The Texas Radiology Technologist Schools Guide
With over 50 schools with programs in radiologic science, and a great job outlook, the state of Texas is one of the best places in the country in which to earn a degree in this field.
(Leer esta información en español)
Students of radiologic science may pursue everything from a limited scope license in X-ray technology to a Master of Science degree that qualifies them to be radiologist assistants – the most advanced non-medical position in the field.
A strong average salary and low cost of living also recommend Texas as a place to practice radiologic technology.
Radiographic Procedures
Radiologic technology students learn to use the proper practices and techniques for radiographic procedures. This includes understanding proper patient positioning, manipulating x-ray equipment controls, and medical imaging, and understanding radiation safety principles.
Clinical Practice
A major component of all accredited Texas radiology technologist schools is a clinical practicum experience. The aim is to prepare students and enable students to gain hands-on practice and clinical skills in a hospital or imaging center while under the supervision of a certified radiologic technologist through clinical rotations.
Responsibilities of Radiologic Technologists
Radiologic technologists are responsible for performing diagnostic imaging procedures, such as radiography and computed tomography scans, as ordered by a physician. They must also ensure that all radiation safety protocols are followed, keep accurate records of patient data, and be familiar with the latest advances in technology.
Texas Radiologic Technologist Salary and Job Market
According to BLS May 2025 OEWS data, Texas employs approximately 20,250 radiologic technologists and technicians (SOC 29-2034). The median annual wage is $78,630, and the mean sits close at $78,060. Entry-level positions in the 10th percentile earn around $48,550, while experienced technologists at the 75th percentile reach $93,830. The top 10 percent of earners in Texas exceed $102,630 annually.
Those figures tell only part of the story. Texas has no state income tax, which gives your take-home pay a meaningful advantage over states like California or New York where comparable gross wages are eroded by 9 to 13 percent in state taxes. Cost of living varies significantly by market. Houston and Austin carry higher housing costs than Lubbock, Amarillo, or Beaumont, so a technologist earning the state median in Lubbock may have more purchasing power than one earning $85,000 in Austin.
Career Progression: Moving Into MRI
Radiographers who add an MRI credential see a substantial pay increase. BLS May 2025 OEWS data shows MRI technologists (SOC 29-2035) in Texas earn a median of $96,780 – roughly $18,000 per year more than the radiography median. The 75th percentile for MRI technologists reaches $105,980, and the 90th percentile hits $114,160. Texas has 2,930 MRI technologists currently employed, meaning competition for those roles is real but the field is active. UT MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston offers one of the few JRCERT-accredited MRI programs in the state – details appear in the related programs section below.
Large Employers in Radiology
The occupational employment statistics for radiologic technologists in Texas are promising.
Overall, the job outlook for radiology professionals in Texas is positive.
In the 2026-2027 U.S. News Best Hospitals rankings, 15 Texas hospitals are nationally ranked in at least one adult specialty, led by Houston Methodist Hospital, UT Southwestern, and UT MD Anderson, according to U.S. News & World Report. Hospitals, medical facilities, imaging centers, and medical centers with radiology departments are the biggest single employers of radiologic science professionals.
Allied Health Education Programs in Texas
In addition to schools offering programs in radiologic technology, there are also several Allied Health Education Programs (AHEP) in the state of Texas. These programs offer a variety of courses covering topics related to healthcare, such as medical terminology and medical coding. Other courses may introduce students to nutrition, infection control, anatomy and physiology, and medical office procedures. These programs are designed to provide students with the necessary education and experience to become healthcare professionals.
Houston Methodist
6565 Fannin Street
Houston, TX 77030-2707
(713) 790-3311
Baylor St. Luke’s Medical Center
6720 Bertner Avenue
Houston, TX 77030-2697
(832) 355-1000
Baylor University Medical Center
3500 Gaston Avenue
Dallas, TX 75246-2088
(214) 820-0111
University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center
1515 Holcombe Boulevard, Box 91
Houston, TX 77030-4095
(713) 792-2121
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
5323 Harry Hines Boulevard
Dallas, TX 75390-9265
(214) 645-5555
Memorial Hermann-Texas Medical Center
6411 Fannin Street
Houston, TX 77030-1501
(713) 704-4000
Menninger Clinic
2801 Gessner
Houston, TX 77080-2503
(713) 275-5000
TIRR Memorial Hermann
1333 Moursund Street
Houston, TX 77030-3405
(713) 799-5000
Accredited Radiography Programs in Texas: What You Need to Know
Texas has more JRCERT-accredited radiography programs than any other state, with 40 programs spread from El Paso to Beaumont and from Amarillo to the Rio Grande Valley. That scale creates real choice – but it also means you need a clear framework to compare programs before you apply. This guide covers program data, state licensing requirements, salary expectations, and the questions most applicants are still Googling when they should already be enrolled.
