Radiology Education Options in Medical Imaging in Michigan

As our nation’s population continues to age, the demand for medical professionals, including those in the field of radiology, grows. The national need for radiologic technologists is expected to increase by 6% in the next decade – almost twice as fast as the average for other professions. For those considering a career in radiological technology, now is a better time than ever to start pursuing a degree.

(Leer esta información en español)

Tell us about yourself so we can find programs near you.




Michigan Licensing Requirements for Radiologic Technologists

Michigan requires radiologic technologists to hold a state license through the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA). To obtain licensure, applicants must:

  • Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program
  • Pass the ARRT (American Registry of Radiologic Technologists) certification examination in Radiography
  • Submit a completed application to LARA with the required fee
  • Pass a criminal background check

Michigan licenses must be renewed every two years. Continuing education is required for renewal – currently 24 hours per two-year cycle, consistent with ARRT CE requirements. Technologists who hold active ARRT certification and stay current with CE generally satisfy the state renewal requirements simultaneously.

Graduates of programs currently on JRCERT probationary status should confirm with Michigan LARA that their program remains eligible for licensure purposes before enrolling. At the time of publication, Wayne State University’s radiography program carries a probationary accreditation status; prospective students should contact LARA directly for current guidance.

Radiologic Technology Schools in Michigan

Michigan has 22 JRCERT-accredited radiography programs spread across hospital-based schools, community colleges, and four-year universities from Detroit to Marquette. That geographic spread matters: a student in the Upper Peninsula has options at Northern Michigan University that involve clinical rotations at facilities like UP Health System Marquette, while someone in the Metro Detroit area can choose from hospital programs at Ascension St. John, DMC Sinai-Grace, or university programs at Wayne State. Program data below comes from JRCERT records; salary figures are from BLS May 2025 OEWS data.

Outside the state, students can consider options in Indianapolis, Bloomington, Marion, and Terre Haute, Indiana, or Akron, Erie, Columbus, Dayton, and other locations in Ohio, to the south, or, on the other side of Lake Michigan, Burlington, Milwaukee, Green Bay and other cities in Wisconsin.

Allied Health Education Programs

Additional allied health education programs are available in Michigan as well, such as Medical Imaging Technology (MIT), Nuclear Medicine Technology (NMT), and Radiation Therapy. These programs provide students with a comprehensive understanding of the medical technology field and may be good options for those interested in a career in radiology technology but who want to gain more specialized knowledge.

As with any allied health field, certification is often required; for radiologic technology, the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) is the most widely recognized credential in Michigan and across the country.

Large Employers in Radiology

The state of Michigan is home to many major healthcare centers that employ radiologic technologists, with most concentrated in the Detroit and Grand Rapids metro areas. While most radiologic technologists are employed by large hospitals, many others work for small clinics in the state’s more rural areas.

University of Michigan Hospitals and Health Centers, Ann Arbor
1500 East Medical Center Drive
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-5000
(734) 936-4000

Beaumont Hospital, Royal Oak, Troy
3601 West Thirteen Mile Road
Royal Oak, MI 48073-6712
(248) 898-5000

Harper University Hospital, Detroit
3990 John ‘R’ Street
Detroit, MI 48201-2018
(313) 745-8040

Spectrum Health, Grand Rapids
100 Michigan Street NE
Grand Rapids, MI 49503-2560
(616) 774-7444

Henry Ford Hospital, Detroit
2799 West Grand Boulevard
Detroit, MI 48202-2608
(313) 916-2600

Munson Medical Center, Traverse City
1105 Sixth Street
Traverse City, MI 49684-2345
(231) 935-5000

McLaren Regional Medical Center, Flint
401 South Ballenger Highway
Flint, MI 48532-3685
(810) 342-2000

Michigan Radiologic Technologist Salary and Employment Data

According to BLS May 2025 OEWS data, Michigan employs 7,220 radiologic technologists and technicians (SOC 29-2034). The median annual wage is $76,420, with a mean of $74,020. Entry-level positions at the 10th percentile earn around $55,450, while experienced technologists at the 90th percentile reach $97,250.

Here is how the full wage distribution breaks down:

  • 10th percentile: $55,450
  • 25th percentile: $63,270
  • Median (50th percentile): $76,420
  • 75th percentile: $81,700
  • 90th percentile: $97,250

Cost of living varies considerably across Michigan. Grand Rapids and Lansing have lower housing costs than Southeast Michigan, which means a $76,000 median salary goes further in Mid-Michigan than in the Detroit metro. Technologists working at large health systems like Michigan Medicine in Ann Arbor or Henry Ford Health in Detroit often have access to broader benefit packages that offset the higher cost of living in those areas.

