per credit hour (resident) / $449 per credit hour (non-resident) | Outcomes: Not reported to JRCERT at time of data compilation
KCC’s per-credit-hour pricing makes total program cost dependent on credit load. Clinical sites include Ascension St. Mary Hospital, Silver Cross, Morris Hospital, and Gibson Area Hospital. The program holds a 3-year accreditation term rather than the standard 8-year term, which prospective students should ask the program about directly. Accreditation: 3 years.
Kaskaskia College – Centralia
Program length: 21 months | Resident tuition: $6,308 | Non-resident tuition: $10,070 | Completion rate: 95% | ARRT pass rate: 97% | Job placement: 100%
Kaskaskia College stands out for combining a 95% completion rate with a 97% ARRT pass rate at a tuition well below the state average. The program is one of the faster completions in the state at 21 months. Clinical affiliates are extensive: 25 sites spanning southern Illinois and the St. Louis metro, including Barnes-Jewish Hospital and multiple HSHS system facilities. Accreditation: 8 years.
Kishwaukee College – Malta
Program length: 22 months | Resident tuition: $7,220 | Non-resident tuition: $11,856 | Completion rate: 100% | ARRT pass rate: 84% | Job placement: 100%
Kishwaukee serves students in DeKalb and surrounding counties. Clinical sites include Northwestern Medicine Kishwaukee Hospital, OSF Saint Anthony Medical Center in Rockford, Rush Copley, and Rochelle Community Hospital. The 22-month length and 100% completion rate make it an efficient path. Accreditation: 8 years.
Lewis University – Oak Brook Campus – Oak Brook
Program length: 21 months | Resident tuition: $24,850 | Completion rate: 96% | ARRT pass rate: 95% | Job placement: 100%
Lewis University is a private institution, and its $24,850 tuition reflects that. The program delivers strong results: 96% completion and 95% ARRT pass rate. Clinical placements are concentrated in the Chicago metro and include University of Chicago Hospitals, Rush University Medical Center, and several Advocate and AMITA Health facilities. The program has one of the highest capacities in the state at 100 seats. Accreditation: 8 years.
Lincoln Land Community College – Springfield
Program length: 24 months | Resident tuition: $9,693 | Completion rate: 100% | ARRT pass rate: 95% | Job placement: 100%
Malcolm X College – Chicago
Program length: 24 months | Resident tuition: $6,272 | Completion rate: 77% | ARRT pass rate: 87% | Job placement: 100%
McHenry County College – Crystal Lake
Program length: 24 months | Tuition: $121.50 per credit hour | Outcomes: Not reported to JRCERT at time of data compilation
Moraine Valley Community College – Palos Hills
Program length: 24 months | Resident tuition: $5,724 | Completion rate: 94% | ARRT pass rate: 76% | Job placement: 92%
Northwestern Memorial Hospital – Chicago
Program length: 21 months | Tuition: $8,250 | Completion rate: 100% | ARRT pass rate: 100% | Job placement: 100%
Oakton College – Evanston
Program length: 24 months | Tuition: $136.25 per credit hour | Outcomes: Not reported to JRCERT at time of data compilation
Parkland College – Champaign
Program length: 24 months | Resident tuition: $18,944 | Completion rate: 100% | ARRT pass rate: 78% | Job placement: 100%
Rend Lake College – Ina
Program length: 21 months | Resident tuition: $6,538 | Completion rate: 81% | ARRT pass rate: 87% | Job placement: Not reported
Richland Community College – Decatur
Program length: 24 months | Resident tuition: $5,705 | Completion rate: 100% | ARRT pass rate: 81% | Job placement: 100%
Sauk Valley Community College – Dixon
Program length: 20 months | Resident tuition: $10,772 | Completion rate: 88% | ARRT pass rate: 93% | Job placement: 100%
Southern Illinois University Carbondale – Carbondale
Program length: 36 months | Resident tuition: $9,638 | Completion rate: 84% | ARRT pass rate: 97% | Job placement: Not reported
SIU Carbondale offers one of the few JRCERT-accredited MRI/CT programs in Illinois alongside its radiography program, making it a destination for students who want a direct path to advanced modality credentials. Additional programs at SIU Carbondale include Radiation Therapy (BS) and Medical Dosimetry (MS).
Southwestern Illinois College – Belleville
Program length: 24 months | Resident tuition: $5,256 | Completion rate: 98% | ARRT pass rate: 92% | Job placement: 100%
Trinity College of Nursing and Health Sciences – Rock Island
Program length: 21 months | Resident tuition: $19,000 | Completion rate: 80% | ARRT pass rate: 70% | Job placement: 89%
Triton College – River Grove
Program length: 24 months | Resident tuition: $5,600 | Completion rate: 81% | ARRT pass rate: 77% | Job placement: 100%
UW Health SwedishAmerican Hospital – Rockford
Program length: 21 months | Tuition: $7,500 | Completion rate: 86% | ARRT pass rate: 100% | Job placement: 100%
Professional Organizations
Radiologic technologist professionals and students in Illinois should consider joining the Illinois State Society of Radiologic Technologists (ISSRT), which provides career support resources such as exclusive job lists, student support, and conferences. Radiology students can also visit the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology (JRCERT), which provides more information on radiology programs and education.