Jumpstart a New Career in Medical Imaging in Iowa

Iowa is following a national trend toward a rapid expansion of healthcare jobs as its population grows older. With a rising medical need, the demand for health technologists is expanding, making the next few years a prime time to pursue a career in radiological technology. (Leer esta información en español)

In the next decade alone, these jobs are predicted to increase by 12%, and the state of Iowa, like the rest of the nation, is expected to have more job opportunities with competitive pay to qualified professionals.

Tell us about yourself so we can find programs near you.




Responsibilities of Radiologist Technologists

Radiology technologists in Iowa perform a variety of duties and responsibilities, depending on their specialty. They use sophisticated imaging equipment to take images of the body and diagnose diseases or abnormalities. This may include using X-rays, MRI, CT scans, mammograms, and sonography (ultrasound). Diagnostic medical sonography is particularly in demand, as it offers an important tool for diagnosis and treatment.

Radiology technologists must be able to comprehend and interpret the images they produce, documenting the results accurately. They must also have a working knowledge of radiation safety principles and remain vigilant of patient safety. Working with their colleagues to coordinate care plans, they often help Technologists also ensure that patients are prepared for exams correctly, maintain records, and assist radiologists in other ways.

Radiologic Technology Schools in Iowa

Iowa is home to 13 JRCERT-accredited radiography programs. These radiology programs may offer a Certificate, an Associate’s, a Bachelor’s in Radiology Technology, or a combination of the three. Programs range from hospital-based certificates that cost under $5,000 to university degrees approaching $34,000 for out-of-state students. That spread matters when you factor in Iowa’s cost of living, which sits well below the national average and stretches a graduate salary further than the same paycheck would in coastal markets.

Some major hospitals in Iowa offer accredited radiography technology programs as well. All of these hospital programs currently only provide certificates to their graduates. However, many also partner with local college programs to offer dual credit and supervised clinical experience.

Other options out-of-state for future X-Ray technologists are Chicago, Illinois, Omaha and Lincoln, Nebraska, Kansas City, MO and Minneapolis. Community colleges and public universities will charge higher tuition fees for non-resident students.

Allied Health Education Programs in Iowa

Common allied health professions in Iowa include medical assisting, surgical technology, occupational therapy, physical therapy, respiratory care and many more.

Other Colleges to Consider

Iowa is also home to the programs listed below, which are not currently accredited by the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiology Technology (JRCERT). Instead, most are accredited by other entities or have not yet received JRCERT-accredited status. These schools do, however, offer quality instruction in their programs:

Large Employers in Radiology

There are about 120 hospitals in the state of Iowa, and all need to employ professional technologists. Many small healthcare facilities, such as clinics and urgent care centers, employ Rad Techs as well.

University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics, Iowa City
200 Hawkins Drive
Iowa City, IA 52242-1009
(319) 356-1616

St. Luke’s Hospital, Cedar Rapids
1026 ‘A’ Avenue NE
Cedar Rapids, IA 52402-3026
(319) 369-7211

Mercy Medical Center, Des Moines
1111 6th Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50314-2611
(515) 247-3121

CHI Health Mercy, Council Bluffs
800 Mercy Drive
Council Bluffs, IA 51503-3128
(712) 328-5000

Genesis Medical Center, Davenport, Bettendorf
1227 East Rusholme Street
Davenport, IA 52803-2498
(563) 421-1000

Allen Hospital, Waterloo
1825 Logan Avenue
Waterloo, IA 50703
(319) 235-3629

Blank Children’s Hospital, Des Moines
1200 Pleasant Street
Des Moines, IA 50309
(515) 241-5437

Iowa Radiologic Technologist Salary and Job Market

According to BLS May 2025 OEWS data, Iowa employs approximately 2,550 radiologic technologists and technicians (SOC 29-2034). The median annual wage is $65,930, with a mean of $69,640. The middle half of earners fall between $61,730 and $79,390. The top 10 percent earn $86,520 or more, while the bottom 10 percent earn around $54,360.