Career Progression: MRI Technologist Wages

Radiographers who add specialized credentials in MRI see meaningful pay increases. BLS May 2025 OEWS data shows 1,270 MRI technologists (SOC 29-2035) employed in Michigan, with a median wage of $84,620 and a mean of $84,380. The 25th percentile sits at $80,190 and the 90th percentile at $96,700. That is roughly an $8,200 median premium over general radiography. The gap is tightest at the top end of the wage scale, where experienced radiographers can approach MRI-level earnings, but for mid-career technologists, the credential shift is worth considering.

JRCERT-Accredited Radiography Programs in Michigan

All programs listed below hold JRCERT accreditation. Program length, tuition, and outcomes data come directly from JRCERT records. Tuition figures represent total program cost as reported to JRCERT and may not include fees, books, or clinical supplies – contact programs directly for a full cost breakdown.

Michigan Radiography Program Comparison Table

InstitutionLengthResident TuitionCompletion RateARRT Pass RatePlacement RateAccreditationEvening/Weekend
Ascension Providence Hospital, Southfield Campus24 mo.$8,50080%90%100%8 YearsNo
Ascension St. John Hospital24 mo.$3,000100%100%100%8 YearsNo
Baker College of Muskegon16 mo.$10,92284%80%98%8 YearsNo
Baker College of Owosso16 mo.$10,66882%74%96%8 YearsNo
DMC Sinai-Grace Hospital24 mo.$3,50082%90%100%8 YearsNo
Delta College20 mo.$2,10067%100%100%8 YearsNo
Dorsey College24 mo.$26,850100%n/an/a3 YearsNo
Ferris State University24 mo.$13,91484%87%99%8 YearsNo
Grand Rapids CC20 mo.$7,882100%87%100%8 YearsNo
Grand Valley State University12 mo.$32,87095%94%100%8 YearsYes
Grand Valley State University20 mo.$15,864100%84%100%8 YearsNo
Henry Ford College22 mo.$16,000100%76%96%8 YearsNo
Jackson College24 mo.$9,65288%74%100%8 YearsNo
Kellogg CC22 mo.$14,17082%79%100%8 YearsNo
Lake Michigan College19 mo.$8,604100%95%100%8 YearsNo
Lansing CC21 mo.$16,38582%97%100%8 YearsNo
Mid Michigan College22 mo.$6,61594%79%100%8 YearsNo
Northern Michigan University21 mo.$14,600100%87%100%8 YearsNo
Oakland CC20 mo.$8,19673%92%100%8 YearsNo
Oakland University24 mo.$20,67789%98%100%8 YearsNo
Schoolcraft College24 mo.$9,313100%n/an/a3 YearsNo
St. Clair County CC24 mo.$22,168100%95%100%8 YearsNo
University of Michigan – Flint22 mo.$20,644100%60%96%On probationNo
Washtenaw CC24 mo.$3,36693%99%97%8 YearsNo
Wayne State University21 mo.$20,10993%90%100%On probationNo
Wayne State University48 mo.$21,294100%76%100%8 YearsNo

Note on accreditation: 2 of the 26 programmes listed above are currently on probation with the JRCERT. Probation means the programme is accredited but has been found not to meet one or more standards, and is being monitored. Ask the programme directly what the finding was and what has changed since. Status is taken from the JRCERT accreditation database.

Note on accreditation: 2 of the 26 programmes listed above are currently on probation with the JRCERT. Probation means the programme is accredited but has been found not to meet one or more standards, and is being monitored. Ask the programme directly what the finding was and what has changed since. Status is taken from the JRCERT accreditation database.

Note on accreditation: 2 of the 26 programmes listed above are currently on probation with the JRCERT. Probation means the programme is accredited but has been found not to meet one or more standards, and is being monitored. Ask the programme directly what the finding was and what has changed since. Status is taken from the JRCERT accreditation database.

Note on accreditation: 2 of the 26 programmes listed above are currently on probation with the JRCERT. Probation means the programme is accredited but has been found not to meet one or more standards, and is being monitored. Ask the programme directly what the finding was and what has changed since. Status is taken from the JRCERT accreditation database.

Note on accreditation: 2 of the 26 programmes listed above are currently on probation with the JRCERT. Probation means the programme is accredited but has been found not to meet one or more standards, and is being monitored. Ask the programme directly what the finding was and what has changed since. Status is taken from the JRCERT accreditation database.