Texas Licensing Requirements for Radiologic Technologists
Texas requires all radiologic technologists to hold a state license issued by the Texas Medical Board (TMB). This requirement applies to both full radiologic technologists and the limited license category known as the Limited Medical Radiologic Technologist (LMRT).
Full Radiologic Technologist License
- Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program (programs listed on this page qualify)
- Pass the ARRT Radiography certification examination
- Submit a TMB application with proof of education, ARRT scores, and applicable fees
- Pass a criminal background check through the Texas Department of Public Safety
- Renew every two years; renewal requires 24 continuing education credits per cycle
Limited Medical Radiologic Technologist (LMRT)
The LMRT credential allows practitioners to perform specific radiographic procedures under physician supervision. The scope is narrower than a full RT license. Programs at institutions such as The College of Health Care Professions prepare students specifically for this credential, though those programs are separate from the JRCERT-accredited programs listed on this page.
Temporary Permits
Graduates of accredited programs may apply for a temporary practice permit through the TMB while waiting for ARRT exam results. The permit allows supervised practice for up to 90 days. Check the TMB website directly for current fee schedules and processing times, as these change periodically.
What to Look for in a Texas Radiography Program
With 40 accredited programs available, narrowing the list requires a systematic approach. These are the factors that matter most in this state specifically.
JRCERT Accreditation Status
All programs on this page are JRCERT-accredited, but accreditation length varies. Programs holding full 8-year accreditation have demonstrated sustained compliance. Programs on probationary status – currently Laredo College and Pima Medical Institute-El Paso – are accredited and graduates remain eligible for ARRT examination, but probation signals areas the accreditor has flagged for improvement. Weigh that information accordingly.
ARRT First-Time Pass Rate
Texas employers routinely ask about your first-time ARRT pass rate at hiring. A pass rate above 90 percent suggests the program prepares students well for the national exam. Several Texas programs consistently hit that threshold: Austin Community College (99%), Lone Star College-CyFair (100%), Howard College (100%), El Paso Community College (98%), Tyler Junior College (98%), and Lone Star College-Montgomery (98%). Programs in the 70 to 82 percent range are not disqualifying, but ask the program director what support they offer students who struggle with board prep.
Completion Rate
A low completion rate can signal that a program is poorly paced, inadequately supported, or selects students who are underprepared. Howard College and McLennan Community College both report 100% completion rates. Austin Community College also reports 100%. At the other end, Coastal Bend College reports 65% and Laredo College reports 100% completion with only 68% pass rate – a combination worth discussing with the program before you apply.
Clinical Settings and Geographic Reach
Texas programs place students in an unusually wide range of clinical environments. Austin Community College alone uses more than 50 clinical sites across the Austin-Round Rock metro area. Dallas College/Brookhaven Campus places students in settings from Parkland Health to UT Southwestern. Broader clinical networks give you exposure to different patient populations, imaging modalities, and department cultures – all of which matter when you sit for the ARRT exam and when you negotiate your first job.
Program Length and Format
Most Texas radiography programs run 21 to 24 months. Covenant Medical Center’s program completes in 20 months. Midwestern State University is an outlier at 48 months because it offers a bachelor’s degree pathway. South College-Dallas runs 18 months. If schedule flexibility matters, Dallas College offers evening and weekend options, Houston Community College offers evening and part-time tracks, and McLennan Community College and Midwestern State University include distance education components for didactic coursework.
Tuition and Return on Investment
Tuition in Texas ranges from under $1,000 to over $44,000 for the full program. Community college programs at South Plains College ($209 resident), College of the Mainland ($747 resident), and Lyndon B. Johnson General Hospital/Harris Health ($2,400) represent exceptional value. At the higher end, Pima Medical Institute-San Antonio charges $43,600 and Southwest University at El Paso charges $44,569 regardless of residency. Given that median starting wages in Texas fall around $48,550 to $63,210, a $44,000 program funded by private loans requires careful financial planning before you commit.
Clinical Hours
JRCERT requires a minimum of 1,800 clinical hours for radiography programs. Most Texas programs exceed this minimum. Ask each program for their specific clinical hour total and how those hours are distributed across your training period. Programs that front-load didactic content and back-load clinical hours may leave you with less time to consolidate skills before graduation.