Those figures compare favorably with Iowa’s cost of living. The Council for Community and Economic Research consistently places Iowa cities among the most affordable in the Midwest. A $65,930 median salary in Des Moines carries meaningfully more purchasing power than a nominally higher salary in Minneapolis or Chicago.

Career Progression: Moving into MRI

Radiographers who add an MRI credential see a clear earnings jump. BLS May 2025 OEWS data shows MRI technologists (SOC 29-2035) in Iowa earn a median of $81,420 and a mean of $82,060, with the top quarter earning above $91,640. Iowa has 220 MRI techs employed statewide, so the role is specialized but present across major health systems. The $15,490 median gap between radiography and MRI is a common reason working techs pursue ARRT’s MR post-primary certification after a few years in the field.

Iowa Radiography Program Listings

All 13 programs below hold current JRCERT accreditation. Tuition figures reflect total program cost as reported to JRCERT and may not include fees, books, or clinical supplies. Contact each program directly to confirm current costs before applying.

Allen College – Waterloo

Address: 1825 Logan Avenue, Waterloo, IA 50703
Program length: 24 months | Tuition: $21,304 (resident and non-resident)
Completion rate: 100% | ARRT exam pass rate: 88% | Job placement rate: 100%
Accreditation: JRCERT, 8-year award | Distance education: No
Capacity: 48 students

Allen College sits within the Allen Health System campus and sends students through 17 clinical sites across northeast Iowa, including multiple MercyOne facilities, Allen Memorial Hospital, and community hospitals in Sumner, Grundy Center, and Vinton. The program’s hospital-system affiliation gives students consistent access to high-volume imaging departments.

Indian Hills Community College – Ottumwa

Address: 525 Grandview Ave, Building 21, Ottumwa, IA 52501
Program length: 24 months | Tuition: $10,999.50 (resident) / $12,535 (non-resident)
Completion rate: 85% | ARRT exam pass rate: 94% | Job placement rate: 100%
Accreditation: JRCERT, 8-year award | Distance education: Yes
Capacity: 78 students

Indian Hills has the largest program capacity in Iowa and one of the highest ARRT pass rates in the state. The distance education option makes it accessible to students in rural south-central Iowa. Clinical placements span a wide footprint – from Des Moines-area orthopaedic centers to the Iowa City VA Health Care System, Missouri hospitals, and facilities as far south as Kirksville, MO. The program also includes an unusual placement at the Iowa Office of State Medical Examiner.

Iowa Central Community College – Fort Dodge

Address: One Triton Circle, Fort Dodge, IA 50501
Program length: 22 months | Tuition: $8,930 (resident) / $12,559 (non-resident)
Completion rate: 100% | ARRT exam pass rate: 88% | Job placement rate: 100%
Accreditation: JRCERT, 8-year award | Distance education: No
Capacity: 68 students

Iowa Central finishes in 22 months – shorter than most peers – while maintaining a 100% completion and placement rate. Clinical sites cover a broad stretch of north-central and western Iowa, including Trinity Regional Medical Center in Fort Dodge, Mary Greeley Medical Center in Ames, and more than a dozen rural critical-access hospitals. Resident tuition is among the lowest in the state for a community college program.

Mercy College of Health Sciences – Des Moines

Address: 928 6th Avenue, Des Moines, IA 50309
Program length: 23 months | Tuition: $19,533 (resident and non-resident)
Completion rate: 100% | ARRT exam pass rate: 80% | Job placement rate: 100%
Accreditation: JRCERT, 8-year award | Distance education: No
Capacity: 42 students

Located in downtown Des Moines, Mercy College places students across Mercy Health System facilities in the capital metro. The 80% ARRT pass rate is the lowest among Iowa programs that reported this figure, which is a conversation worth having with the admissions team before enrolling. Placement rate is 100%, so graduates who pass the exam do find employment.