Note on accreditation: 2 of the 26 programmes listed above are currently on probation with the JRCERT. Probation means the programme is accredited but has been found not to meet one or more standards, and is being monitored. Ask the programme directly what the finding was and what has changed since. Status is taken from the JRCERT accreditation database.

*Exam pass rate and job placement rate not reported to JRCERT for Dorsey College and Schoolcraft College in the current data cycle. Contact programs directly. Tuition figures are total program cost as reported to JRCERT for resident students. Non-resident rates differ at several institutions – see individual program listings below. Wayne State University’s radiography program currently holds probationary JRCERT accreditation; confirm status before enrolling.

Individual Program Listings

Ascension Providence Hospital, Southfield Campus

Location: 16001 West Nine Mile Road, Southfield, MI 48075
Program Length: 24 months
Tuition: $8,500 (resident and non-resident)
Completion Rate: 80% | ARRT Pass Rate: 90% | Job Placement: 100%
Accreditation: 8 Years
Clinical Settings: Ascension Genesys Hospital (Grand Blanc), Ascension Providence Livonia Medical Center, Ascension Providence Novi Campus, Ascension Providence Southfield Campus, Ascension Providence Farmington Hills.

Ascension St. John Hospital

Location: 22101 Moross Road, Detroit, MI 48236
Program Length: 24 months
Tuition: $3,000 (resident and non-resident)
Completion Rate: 100% | ARRT Pass Rate: 100% | Job Placement: 100%
Accreditation: 8 Years | Distance Education Available
Clinical Settings: Henry Ford Madison Heights Hospital, Henry Ford Medical Center St. Clair Shores, Henry Ford Medical Center Waldenburg (Macomb Township), Henry Ford St. John Hospital (Detroit), Henry Ford Warren Hospital, St. Clair Orthopedics and Sports Medicine (St. Clair Shores).

With perfect completion, pass, and placement rates and a total tuition of $3,000, this hospital-based program represents one of the lowest-cost, highest-outcome options in Southeast Michigan.

Baker College of Muskegon

Location: 1903 Marquette Avenue, Muskegon, MI 49442
Program Length: 16 months
Tuition: $10,922 (resident and non-resident)
Completion Rate: 84% | ARRT Pass Rate: 80% | Job Placement: 98%
Accreditation: 8 Years
Clinical Settings: An extensive network spanning West Michigan and beyond, including Corewell Health Butterworth and Blodgett (Grand Rapids), Holland Hospital and its satellite locations, Mercy Health facilities in Muskegon and Grand Rapids, Munson Medical Center (Traverse City), and over 45 additional sites.

Baker College of Owosso

Location: 1020 South Washington Street, Owosso, MI 48867
Program Length: 16 months
Tuition: $10,668 resident / $10,922 non-resident
Completion Rate: 82% | ARRT Pass Rate: 74% | Job Placement: 96%
Accreditation: 8 Years
Clinical Settings: Covenant Healthcare (Saginaw), Hurley Medical Center (Flint), McLaren Flint, McLaren Oakland, Michigan Medicine campuses across Ann Arbor, Henry Ford Hospital (Detroit), Ascension Genesys (Grand Blanc), OSF St. Francis Hospital (Escanaba), and over 35 additional sites.

At 16 months, Baker College of Owosso and Baker College of Muskegon are the shortest programs in the state, which suits students who want to enter the workforce quickly. The ARRT pass rate of 74% at Owosso is below the state average, so ask the program about their ARRT preparation resources before enrolling.

DMC Sinai-Grace Hospital

Location: 6071 W. Outer Drive, Detroit, MI 48235
Program Length: 24 months
Tuition: $3,500 (resident and non-resident)
Completion Rate: 82% | ARRT Pass Rate: 90% | Job Placement: 100%
Accreditation: 8 Years
Clinical Settings: Children’s Hospital of Michigan (Troy), Detroit Receiving Hospital, DMC Children’s Hospital of Michigan (Detroit), DMC Sinai-Grace Hospital, Harper University Hospital, Huron Valley Sinai Hospital (Commerce Township).

Delta College

Location: 1961 Delta Drive, University Center, MI 48710
Program Length: 20 months
Tuition: $2,100 resident / $3,200 non-resident
Completion Rate: 67% | ARRT Pass Rate: 100% | Job Placement: 100%
Accreditation: 8 Years | Distance Education Available
Clinical Settings: Covenant HealthCare Cooper and Mackinaw campuses (Saginaw), McLaren Bay Region and McLaren Uptown (Bay City), MyMichigan Medical Center campuses in Midland and Saginaw.