Accredited Radiography Programs in Texas: Full Comparison Table
The table below covers all 40 JRCERT-accredited radiography programs in Texas. Tuition figures reflect full program cost at resident rates unless otherwise noted. Pass rate, completion rate, and placement rate are drawn from JRCERT program data. Dashes indicate data not reported to JRCERT or not available in current records.
| Institution | Length | Resident Tuition | Completion Rate | ARRT Pass Rate | Placement Rate | Accreditation | Evening/Weekend |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amarillo College | 24 mo. | $3,564 | 87% | 91% | 97% | 8 Years | No |
| Amarillo College | 24 mo. | $2,964 | 89% | 89% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Angelina College | 23 mo. | $8,146 | 90% | 94% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Austin CC | 24 mo. | $9,529 | 100% | 99% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Baptist Health System School of Health Professions | 24 mo. | $13,640 | 73% | 82% | 96% | 8 Years | No |
| Baptist Hospitals of Southeast Texas | 24 mo. | $6,000 | 92% | 97% | 97% | 8 Years | No |
| Blinn College District | 21 mo. | $3,840 | 94% | 96% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Coastal Bend College | 22 mo. | $2,916 | 65% | 71% | 96% | 5 Years | No |
| College of the Mainland | 22 mo. | $747 | n/a | n/a | n/a | 3 Years | No |
| Covenant Medical Center | 20 mo. | $5,000 | 87% | 88% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Dallas College/Brookhaven Campus | 24 mo. | $6,350 | 75% | 93% | 98% | 8 Years | Yes |
| Del Mar College | 22 mo. | $4,254 | 92% | 93% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| El Paso CC | 24 mo. | $2,736 | 77% | 98% | 100% | 5 Years | No |
| Galveston College | 21 mo. | $6,490 | 86% | 87% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Hendrick Medical Center | 21 mo. | $4,600 | 88% | 81% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Houston City College/Coleman College of Health Sciences | 24 mo. | $3,440 | 84% | 92% | 97% | 8 Years | Yes |
| Howard College | 23 mo. | $14,400 | 100% | 100% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Lamar Institute of Technology | 24 mo. | $5,486 | 81% | 81% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Laredo College | 24 mo. | $4,500 | 100% | 68% | 98% | On probation | No |
| Lone Star College – CyFair | 24 mo. | $6,993 | 81% | 100% | 98% | 8 Years | No |
| Lone Star College – Montgomery | 24 mo. | $2,609 | 77% | 98% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Lyndon B. Johnson General Hospital/Harris Health School of Diagnostic Medical Imaging | 24 mo. | $2,400 | 94% | 76% | 94% | 8 Years | No |
| McLennan CC | 24 mo. | $3,675 | 100% | 93% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Midwestern State University | 48 mo. | $8,248 | 74% | 83% | 93% | 8 Years | No |
| North Central Texas College | 22 mo. | $5,088 | 94% | 88% | 100% | 3 Years | No |
| Odessa College | 22 mo. | $7,160 | 83% | 94% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Paris JC | 24 mo. | $4,916 | 87% | 77% | 93% | 8 Years | No |
| Pima Medical Institute-El Paso | 24 mo. | $24,114 | n/a | n/a | n/a | On probation | No |
| Pima Medical Institute-Houston | 24 mo. | $23,453 | 90% | 86% | 95% | 8 Years | No |
| Pima Medical Institute-San Antonio | 23 mo. | $43,600 | 100% | n/a | n/a | 5 Years | No |
| San Jacinto College – Central Campus | 21 mo. | $2,656 | 94% | 94% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| South College – Dallas | 18 mo. | $17,935 | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | No |
| South Plains College | 22 mo. | $209 | 71% | 91% | 97% | 3 Years | No |
| Southwest University at El Paso | 22 mo. | $44,569 | 88% | 80% | 100% | 3 Years | Yes |
| St. Philip’s College | 21 mo. | $11,443 | 90% | 88% | 100% | 8 Years | Yes |
| Tarrant County College | 24 mo. | $4,736 | 100% | 96% | 96% | 8 Years | No |
| Texas State University – Round Rock | 26 mo. | $12,220 | 100% | 75% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| The University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center | 12 mo. | $4,340 | 100% | 95% | 100% | 5 Years | No |
| The University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center | 16 mo. | $9,062 | 88% | 83% | 100% | 8 Years | Yes |
| The University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center | 20 mo. | $8,200 | 100% | 94% | 99% | 8 Years | No |
| The University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center | 24 mo. | $5,673 | 77% | 92% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| Tyler JC | 24 mo. | $4,154 | 76% | 98% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
| University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio | 12 mo. | $18,000 | 100% | 83% | 100% | 5 Years | No |
| University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio | 24 mo. | $23,040 | n/a | n/a | n/a | 3 Years | No |
| Weatherford College | 21 mo. | $15,620 | 96% | 93% | 99% | 5 Years | No |
| Wharton County JC | 24 mo. | $6,887 | 94% | 93% | 100% | 8 Years | No |
Note on accreditation: 2 of the 46 programmes listed above are currently on probation with the JRCERT. Probation means the programme is accredited but has been found not to meet one or more standards, and is being monitored. Ask the programme directly what the finding was and what has changed since. Status is taken from the JRCERT accreditation database.