Mercy/St. Luke’s Hospitals – Cedar Rapids

Address: 1026 A Avenue NE, Cedar Rapids, IA 52402
Program length: 24 months | Tuition: $4,125 (resident and non-resident)
Completion rate: 100% | ARRT exam pass rate: 100% | Job placement rate: 100%
Accreditation: JRCERT, 8-year award | Distance education: No
Capacity: 46 students

Mercy/St. Luke’s in Cedar Rapids stands out on every metric that matters. It holds a 100% ARRT pass rate and a 100% placement rate, with total tuition of $4,125 – by far the lowest reported tuition among Iowa programs with full outcome data. The tradeoff is a smaller clinical footprint concentrated in the Cedar Rapids metro. Admission is competitive given the value offered.

MercyOne North Iowa Medical Center – Mason City

Address: 1000 4th Street SW, Mason City, IA 50401
Program length: Not reported | Tuition: $3,150 (resident and non-resident)
Completion rate: 100% | ARRT exam pass rate: 100% | Job placement rate: 100%
Accreditation: JRCERT, 8-year award | Distance education: No
Capacity: 16 students

MercyOne North Iowa is the smallest program in the state and has the lowest tuition of any Iowa program. With only 16 seats and 100% outcomes across the board, this is a highly selective hospital-based program. Clinical sites include several north-central Iowa community hospitals – Franklin General, Hancock County Memorial, and Mitchell County Regional – plus the main MercyOne North Iowa campus. Program length was not reported to JRCERT at time of data collection; contact the program directly for details.

Morningside University dba St. Luke’s College – Sioux City

Address: 2800 Pierce Street, Sioux City, IA 51104
Program length: 21 months | Tuition: $15,000 (resident and non-resident)
Completion rate: 88% | ARRT exam pass rate: 98% | Job placement rate: 100%
Accreditation: JRCERT, 8-year award | Distance education: No
Capacity: 50 students

St. Luke’s College, now operating under Morningside University, runs Iowa’s shortest radiography program at 21 months and achieves a 98% ARRT pass rate. Clinical sites extend beyond Iowa into Nebraska and South Dakota, reflecting Sioux City’s position as a tri-state regional hub. Graduates get exposure to a Tribal health facility (Twelve Clans Unity Hospital in Winnebago, NE) and surgical centers in addition to the main UnityPoint Health St. Luke’s system.

Northeast Iowa Community College – Peosta Campus

Address: 8342 NICC Drive, Peosta, IA 52068
Program length: 24 months | Tuition: $17,149 (resident) / $19,608 (non-resident)
Completion rate: 100% | ARRT exam pass rate: 90% | Job placement rate: 98%
Accreditation: JRCERT, 8-year award | Distance education: No
Capacity: 40 students

NICC’s Peosta Campus serves the Dubuque metro and surrounding northeast Iowa counties. Clinical sites include MercyOne Dubuque, Finley Hospital, multiple Medical Associates locations, and a reach into Cedar Rapids-area MercyCare clinics. The 98% placement rate is the second-lowest in the state – still strong, but worth asking about during the application process. Resident tuition is higher than community college peers, reflecting the program’s comprehensive clinical network.

Northwest Iowa Community College – Sheldon

Address: 603 West Park Street, Sheldon, IA 51201
Program length: 22 months | Tuition: $8,342 (resident) / $8,772 (non-resident)
Completion rate: 60% | ARRT exam pass rate: 90% | Job placement rate: 100%
Accreditation: JRCERT, 8-year award | Distance education: No
Capacity: 40 students

Northwest Iowa Community College has the lowest completion rate in Iowa at 60%, meaning roughly 4 in 10 students who start the program do not finish it. That figure deserves direct discussion with the program director before you commit. Students who do complete the program pass the ARRT at a 90% rate and all find employment. Clinical placements extend into South Dakota, Minnesota, and Nebraska, making this a genuinely regional program for the Siouxland area.

Scott Community College – Bettendorf

Address: 500 Belmont Road, Bettendorf, IA 52722
Program length: 24 months | Tuition: $6,583.50 (resident) / $8,694 (non-resident)
Completion rate: 89% | ARRT exam pass rate: 93% | Job placement rate: 100%
Accreditation: JRCERT, 8-year award | Distance education: No
Capacity: 40 students

Scott Community College serves the Quad Cities metro straddling Iowa and Illinois. Most clinical placements are at MercyOne Genesis facilities across Davenport, Bettendorf, and Moline, plus ORA Orthopedics and Concentra sites. Resident tuition is reasonable for the market, and the program’s 93% ARRT pass rate sits comfortably above the national average.