Delta College has the lowest resident tuition of any program in the state at $2,100 and achieves a 100% ARRT pass rate – a notable combination. The completion rate of 67% is the lowest in Michigan, which means the program is selective in who finishes; ask admissions about the factors that affect completion before applying.

Dorsey College

Location: 18660 Ford Road, Detroit, MI 48228
Program Length: 24 months
Tuition: $26,850 (resident and non-resident)
Completion Rate: 100% | ARRT Pass Rate: Not reported | Job Placement: Not reported
Accreditation: 3 Years (shorter accreditation cycle – verify current status)
Clinical Settings: Concentra Urgent Care locations across Metro Detroit, Corewell Health Farmington Hills and Wayne Hospitals, Corewell Health William Beaumont University Hospital (Royal Oak), Harper University Hospital, Henry Ford Health System, John D. Dingell VA Medical Center, and multiple orthopedic and imaging centers.

At $26,850, Dorsey College carries the highest tuition in the state. The 3-year accreditation cycle rather than the standard 8-year award warrants additional scrutiny. ARRT pass and job placement data were not available in JRCERT records at time of publication.

Ferris State University

Location: 200 Ferris Drive, Big Rapids, MI 49307
Program Length: 24 months
Tuition: $13,914 resident / $16,080 non-resident
Completion Rate: 84% | ARRT Pass Rate: 87% | Job Placement: 99%
Accreditation: 8 Years | Distance Education Available
Clinical Settings: One of the largest clinical networks in the state, with 46 sites including Michigan Medicine (Ann Arbor), Corewell Health campuses across West Michigan, McLaren facilities in Flint, Lapeer, Petoskey, and Mt. Pleasant, Munson Medical Center (Traverse City), MyMichigan Medical Center Alpena, OSF St. Francis Hospital (Escanaba), and Portage Health (Hancock).

Ferris State has the largest program capacity of any radiography program in Michigan at 126 students and offers one of the broadest clinical networks in the state. The program is particularly well-suited to students who want exposure to both urban health systems and rural or Upper Peninsula facilities.

Grand Rapids Community College

Location: 143 Bostwick Avenue NE, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Program Length: 20 months
Tuition: $7,882 resident / $13,791 non-resident
Completion Rate: 100% | ARRT Pass Rate: 87% | Job Placement: 100%
Accreditation: 8 Years | Distance Education Available
Clinical Settings: Corewell Health Butterworth and Blodgett Hospitals (Grand Rapids), Helen DeVos Children’s Hospital (Grand Rapids), Holland Hospital and satellite sites, Trinity Health system across Grand Rapids, Muskegon, and Norton Shores, University of Michigan Health-West (Wyoming), Zeeland Community Hospital.

Henry Ford College

Location: Health Careers Division, 5101 Evergreen Road, Dearborn, MI 48128
Program Length: 22 months
Tuition: $16,000 resident / $23,450 non-resident
Completion Rate: 100% | ARRT Pass Rate: 76% | Job Placement: 96%
Accreditation: 8 Years
Clinical Settings: Henry Ford Health main campus (Detroit), Henry Ford Wyandotte Hospital, Henry Ford Medical Center locations across Dearborn, Grosse Pointe, Sterling Heights, Plymouth, and West Bloomfield, Beaumont Dearborn and Taylor Hospitals, Michigan Medicine campuses in Ann Arbor, Children’s Hospital of Michigan, St. Joseph Mercy (Ypsilanti), and Trinity Health Oakland (Pontiac).

Henry Ford College’s 100% completion rate and extensive Henry Ford Health System clinical network make it a strong choice for students aiming to work in Southeast Michigan. The 76% ARRT pass rate is below the state average; confirm what exam preparation support the program provides.

Jackson College

Location: 2111 Emmons Road, Jackson, MI 49201
Program Length: 24 months
Tuition: $9,652 resident / $10,432 non-resident
Completion Rate: 88% | ARRT Pass Rate: 74% | Job Placement: 100%
Accreditation: 8 Years
Clinical Settings: Henry Ford Allegiance Health (Jackson), Sparrow Health System (Lansing), Michigan Medicine campuses in Ann Arbor, Bronson Battle Creek and Methodist Hospitals (Kalamazoo), ProMedica Monroe Regional Hospital, Trinity Health Saint Joseph Mercy Ann Arbor, and additional sites in Indiana.

Kellogg Community College

Location: 450 North Avenue, Battle Creek, MI 49017
Program Length: 22 months
Tuition: $14,171 resident / $18,417 non-resident
Completion Rate: 82% | ARRT Pass Rate: 79% | Job Placement: 100%
Accreditation: 8 Years | Distance Education Available
Clinical Settings: Bronson Battle Creek Hospital, Bronson Methodist Hospital (Kalamazoo), Battle Creek Veterans Medical Center, Corewell Health Pennock Hospital (Hastings), Oaklawn Hospital (Marshall), Insight Hospital Coldwater.