Note on accreditation: 2 of the 46 programmes listed above are currently on probation with the JRCERT. Probation means the programme is accredited but has been found not to meet one or more standards, and is being monitored. Ask the programme directly what the finding was and what has changed since. Status is taken from the JRCERT accreditation database.
Note on accreditation: 2 of the 46 programmes listed above are currently on probation with the JRCERT. Probation means the programme is accredited but has been found not to meet one or more standards, and is being monitored. Ask the programme directly what the finding was and what has changed since. Status is taken from the JRCERT accreditation database.
Note on accreditation: 2 of the 46 programmes listed above are currently on probation with the JRCERT. Probation means the programme is accredited but has been found not to meet one or more standards, and is being monitored. Ask the programme directly what the finding was and what has changed since. Status is taken from the JRCERT accreditation database.
Note on accreditation: 2 of the 46 programmes listed above are currently on probation with the JRCERT. Probation means the programme is accredited but has been found not to meet one or more standards, and is being monitored. Ask the programme directly what the finding was and what has changed since. Status is taken from the JRCERT accreditation database.
Note on accreditation: 2 of the 46 programmes listed above are currently on probation with the JRCERT. Probation means the programme is accredited but has been found not to meet one or more standards, and is being monitored. Ask the programme directly what the finding was and what has changed since. Status is taken from the JRCERT accreditation database.
Sources: JRCERT program data; BLS May 2025 OEWS. Tuition reflects resident rate for full program length. A dash (-) means the figure was not reported in current JRCERT records.
Other options exist out-of-state, in Baton Rouge and Little Rock to the east, Oklahoma City to the north, and Albuquerque to the west. A little further afield, consider Wichita, Colorado Springs, or Denver. Remember that public institutions, such as community colleges, will charge higher tuition fees to out-of-state students.
Related Imaging and Therapy Programs in Texas
Once you hold your radiography credential and have a few years of clinical experience, Texas offers several pathways to specialize. The programs below are JRCERT-accredited in disciplines adjacent to radiography. They are career-progression options, not entry-level radiography programs, and they do not appear in the main comparison table above.
Radiation Therapy
Amarillo College offers a 24-month Radiation Therapy program with an 8-year accreditation record. Resident tuition is $2,964. The program reports an 89% completion rate, 89% board pass rate, and 100% job placement. Clinical sites span the country, giving students experience in a wide range of oncology settings.
Texas State University – Round Rock runs a 26-month Radiation Therapy program with 8-year accreditation. Resident tuition is $12,220. The program posts a 100% completion rate and 100% placement rate, with clinical sites concentrated across Central Texas and major Texas cities.
UT MD Anderson Cancer Center operates a 24-month Radiation Therapy program with 8-year accreditation. Resident tuition is $5,673. Completion rate is 77%; board pass rate is 92%; placement is 100%. Given the institution’s reputation in oncology, graduates enter the field with clinical experience that carries significant weight with employers nationwide.
Medical Dosimetry
UT MD Anderson Cancer Center also accredits a 16-month Medical Dosimetry program with 8-year accreditation. Resident tuition is $9,062.
Professional Organizations
Texas has a large and active professional society for radiologic science professionals. The Texas Society of Radiologic Technologists (TXSRT) is the state affiliate of the American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT). This organization provides sponsorship and scholarships, information about education and certification, legislative advocacy, and job postings.
The Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology (JRCERT) is the only agency recognized by the United States Department of Education to accredit educational programs in radiologic technology. The JRCERT ensures that the quality of education and training meets the standards established for the profession, ensuring safety and competency for students who complete accredited programs.