Southeastern Community College – West Burlington

Address: 1500 West Agency Road, West Burlington, IA 52655
Program length: 22 months | Tuition: $7,642 (resident) / $7,822 (non-resident)
Completion rate: Not reported | ARRT exam pass rate: Not reported | Job placement rate: Not reported
Accreditation: JRCERT, 3-year award | Distance education: No
Capacity: 32 students

Southeastern Community College holds a 3-year JRCERT accreditation rather than the 8-year award earned by most Iowa programs. JRCERT grants shorter accreditation periods when a program is newer or when the accreditation body wants to conduct a more frequent review cycle. Outcome data was not available in JRCERT records at time of publication. Ask the program directly about completion rates and recent ARRT pass rates before applying. Clinical sites include Southeast Iowa Regional Medical Center campuses, Henry County Health Center, and several Illinois facilities in Galesburg and Quincy.

UnityPoint Health-Des Moines

Address: 1200 Pleasant Street, Des Moines, IA 50309
Program length: 24 months | Tuition: $4,000 (resident and non-resident)
Completion rate: 88% | ARRT exam pass rate: 92% | Job placement rate: 100%
Accreditation: JRCERT, 8-year award | Distance education: No
Capacity: 21 students

UnityPoint Health-Des Moines offers one of the most cost-effective programs in the state at $4,000 total tuition, with a 92% ARRT pass rate and 100% placement. Like other hospital-based programs in Iowa, seats are scarce – only 21 per cohort. Clinical training takes place within the UnityPoint Health system in Des Moines, Iowa Radiology locations, and Methodist West Hospital.

University of Iowa – Iowa City

Address: 101 Jessup Hall, Iowa City, IA 52242
Program length: 33 months | Tuition: $15,858 (resident) / $33,796 (non-resident)
Completion rate: 100% | ARRT exam pass rate: 89% | Job placement rate: 100%
Accreditation: JRCERT, 8-year award | Distance education: No
Capacity: 90 students

The University of Iowa program runs 33 months – the longest in the state by a significant margin – and is the only program based at a major academic medical center. Clinical training stays tightly integrated with University of Iowa Health Care facilities in Iowa City and Coralville, plus the Iowa City VA Health Care System. Out-of-state tuition at $33,796 is the highest in Iowa, but the program’s 100% completion and placement rates, combined with the U of I Health Care system’s resources and ARRT prep infrastructure, make it a strong option for students who qualify for in-state tuition.

Iowa Radiography Program Comparison Table

InstitutionLengthResident TuitionCompletion RateARRT Pass RatePlacement RateAccreditationEvening/Weekend
Allen College24 mo.$21,304100%88%100%8 YearsNo
Indian Hills CC24 mo.$11,00085%94%100%8 YearsNo
Iowa Central CC22 mo.$8,930100%88%100%8 YearsNo
Mercy College of Health Sciences23 mo.$19,533100%80%100%8 YearsNo
Mercy/St. Luke’s Hospitals24 mo.$4,125100%100%100%8 YearsNo
MercyOne North Iowa Medical Centern/a$3,150100%100%100%8 YearsNo
Morningside University dba St. Luke’s College21 mo.$15,00088%98%100%8 YearsNo
Northeast Iowa CC24 mo.$17,149100%90%98%8 YearsNo
Northwest Iowa CC22 mo.$8,34260%90%100%8 YearsNo
Scott CC24 mo.$6,58489%93%100%8 YearsNo
Southeastern CC22 mo.$7,642n/an/an/a3 YearsNo
UnityPoint Health-Des Moines24 mo.$4,00088%92%100%8 YearsNo
University of Iowa21 mo.$16,571100%97%100%8 YearsNo
University of Iowa33 mo.$15,858100%89%100%8 YearsNo

N/R = Not reported. Tuition reflects total program cost reported to JRCERT. Verify current figures with each institution. Source: JRCERT program data, BLS May 2025 OEWS data.