Lake Michigan College

Location: 2755 East Napier Avenue, Benton Harbor, MI 49022
Program Length: 19 months
Tuition: $8,604 resident / $11,957 non-resident
Completion Rate: 100% | ARRT Pass Rate: 95% | Job Placement: 100%
Accreditation: 8 Years
Clinical Settings: Corewell Health Lakeland Hospitals (St. Joseph, Niles, Watervliet), Bronson Methodist Hospital (Kalamazoo), Bronson Lakeview and South Haven Hospitals, Elkhart General Hospital (Indiana), South Bend Clinic (Indiana), Southwest Michigan Center for Orthopedics.

Lake Michigan College combines a 100% completion rate, 95% ARRT pass rate, and 100% job placement in the shortest program outside of the Baker College programs (19 months). For students in Southwest Michigan, this is one of the strongest performing programs in the state by outcome metrics.

Lansing Community College

Location: 515 N. Washington Square, HHS 108, Lansing, MI 48933
Program Length: 21 months
Tuition: $16,385 resident / $26,525 non-resident
Completion Rate: 82% | ARRT Pass Rate: 97% | Job Placement: 100%
Accreditation: 8 Years | Distance Education Available
Clinical Settings: McLaren Greater Lansing, Sparrow Health System campuses (Lansing, Ionia, Charlotte, St. Johns), Michigan State University Clinical Center (East Lansing), Saint Joseph Mercy Livingston Hospital (Howell), Ascension Genesys (Grand Blanc), Hurley Medical Center (Flint), Eaton Rapids Medical Center.

Lansing Community College posts a 97% ARRT pass rate – second highest in the state – with 100% job placement. The non-resident tuition of $26,525 is high; residents of Ingham and surrounding counties will find the resident rate far more manageable.

Mid Michigan College

Location: 1375 South Clare Avenue, Harrison, MI 48625
Program Length: 22 months
Tuition: $6,615 resident / $10,400 non-resident
Completion Rate: 94% | ARRT Pass Rate: 79% | Job Placement: 100%
Accreditation: 8 Years

Northern Michigan University

Location: 1401 Presque Isle Avenue, Marquette, MI 49855
Program Length: 21 months
Tuition: $14,600 resident
Completion Rate: 100% | ARRT Pass Rate: 87% | Job Placement: 100%
Accreditation: 8 Years

Oakland Community College (Southfield Campus)

Location: 22322 Rutland Drive, Southfield, MI 48075
Program Length: 20 months
Tuition: $8,196 resident
Completion Rate: 73% | ARRT Pass Rate: 92% | Job Placement: 100%
Accreditation: 8 Years

Oakland University

Location: 2200 North Squirrel Road, Rochester, MI 48309
Program Length: 24 months
Tuition: $20,677 resident
Completion Rate: 89% | ARRT Pass Rate: 98% | Job Placement: 100%
Accreditation: 8 Years

Schoolcraft College

Location: Livonia, MI
Program Length: 24 months
Tuition: $9,313 resident
Completion Rate: 100% | ARRT Pass Rate: Not reported | Job Placement: Not reported
Accreditation: 3 Years (shorter accreditation cycle – verify current status)

St. Clair County Community College

Location: 323 Erie Street, Port Huron, MI 48061
Program Length: 24 months
Tuition: $22,168 resident
Completion Rate: 100% | ARRT Pass Rate: 95% | Job Placement: 100%
Accreditation: 8 Years

Washtenaw Community College

Location: 4800 East Huron River Drive, Ann Arbor, MI 48105
Program Length: 24 months
Tuition: $3,366 resident
Completion Rate: 93% | ARRT Pass Rate: 99% | Job Placement: 97%
Accreditation: 8 Years

Wayne State University

Location: 259 Mack Avenue, Detroit, MI 48201
Program Length: 21 months
Tuition: $20,109 resident
Completion Rate: 93% | ARRT Pass Rate: 90% | Job Placement: 100%
Accreditation: Probationary – confirm current status with LARA before enrolling.

Professional Organizations

Professional organizations such as the Michigan Society of Radiologic Technologists (MSRT), the state affiliate of the American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT), offer their members benefits such as exclusive employment opportunities, network ties, and continuing education opportunities. For more information on the radiological technology field, prospective students can visit the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology (JRCERT).