Iowa Radiologic Technology Licensing Requirements

Iowa requires radiologic technologists to hold a state license issued by the Iowa Department of Public Health (IDPH), Bureau of Radiological Health. Here is what the process involves for new graduates:

Eligibility and Application

  • Graduation from a JRCERT-accredited radiography program is required.
  • Applicants must pass the ARRT (American Registry of Radiologic Technologists) Radiography examination before a permanent Iowa license is granted.
  • Iowa permits a temporary permit while an applicant awaits ARRT exam results, allowing supervised clinical work in the interim. Temporary permit terms are subject to IDPH rules; confirm current conditions directly with the bureau.
  • A completed application, official transcripts, proof of ARRT certification, and applicable fees must be submitted to IDPH.
  • Background checks may be required depending on employment setting, particularly within hospital systems.

Continuing Education and Renewal

  • Iowa radiologic technologist licenses require renewal on a biennial (every two years) basis.
  • ARRT-certified technologists must complete 24 continuing education (CE) credits per two-year cycle to maintain their ARRT certification, which Iowa recognizes as meeting CE requirements.
  • Technologists who let their ARRT certification lapse face additional steps for Iowa license renewal. Maintain your ARRT credential to keep the renewal process straightforward.

For the most current fee schedule, application forms, and rule citations, go directly to the Iowa Department of Public Health website. Requirements do change, and the information above reflects general practice as of July 2026.

What to Look for in an Iowa Radiography Program

Thirteen accredited programs gives Iowa students genuine options, but more choices also means more potential for a poor fit. These are the factors that matter most in this specific state.

ARRT Pass Rate vs. Completion Rate: Read Both Numbers Together

Some Iowa programs report a high ARRT pass rate alongside a low completion rate. Northwest Iowa Community College, for example, shows a 90% ARRT pass rate but a 60% completion rate. That combination tells you that the students who finish are well-prepared for the exam, but a significant portion of enrollees don’t reach graduation. Ask each program what happens to students who leave early – whether they withdraw, fail out, or transfer – and what support systems exist to help students through the most demanding semesters.

Hospital-Based vs. Community College Programs

Iowa has several hospital-sponsored programs – MercyOne North Iowa, Mercy/St. Luke’s in Cedar Rapids, and UnityPoint Health-Des Moines – that charge dramatically lower tuition than their college-based peers. The tradeoff is smaller cohorts and, in some cases, an informal expectation that graduates will work within that health system after graduation. If you already know you want to work in that system, this is an excellent deal. If you want geographic flexibility after graduation, a community college or university program may serve you better.

Clinical Site Diversity

Iowa’s geography means clinical diversity varies considerably by program. Urban programs in Des Moines and Cedar Rapids concentrate placements in large health systems. Programs like Iowa Central Community College and Indian Hills Community College send students to critical-access hospitals, specialty orthopaedic clinics, Veterans Affairs facilities, and even veterinary and medical examiner settings. Broad clinical exposure prepares graduates for the range of environments they may encounter in a career, including Iowa’s many rural hospitals that need generalist radiographers.

Program Length and Your Timeline

Iowa programs range from 21 months (St. Luke’s College in Sioux City) to 33 months (University of Iowa). If you have family obligations or financial constraints that make a shorter program preferable, the 21 to 22-month options at St. Luke’s, Iowa Central, Northwest Iowa, and Southeastern Community College are worth examining closely. The University of Iowa’s 33-month program is the longest in the state; that extra time is spent on academic coursework within the university’s health science curriculum, which can be advantageous for students considering graduate education later.

Distance Education

Only one Iowa program – Indian Hills Community College – offers a distance education component among the 13 JRCERT-accredited programs. For students in rural areas of south-central Iowa, this option is worth exploring. All other programs require on-site attendance for both didactic and clinical components.

Professional Organizations

For additional information, resources, and networking, both professional radiologic technologists and students alike should consider joining the Iowa Society of Radiologic Technologists (ISRT). The Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology (JRCERT) provides additional information on education in the radiology field. The joint review committee on education in radiologic technology (JRCERT) also provides other resources that would be beneficial for current and aspiring radiologic technologists.